We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Venice is a dream, but this hotel ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albergo San Marco
Ranked #206 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Venice is a dream, but this hotel ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The only positive thing I can find is that it is very close to St Marco.
But the hotel itself? Little out- lived room, running toilet ( several months by the look of the lime scale) bad service in the morning, missing items on the buffet, grumpy waitress , a boy at the reception thinks he is a God gift, ..... need I say more? I know tourists will come to Venice, always, but try to avoid this place , be warned

Room Tip: No good rooms available to my knowledge , I've seen a few !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    335
    228
    107
    83
See reviews for
181
455
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin. CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Best Western Albergo Caveletto. Not much has changed in the past 10 years but what is the same is the location.

The Caveletto is located in the back right corner of San Marco Square, across from the Hard Rock. It also is where the gondola's park the boats at night and take off for tours. My husband stayed in 2000, we stayed in 2004 and now June 2014.

Most of the front desk personnel are very friendly and helpful. The best employee by far is the bartender "Joker". He refereed us to a great restaurant, always served us with a smile and had great music playing.

The rooms are on the small side, but most hotels in Europe are on the small side. We were traveling with 4 other couples. All of us had a similar room however those with a water view seemed to have a slightly larger room but smaller bathroom. The rooms are small but clean.

The breakfast is a typical European breakfast. They did not serve any non-gluten bread or rolls. But there was enough to choose from with fruit, meats, cheeses, yogurts and eggs.

The front desk arranged for us to travel "free" to Murano. What it really is, is a boat ride to an affiliate glass maker. You arrive and go on a tour of the facility including a glass blowing demonstration. Then the sale people start showing you product and work you to purchase. At the end the boat will take you back to San Marco Square, however if you choose to stay on the island and shop, they do not take you back. We actually choose to continue to shop the rest of the island and travel to Burano, the lace island. This island, we were told has better restaurants, plus the island itself if far more beautiful. It is very colorful and should be seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAroscosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had a room overlooking the front alleyway. The room was huge as was the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. We also had tea making facilties in the room which is a bonus in Italy.

There was a bit of noise from the street late into the night and also early morning but nothing to disturb us greatly. The location is fantastic right in the heart of Venice, so close to the square and in the middle of great shopping and restaurants.

Breakfast was ok, the first day it was full of a bus tour so we had to come back later but the selection was good and there was plenty of food.

Staff were good, we didn't really see them other than for check in and check out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_B055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Great location if u can switch off from the tourists and hustle a bustle, had my chance again I would stay in San Polo and walk to st marks square, but others may love where hotel located 10 metres from St marks square and easy to find, hotel provides basic buffet breakfast and needed with price of food, coffee machine bitter, room small but clean good for just sleeping there. Definitely purchase a map before you head in, expensive but so is all venice,

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lind1tob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This small hotel offers a great location just steps from Piazza San Marco. The room was medium sized with a small desk, an adequate closet, bedside tables and a small armchair and table. Bed was comfortable and despite it's proximity to the Piazza, we didn't have a problem with noise. The bathroom was also medium sized and well appointed.
Breakfast is generous and varied.
The only knock against it was the staff wasn't particularly friendly or helpful. Might have been a language issue, but everywhere else we stayed the staff was so incredibly gracious and helpful that this stood out because it was different.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPBailey1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at Venice during the first week of June. Booked 2 rooms in this hotel- a triple and a double- because we wanted one close to St. Mark's Sq.

The double room on the 4th floor was nicer because it seemed newer, room looked more bright and furniture was better. The triple on the 3rd floor was obviously older and looked darker but once we opened the windows the room wasnt so bad. AC was good and cold. TV was old but wasn't there for TV anyway. Hair dryer could use some updating. Wifi in the rooms. Abit slow sometimes but bearable. Halls were very dark though which was weird. It wasn't dim, most of the halls we past were actually unlit. Were they saving on electricity or something?

Breakfast choices were very limited- the only thing that disappointed me. Other than that everything else seemed to be average. The best thing about this place is the location. With all the tiny alleys in venice, the hotel is easy to find coz its right by the square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkymonkeycebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is dated but very clean. Located just off Saint Mark's square and therefore the streets are very busy and noisy. It is quiet at night so no problem sleeping. Breakfast is chaotic. The hotel could do with being updated. What really lets it down is the staff. They are very unfriendly and even rude on occasion. My advice is to pick a hotel further from Saint Mark's square, Cannergio or Dorsodoru are more pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 343Anna122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#198 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#299 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#202 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#267 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Marco

Property: Albergo San Marco
Address: Sestiere San Marco 877, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Albergo San Marco)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Albergo San Marco Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing