We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #85 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Pros: Clean room. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Tasty free breakfast. GREAT location. Murano chandeliers.

Cons: The air conditioner didn't really work-- though I should have expected that from a European hotel.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Customer , thank you very much for staying with us.
We hope to have you here again soon.
Best regards - Stefano Magrini - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    593
    138
    29
    20
See reviews for
342
625
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights. It was great value for money and very central to Saint Mark's Cathedral and Square. The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms cleaned to a very high standard. We even had a little mat to get in/out of bed laid on the floor for us and a light on preparing us for coming into the room each night after a long days sight-seeing. The staff and pleasant and helpful. They recommended Rosa Salve for coffee and cake nearby - best value for money ever - (the lunches are good too).
The Hotel's own restaurants on either side offer excellent quality food also. The Continental Breakfast offers much more than your usual - even bacon/scrambled egg, many breads, croissants, yoghurts, fruit-juice choices etc...I would definitely go back here. It is more like a 4/5 star hotel in its presentation and appearance.

Room Tip: The convenience and cleanliness of this place outweighs services it can't offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 120Damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Tthank you very much for your superb review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our services and that you had the impression of staying in a 5 star hotel.
Hoping to see you soon again in our House, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had a reservation at the Venice Italy B.W. Montecarlo. (Rated by Tripadvisor 107) When I arrived, I was told my room was not ready. The front desk person told me their sister property Hotel Antico Panada (Tripadvisor rated # 266) just across the street had a room immediately available. It was NOT a Best Western property. He assured me...several times...that the room quality and condition was the same at both properties. He was charming and believable. I was mistaken.

So beware...if you like a room with 1950's era carpeting, wallpaper falling off the walls, ONE electrical outlet, lumpy bed, located on level two with a walk-up one additional floor of steps that were about 2 feet wide, tasteless breakfast, a phone that did not work, front desk person who was never available, total lack of customer service, somewhat dirty and a slight smell...pick the Best Western Montecarlo OR the Panada. I was told they were exactly comparable.

Room Tip: According to the Front Desk person at the Best Western Montecarlo, and their sister hotel Antico Pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank long3view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sir,
i wish to apologise once again about our mistake.
Yes because to try to grant your request of an early check in, impossible to arrange in our hotel, but possible to do in our twin hotel at the end was a big mistake.
But, pls, let me ask you: if the accomodation did not sotisfied you why you did not come back to us and wait untill your room was ready??
I hope you remember that I asked you if something was wrong to apply to me.

Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls accept Sir, my best regards.

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very clean, furnished nicely, friendly staff and an amazing location.
The free breakfast offered good variety and probably saved us a bit of money.
So Close to St Marcs square and Rialto Bridge. Also there is a great ice cream parlour nearby (turn right then left then right again after exiting the hotel).

The two downsides are that the double room was quite small and the view wasn't great.
Although we didn't need a big room and it suited us fine. It would have been nice to have a canal view window but it didn't affect the stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sirs,

it is a plaisure to know you spent a lovely time with us.
Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls, accept my best regards.

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis Mn
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Choosing a hotel in Venice is all about location and how many canals you must cross and thus how bridges you will face (all the bridges all have steps). Hotel Montecarlo is in a perfect location, 50 yards from the main square in Venice (San Marco), so all the boats (think busses) stop there. Coming in from the airport on the Alilaguna boats, there are no stairs to climb.
Here is the trick to finding the hotel. Before you go, look at Google maps, street version. Put the little guy in front of the basilica and have him lead you through the clock tower to the first street on the right and follow him to the second left, and print out screen shots of these locations. The last street you turn into is so narrow you can easily touch the buildings on either side. The hotel is about 100 feet further down this narrow lane. Once you find the hotel, you will see there is a shortcut to the basilica that you would never find on your first time in.
It is a well-run hotel with an excellent staff. Our room was spacious and looked out over the "street." Linens were crisp and clean. The bathroom was a bit worn and the shower curtain could have been newer and cleaner, but those were our only criticisms. There was a minibar stocked with beer that was cheaper than buying on the street. An old wall safe opened with a key that the desk gives out on request.
Speaking of keys, it is shock to have a real key in this day of plastic "keys." You must leave the heavy brass holder and fancy tassel at the desk when you go out. (The keys are hung behind the desk, so at a glance you can see how many people are in or out of the hotel.)
The breakfast was fully stocked with hot and cold items plus serve-yourself coffee machines that worked very well. Two of the breakfast rooms are fitted out like glorious old railroad dining cars of Orient Express quality.
Noise was never a problem, as there were no crowds of drunks roaming around like in some cities.
The dates of our visit were April 3-8, 2014.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile reception at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Thank you for the great review and we are proud to know that our hotel and all the services offered by our staff exceeded your expectations.
Waiting to see you soon in Venice, we send you Sir, our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and were more than happy with the hotel. It was a little tricky to find but a waiter at a nearby restaurant pointed us in the right direction. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, beds made every day and every evening the window shutters had been closed and our bed sheets were turned down ready for us to go to bed! We felt very spoilt!!
Reception staff were all very friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast was also very good, lots to choose from, hot and cold and a variety of hot drinks too.
Decor is typically Venetian and it makes you feel like you have stepped back in time to a by-gone era but that is part of the spirit of Venice. The hotel is placed just off St Mark's Square and couldn't be better placed as everything is within walking distance and it was easy to pop back to our room to refresh etc.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and there was a little noise from the street below but not too loud or invasive and was quiet by 11pm.
We (2 adults and 17 and 19yr old daughters) all agreed if we were to visit Venice again we would book this hotel again. Have a look at the website for this hotel and the pictures will give you a feel for it's atmosphere. http://montecarlo.hotelinvenice.com/

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 522AMANDA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review which is very important to always improve our services.We are really happy to read that you really appreciated our services and our house. Hoping to have you back soon our guests, accept Sir, our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed four nights in the two bedroom apartment (on Calle Spadaria), which was about a two minutes walk away from St Mark's Square. Perfect location for exploring the main sights of Venice, including the Rialto Bridge, the Doges Palace, Bridge of Sighs and St Mark's Basilica - lovely that you can hear the bells of St Mark's from the apartment (although not so loud that they would keep you awake or wake you up). The apartment was an excellent size, amazingly clean and provided everything required for a self catering break. The nearby bars and restaurants offered great value for money for a city break; 2.50 Euros for a Procesco and a three course meal could easily be found for around £16 per person for excellent authentic Italian food. It's worth noting that the walk from the bus station takes around 30 - 45 minutes - depending on how fast you walk or how much luggage you have - but it's a pleasure walking through the streets of Venice, so it's not a hardship. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

nice to hear from you you spent a lovely time with us.

Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, best regards.

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#73 of 386 in Venice
985 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 386 in Venice
1,823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 386 in Venice
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#67 of 386 in Venice
720 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 386 in Venice
1,489 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Property: Hotel Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing