We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay in Venice”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo San Marco
Ranked #208 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing stay in Venice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We arrived a day late due to a hoax bomb scare at our transit airport but the 2 rooms we booked were kept for us. The receptionist was matter of fact and our only help to our rooms was to be shown the lift and which floor to get off. The hotel has definitely seen better days but I understand this is fairly standard for Venetian hotels. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were a decent size. We asked for a kettle and this duly arrived with tea and coffee and there was a fridge stocked with drinks and water. The noise from outside finally died down after midnight but we accepted this as it was Carnavale.
Breakfast could be classed somewhere between disaster and horrendous. The food was as expected for a continental breakfast but was of poor quality. We had to wait for a table to be cleared..there was a mess of crockery and cutlery on every table. There appeared to be only 2 staff in the dining room and they were clearly struggling..none of the 5 staff at the reception desk appeared to be in any hurry to help. Despite arriving for breakfast reasonably early, there wasn't any hot water or coffee, no hot food at all and we had to ask 3 times before we got any service at all. The girl who attended us was actually a housemaid and should have been making up the rooms. She had no kitchen experience at all. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it's location is excellent, being literally 20 yards from St Marks Square.
Clearly my friends and I will not be booking this hotel again. Despite this we have enjoyed our brief stay in Venice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    334
    228
    106
    83
See reviews for
180
454
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Our bedroom was huge, with nice furniture & windows facing one of the small channels and a small bridge over it. Quiet place, good service, excellent breakfast, local & english newspapers, WiFi, and a computer for everyone's use. Best location, right on top of Piazza San Marco.
An advice: Experienced friends had advised my wife and I to board the Vaporetto as soon as we arrived to the Airport, and it proved to be a wonderful choice, as the boat took us along the lagoon and channels, beautiful sightseeing. But when the boat stopped at "San Marco Giardinetti" we were left there with our luggage. No taxis, no cars. Fortunately we had just a middle size suitcase and a carry-on each, and we managed to pull them across the Piazza up to the hotel. But our friends had bigger suitcases and it was not that easy to lift them up some stairs & cross a couple of romantic bridges. No hotel is allowed to send you help, they can only call authorized porters, who charge E15 just for the first suitcase, and E5 for each subsequent piece. By the time we left the effort was not so much, for we had found a better walking route to the Vaporetto, along the Piazzetta San Marco that starts right in front of the Cathedral and takes you to the waterfront without any stairs. So, travel light if you choose to lodge in this wonderful area, and from the Vaporetto walk to your right some 100m until you reach Piazzetta San Marco, turn left, cross the Piazza and a bit to the left find this nice albergo San Marco. located in my map at the corner of the Piazza and Calle dei Fabbri.
Cheers!

Room Tip: We had a very nice room and so did our friends, also an elderly couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, Califorrnia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We arrived in Venice a day early for our cruise, and spent one night here in Sept/11. We had some difficulty negotiating the cobblestones in San Marco, and the steps up and down the bridge connecting to the hotel due to extra luggage for the cruise. Upon arrival we were checked in and directed to our room - no help from any staff- it took us several trips in a tiny elevator, and negotiating hallways and stairs to reach our small room. For over 340 Euro we were truly disappointed. The front desk staff were surly at times and at all times had an aloofness that does not make a traveller comfortable. The bathroom was appalling - desperately in need of a update - shabby decor, uncomfortable fixtures. The bedding was also in need of replacement. All in all a dreadful start to our tour and an unfortunate introduction to Venice.

Room Tip: there may be one - not room 1258
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I have just come back from my fourth stay in Venice in a few years. It was my second stay at Albergo San Marco. The previous was in November 2009 for 4 nights with two friends ( rooms 208 and 406). This time I was with my daughter and we stayed for 3 nights in a superior room (114) on the first floor, overlooking the canal. I am always surprised when I read bad reviews of places I have enjoyed, and this hotel seems to have a few of those. However my experience is not at all negative. The personnel of the hotel were always very courteous. They speak different foreign languages quite fluently, but enjoy your trying to greet them at least in Italian, which I always do. I was able to print my travel documents ( free of charge ) on the printer attached to the computer in the lobby, and the receptionist helped me when one sheet of paper stuck in the printer at one point. Breakfast is good, plenty of choice: hot croissants, eggs, ham and cheese, different sorts of bread, cereals...etc....I have never been to Venice in the high season so I cannot say what it would be like then, in the frenzy of summertime; best avoided, probably. The room was large, very clean, furnished with period furniture, a good bed, and good heating. The bathroom was well equipped and spotless. Impeccable linen changed daily. I can imagine that it could be noisy. Despite our double glazing windows, we heard the workers in the street one morning. But when in Venice one wants to be up and about, visiting, not staying in bed all morning, so it did not disturb us.
In conclusion, this second stay has convinced me that this hotel is a good choice; its location is superb, next to San Marco square, it has reasonable prices for Venice, and I would definitely stay there again on my next visit. I have stayed at two other hotels in Venice -Marconi on the Rialto - and Al Sole in San Polo- both were ok, but this one is equally good, in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frenchgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck , Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Overall a very good hotel , nice service , good breakfast. The rooms are Ok in size , nice , Free Internet connection. The hotel is old fashion but well maintained .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehilba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

The Location was very good and convenient to reach. It's right on San Marco square. We were there for 3 nights. We had a triple room which had a double bed in one room and a single bed in one and was quite good in size.
I only wish that the bathroom was well planned .The size was fine but it really needed a shower cubicle. The shower had a curtain and the water would all flow out if you were not very very careful while having a shower.
The rest of our stay was really good. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

After disembarking a cruise ship,we stayed 3nights here. The first room we were given was so noisy,tiny,and the shower flooded the whole room because there was a 2inch gap at the bottom of the shower cubicle. Not good.
The wifi is awkward to log out of,so you end up using up your 20hour allowance too quickly.
The decor is shoddy. Needs updating. I'm all for authentic,but chipped furniture and blankets on the bed are not my idea of comfort.
Some of the staff on the front desk were friendly. Some were down-right rude!!
Plus points,cheap(for Venice),excellent location. Would not stay here again though.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cru22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#198 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#299 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#201 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#270 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Marco

Property: Albergo San Marco
Address: Sestiere San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albergo San Marco Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing