We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait and Switch?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #81 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had a reservation at the Venice Italy B.W. Montecarlo. (Rated by Tripadvisor 107) When I arrived, I was told my room was not ready. The front desk person told me their sister property Hotel Antico Panada (Tripadvisor rated # 266) just across the street had a room immediately available. It was NOT a Best Western property. He assured me...several times...that the room quality and condition was the same at both properties. He was charming and believable. I was mistaken.

So beware...if you like a room with 1950's era carpeting, wallpaper falling off the walls, ONE electrical outlet, lumpy bed, located on level two with a walk-up one additional floor of steps that were about 2 feet wide, tasteless breakfast, a phone that did not work, front desk person who was never available, total lack of customer service, somewhat dirty and a slight smell...pick the Best Western Montecarlo OR the Panada. I was told they were exactly comparable.

Room Tip: According to the Front Desk person at the Best Western Montecarlo, and their sister hotel Antico Pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank long3view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sir,
i wish to apologise once again about our mistake.
Yes because to try to grant your request of an early check in, impossible to arrange in our hotel, but possible to do in our twin hotel at the end was a big mistake.
But, pls, let me ask you: if the accomodation did not sotisfied you why you did not come back to us and wait untill your room was ready??
I hope you remember that I asked you if something was wrong to apply to me.

Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls accept Sir, my best regards.

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    562
    135
    29
    19
See reviews for
326
599
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very clean, furnished nicely, friendly staff and an amazing location.
The free breakfast offered good variety and probably saved us a bit of money.
So Close to St Marcs square and Rialto Bridge. Also there is a great ice cream parlour nearby (turn right then left then right again after exiting the hotel).

The two downsides are that the double room was quite small and the view wasn't great.
Although we didn't need a big room and it suited us fine. It would have been nice to have a canal view window but it didn't affect the stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sirs,

it is a plaisure to know you spent a lovely time with us.
Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls, accept my best regards.

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis Mn
Level Contributor
338 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Choosing a hotel in Venice is all about location and how many canals you must cross and thus how bridges you will face (all the bridges all have steps). Hotel Montecarlo is in a perfect location, 50 yards from the main square in Venice (San Marco), so all the boats (think busses) stop there. Coming in from the airport on the Alilaguna boats, there are no stairs to climb.
Here is the trick to finding the hotel. Before you go, look at Google maps, street version. Put the little guy in front of the basilica and have him lead you through the clock tower to the first street on the right and follow him to the second left, and print out screen shots of these locations. The last street you turn into is so narrow you can easily touch the buildings on either side. The hotel is about 100 feet further down this narrow lane. Once you find the hotel, you will see there is a shortcut to the basilica that you would never find on your first time in.
It is a well-run hotel with an excellent staff. Our room was spacious and looked out over the "street." Linens were crisp and clean. The bathroom was a bit worn and the shower curtain could have been newer and cleaner, but those were our only criticisms. There was a minibar stocked with beer that was cheaper than buying on the street. An old wall safe opened with a key that the desk gives out on request.
Speaking of keys, it is shock to have a real key in this day of plastic "keys." You must leave the heavy brass holder and fancy tassel at the desk when you go out. (The keys are hung behind the desk, so at a glance you can see how many people are in or out of the hotel.)
The breakfast was fully stocked with hot and cold items plus serve-yourself coffee machines that worked very well. Two of the breakfast rooms are fitted out like glorious old railroad dining cars of Orient Express quality.
Noise was never a problem, as there were no crowds of drunks roaming around like in some cities.
The dates of our visit were April 3-8, 2014.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Thank you for the great review and we are proud to know that our hotel and all the services offered by our staff exceeded your expectations.
Waiting to see you soon in Venice, we send you Sir, our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and were more than happy with the hotel. It was a little tricky to find but a waiter at a nearby restaurant pointed us in the right direction. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, beds made every day and every evening the window shutters had been closed and our bed sheets were turned down ready for us to go to bed! We felt very spoilt!!
Reception staff were all very friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast was also very good, lots to choose from, hot and cold and a variety of hot drinks too.
Decor is typically Venetian and it makes you feel like you have stepped back in time to a by-gone era but that is part of the spirit of Venice. The hotel is placed just off St Mark's Square and couldn't be better placed as everything is within walking distance and it was easy to pop back to our room to refresh etc.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and there was a little noise from the street below but not too loud or invasive and was quiet by 11pm.
We (2 adults and 17 and 19yr old daughters) all agreed if we were to visit Venice again we would book this hotel again. Have a look at the website for this hotel and the pictures will give you a feel for it's atmosphere. http://montecarlo.hotelinvenice.com/

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 522AMANDA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review which is very important to always improve our services.We are really happy to read that you really appreciated our services and our house. Hoping to have you back soon our guests, accept Sir, our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed four nights in the two bedroom apartment (on Calle Spadaria), which was about a two minutes walk away from St Mark's Square. Perfect location for exploring the main sights of Venice, including the Rialto Bridge, the Doges Palace, Bridge of Sighs and St Mark's Basilica - lovely that you can hear the bells of St Mark's from the apartment (although not so loud that they would keep you awake or wake you up). The apartment was an excellent size, amazingly clean and provided everything required for a self catering break. The nearby bars and restaurants offered great value for money for a city break; 2.50 Euros for a Procesco and a three course meal could easily be found for around £16 per person for excellent authentic Italian food. It's worth noting that the walk from the bus station takes around 30 - 45 minutes - depending on how fast you walk or how much luggage you have - but it's a pleasure walking through the streets of Venice, so it's not a hardship. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

nice to hear from you you spent a lovely time with us.

Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, best regards.

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was a bit hard to find, but then so is EVERYTHING in Venice. We even had a map and that did not help. We had to ask a few times in order to find the hotel. But the location was perfect only a few steps from St. Marks Square and an easy walk to the Rialto Bridge. From our window we had a great view of the roof tops of Venice. The reception was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was small, but what they offered was good quality. I have been in Venice 4 or 5 times and this is the best room and hotel I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Our room was a "triple" on the fourth floor Room 404. It was not large, but then this is V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

tks a lot for your words of appreciation. I will pass your message to all our staff.

Best regards

Stefano MAgrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The  2 points for the location & breakfast only.
It has great location just few steps from S.Marco Piazza & its good attraction where you can take a taxi or even public transport. the breakfast is good with good service
About the room, there is difference between classic & old, the furniture  is very old & the bathroom also you feel like living in 30s. You can hear the people walking above you the bathroom smells very badly
Upon booking the descreption was king bed but we found two single beds attach to each other.. The view from the room is the worst ever
The worst 3 stars hotel I've ever stay in & the most expensive among them I'd never go back there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahimxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Friend,

on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

As you can notice in Tripadvisor too, all our clients are very happy to stay with us and find our hotel very good in deed and all our receptionist are always at clients disposal.

It is enough to apply to them if somenthing do not find your approval and they always try to find a solution.

Hoping to see you soon again in our hotel if I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at info@venicehotelmontecarlo.com

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#69 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#95 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Property: Hotel Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing