We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad to stay only two nights..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo San Marco
Ranked #204 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glad to stay only two nights..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Being a 3 star hotel I suppose you get what you pay for but I did not enjoy my stay at all. The staff werent that friendly to the point of rude when i asked for the WIFI password i was told ''10 minutes 10 minutes'' i went away, half an hour later told to wait another 10 minutes i decided to wait at the desk- 15 minutes later they pulled out a scrap piece of paper with the password on.. do not expect much at breakfast in quailty or quanity. we went down for breakfast at 8am (1 hour after the start of breakfast opening) to find not much left apart from 3 strawberry yoghurts and questionable meat. Our room was small and felt slightly dirty. It was hot as there was no air con and found alot of bugs in the room. bed was old and lumpy.
It is a good hotel to stay in if you only spend the bare amount of time in the room itself. amazing location but be expected to be woken up from noise outside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie0555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    330
    224
    104
    81
See reviews for
176
447
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is very dated and the rooms are extremely small. The staff isnt very friendly or helpful either. The location is amazing but doesnt make up for the lack of service or amenities. There was nowhere to store our luggage before check in so we just had to leave it in the hall which we werent very impressed with. The room had good air conditioning and the price was good considering how expensive Venice is. However, if you are looking for comfort or a good night's rest, stay elsewhere. I will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skigal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the first week of August. The property is situated ideally to reach most of the attractions by walk. The San Marco square and the Sea is juz less than 5 mins walk. The hotel is best for its location and ambiance. The staff at the front desk was highly helpful and gave us a detailed guide of visiting Venice. The Rooms are not so spacious, however for a family it is comfortable. The bathrooms were also spacious. The breakfast provided was also good. Altogether it was a good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shashaz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Irene assisted us in checking in. She had a bit of difficulty in finding our reservation, but managed to locate it (we made it through booking.com). She was friendly and very helpful. The public areas of the hotel are quite tarnished, but seem like heaven after the buzz you see around the place outside. We were given room 301, which was very small, but had everything you needed except for iron and ironing board which you could get from the hotel free of charge. Free internet in the room, you only need to get your login from the reception desk. I thought the bathroom was quite large in comparison to the room. The only negative aspect is the lack of aircon in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazhit I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week with my wife. It is in Venice standards an OK hotel. The breakfast was good for me, The room was small and looking to a backyard but we were happy there because it was very quiet. The bathroom was big and of course the location of the hotel was perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erkasapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deinze, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Good starting point to visit the city, big room, clean bathroom, breakfast average. Bread chewy and coffee too strong.
Room had antique furniture and old fashioned wall paper and curtains.
Fits the atmosphere of Venice
Avoid the week ends as the place becomes too crowdy.

The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here for one night because of its good Location. And this was the only thing that was good in this hotel. Also the staff were nice and it wasnt too pricey. I have noticed before that Best Western Hotels are losing their charm but this was really bad.
Our room was small and seemed reasonably clean. There was a constant toilet odour coming from the bathroom. The interiours were extremely out of fashion and they give you plastic cups in the bathroom.The colours of the walls and carpets in the whole hotel were shocking.
This all would have been all right since one doesnt spend a lot of time in the room but the biggest turn off was the breakfast.
There was no crispy bread, only some cheap rolls, a coffee machine that didnt work properly, no eggs, no fruits, no nothing. The tables were dirty and werent cleared during the 20 minutes we sat there. We would not stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jemina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#198 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#291 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#201 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#261 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Marco

Property: Albergo San Marco
Address: Sestiere San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albergo San Marco Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing