We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent time at the hotel Montecarlo”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #87 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was a bit hard to find, but then so is EVERYTHING in Venice. We even had a map and that did not help. We had to ask a few times in order to find the hotel. But the location was perfect only a few steps from St. Marks Square and an easy walk to the Rialto Bridge. From our window we had a great view of the roof tops of Venice. The reception was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was small, but what they offered was good quality. I have been in Venice 4 or 5 times and this is the best room and hotel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Our room was a "triple" on the fourth floor Room 404. It was not large, but then this is V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Sir,

tks a lot for your words of appreciation. I will pass your message to all our staff.

Best regards

Stefano MAgrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

The  2 points for the location & breakfast only.
It has great location just few steps from S.Marco Piazza & its good attraction where you can take a taxi or even public transport. the breakfast is good with good service
About the room, there is difference between classic & old, the furniture  is very old & the bathroom also you feel like living in 30s. You can hear the people walking above you the bathroom smells very badly
Upon booking the descreption was king bed but we found two single beds attach to each other.. The view from the room is the worst ever
The worst 3 stars hotel I've ever stay in & the most expensive among them I'd never go back there.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ibrahimxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Friend,

on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

As you can notice in Tripadvisor too, all our clients are very happy to stay with us and find our hotel very good in deed and all our receptionist are always at clients disposal.

It is enough to apply to them if somenthing do not find your approval and they always try to find a solution.

Hoping to see you soon again in our hotel if I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at info@venicehotelmontecarlo.com

Stefano Magrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great location, friendly staff, comfy beds, good price.What more could one ask for.
Special mention for the breakfast, better than most 5 star hotels I have stayed in.The croissants are fabulous.
All the staff are friendly and multi lingual. The concierges are unflappable, charming and a special thank you for their most appropriate reccomendations for shopping, entertainment and eating. Best holiday we have had in Venice.

Room Tip: No traffic so I think all rooms are quiet. We were top floor, which was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbawcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Sir,

Grazie Mille, thank you so much for your review. Knowing that everything was perfect and that our breakfast it is much better than in the 5 star hotels makes us happy.
Hoping to have you back soon our guests, we send you our best regards.

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel with a group of friends for a long weekend in Venice , great location, 2 minutes walk form San Marco square, rooms clean and well appointed, just what we required. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, breakfast had a wide choice of foods available, from fruit, cold meats to scrambled eggs and sausage. A great little find, will definitely stay here again when I'm back in Venice, which by the way is a fantastic city to visit

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinyhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Proprietario at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Sir,

tks a lot for your words. Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls accept my best regards.

Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here two nights on a short winter break to Venice and didn't really know what to expect. We chose it because it was centrally located and appeared good VFM. As it turned out it was very friendly, the room was fine and once we turned the heating off it was the right temperature! It would have been nice if there had been a kettle in the room to make a cuppa. Breakfast was busy downstairs but the choice of food was good. The front desk was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Our room was over the street and so noise travelled upwards especially if the window is open. Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Sirs,

nice to hear your stay with us was great.
Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls accept Sir our best regards.

Stefano Magrini.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I chose this hotel purely because of the location (right behind San Marco) and the price, so I wasn't expecting much. However, I was pleasantly suprised to find it was a clean, beautifully decorated hotel with friendly staff and a plentiful buffet breakfast.

You can spend a fortune in Venice on some grand ex-palazzo hotel, but this really was a wonderful budget hotel - don't be put off that it's a chain!

(4/5 because of the dodgy water pressure in my shower and the cleaner's tendency to ramp up the heating in the rooms!)

Room Tip: My room was at the back of the hotel, and because the rooms can get quite hot and stuffy, I had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

DearSirs,

We thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel and the services offered. We are happy that our hotel exceeded your expectations. Hoping to see you soon in venice, we send you our best regards.

Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My stay in this hotel was made very enjoyable by the excellent service from the hotel staff. They were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I could ask for a coffee at any time of day, and they would advise on how to find local attractions. I was always greeted with a smile at reception. The location is spot on as well, just a two minute walk to Piazza San Marco. The room was nicely decorated in a period style. The breakfast was nice, which a choice of hot and cold food, and good coffee, served in a very comfortable dining area. Overall a highly enjoyable experience and I would definitely return to this hotel and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deavaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear sir,
tks a lot for the nice review.
It gives us great pleasure to know that our hotel exceeded your expectations.
Best regards.

Stefano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,902 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#77 of 385 in Venice
1,037 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#59 of 385 in Venice
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 385 in Venice
824 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
#91 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £68 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing