We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fantastic location and friendly service”
Review of Hotel Montecarlo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Montecarlo
Ranked #88 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, fantastic location and friendly service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose this hotel and after booking were informed by some friends that it was one they'd used and it was very good....we weren't disappointed.
The location is just off St Marc's Square and fairly easy to find if you read and follow the detailed instructions. A friendly welcome was received and we weren't disappointed with our room either. It was nicely decorated and clean. In Venice space is very limited so DON'T expect a palatial sized room or hotel! The great thing about Venice is the lack of traffic noise and this was a strange thing to get used to. Being centrally located we were able to explore all of our sites on our list and not have to wonder too far for food in the evening. Breakfast at the hotel is good especially when compared to similar grade hotels we've used in the past. In Italy I don't think you'll go hungry!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review which is very important to us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel and the service offered by our staff.

Hoping to see you soon in our Hotel, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    590
    136
    29
    20
See reviews for
334
620
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel is a little tricky to find... Once we arrived, the staff greeted us warmly and were very helpful and attentive to our needs. The room was of decent quality.. However, the light fixtures were very dusty with cob webs hanging from them and our bathtubs side panel kept falling off exposing the tub plumbing fixtures.. Which was annoying to have to keep pushing in to close.. Also, the drain did not drain quickly. The breakfast buffet was great and plentiful.. Which was nice because restaurant prices in Venice are outrageous... Overall, decent experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevPat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanking for your review which is very important to us we will use immediately your suggestions to improve our services.
Hoping you will stay soon again with us, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just come back after a 4 night stay. Everything was just perfect, the rooms were spotless and ours was very spacious (room 313) the hotel location was excellent, found it easy with the directions given from the hotel, (leave the square through the clock tower, 1st right, 2nd left hotel on right) The staff were all very friendly and helpful, e-mailed the hotel in advance as it was my husband birthday during our stay, they arranged a special birthday breakfast to be delivered to our room which included cake and Prosecco as well as other breakfast items, nothing seemed to much trouble for them. Would highly recommend this hotel, it was a great find and would definitely book to stay there again. Can't thank the staff enough for making our stay such a pleasurable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay in our Hotel and that all services provided from our staff have been appreciated.

Hoping to see you soon in Venice, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, Dorset, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Wonderful location just off St Marks Square in a narrow busy street with lots of life. Really friendly welcome and just superb staff. Rooms are very clean and of a good size. Spotlessly clean and recently decorated. Rooms are quiet and do not suffer street noise.

First class in every respect.

In the streets nearby there are many restaurants and snack bars for lunch and meals and it is just a 5 min walk to the ferries.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay so much.
Best regards - Stefano Magrini - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Pros: Clean room. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Tasty free breakfast. GREAT location. Murano chandeliers.

Cons: The air conditioner didn't really work-- though I should have expected that from a European hotel.

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Customer , thank you very much for staying with us.
We hope to have you here again soon.
Best regards - Stefano Magrini - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights. It was great value for money and very central to Saint Mark's Cathedral and Square. The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms cleaned to a very high standard. We even had a little mat to get in/out of bed laid on the floor for us and a light on preparing us for coming into the room each night after a long days sight-seeing. The staff and pleasant and helpful. They recommended Rosa Salve for coffee and cake nearby - best value for money ever - (the lunches are good too).
The Hotel's own restaurants on either side offer excellent quality food also. The Continental Breakfast offers much more than your usual - even bacon/scrambled egg, many breads, croissants, yoghurts, fruit-juice choices etc...I would definitely go back here. It is more like a 4/5 star hotel in its presentation and appearance.

Room Tip: The convenience and cleanliness of this place outweighs services it can't offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 120Damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Tthank you very much for your superb review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our services and that you had the impression of staying in a 5 star hotel.
Hoping to see you soon again in our House, accept our best regards.

Massimo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had a reservation at the Venice Italy B.W. Montecarlo. (Rated by Tripadvisor 107) When I arrived, I was told my room was not ready. The front desk person told me their sister property Hotel Antico Panada (Tripadvisor rated # 266) just across the street had a room immediately available. It was NOT a Best Western property. He assured me...several times...that the room quality and condition was the same at both properties. He was charming and believable. I was mistaken.

So beware...if you like a room with 1950's era carpeting, wallpaper falling off the walls, ONE electrical outlet, lumpy bed, located on level two with a walk-up one additional floor of steps that were about 2 feet wide, tasteless breakfast, a phone that did not work, front desk person who was never available, total lack of customer service, somewhat dirty and a slight smell...pick the Best Western Montecarlo OR the Panada. I was told they were exactly comparable.

Room Tip: According to the Front Desk person at the Best Western Montecarlo, and their sister hotel Antico Pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank long3view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sir,
i wish to apologise once again about our mistake.
Yes because to try to grant your request of an early check in, impossible to arrange in our hotel, but possible to do in our twin hotel at the end was a big mistake.
But, pls, let me ask you: if the accomodation did not sotisfied you why you did not come back to us and wait untill your room was ready??
I hope you remember that I asked you if something was wrong to apply to me.

Hoping to see you soon back in Venice, pls accept Sir, my best regards.

Stefano Magrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#72 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 385 in Venice
777 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
709 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#69 of 385 in Venice
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montecarlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montecarlo

Property: Hotel Montecarlo
Address: Calle degli Specchieri 463, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Montecarlo)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Venice
#75 Family Hotel in Venice
#92 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montecarlo 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montecarlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montecarlo Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Montecarlo
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing