We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #35 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Holt, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply the best!!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Just got back from honeymoon in Venice, a special trip made even more special by the hotel, fabulous room (302) location just perfect, away from the bustle and noise, but close enough to walk with ease into the main tourist bits. Staff were superb and couldnt be more helpfull!! I was recommended this hotel by a freind and needless to say i will be recommending it to anyone who will listen!!! 10/10.

Mark Brett, Norfolk, UK.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brettmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    443
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
338
797
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed in the modern apartments and we were very impressed. We had heard horror stories about Venice accommodations and expected to be paying through the nose for a terrible room. While these rooms still weren't cheap, they were great value compared to other places. Our room was quite large and spacious and felt even bigger because we had glass doors leading out onto a semi-private patio. The bathroom was also large and everything was immaculate and modern. It was incredibly quiet and between that and the amazing black out shades we slept like babies. True, there is no view, but after spending our days out in the chaos of the Venice streets, we were happy to be isolated from everything and everyone. The location of the hotel is about a 20 minute walk from most major sights, but we appreciated being a little bit out of the way.

Room Tip: If you're okay with not having a canal view, the modern apartments here are definitely the way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetravelcritic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at Hotel American Dinesen for 3 nights in July. Easy to find from the Accademia vaporetto stop. The staff was friendly when we arrived and the porter carried our bags up to our room (no elevator). Lovely canal view from our room. We had a triple room which was spacious compared to other hotels we had stayed in during our trip. Breakfast was typical, although the coffee was the worst we had in Italy. The desk staff was very helpful in assisting us whether we needed to quickly find the closest Farmacia or find an appropriate restaurant for gluten free dining.

The only thing I would be aware of or avoid is the complimentary boat to Murano for a glass factory tour. It turned out to be a couple of minutes for a "tour" and then a heavy sell in the gallery.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Lovely room in the Annexe, renovated with a small courtyard inside... with all facilities incl. coffee machine. Location is okay, behind Accademia - with all sites easily accessible by Vaporetto (Bus # 1 & 2). Some good restaurants on the other side near Zattera stop.

Found it over-priced for location and facility. Worse was being charged 5 Eur everyday for my 3yr old baby's breakfast, which was ridiculous. This was not even communicated to us when we checked in and was charged later. The behaviour of some of the staff seemed a little 'racially intolerable'. Left a little bitter taste in the mouth overall

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WheelsOnOurFeet_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American-Dinesen, Manager at Hotel American Dinesen, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Dear Sir,

You have booked a double standard room for 2 adults, in your reservation was NOT mentioned that you were coming with your daughter. The accommodation for your daughter was free of charge but breakfast was not included (Euro 5). You didn't informed us ,on arrival, that your daughter was supposed to have breakfast. Regarding the "racial intollerance" attitude that you are reporting honestly seems to be just an insult for our hotel and staff, as you are not explaining what happened. Our business works thanks to the tourists coming from all over the world, so we cannot have ratial intollerance! Why you have not reported this kind of problem to the general manager ?Why you did not mention at the check out ?

Hotel American Dinesen


Hotel American Dinesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We have just stayed for 4 nights in this gorgeous hotel, location superb, right on a small canal, handy to Accademia bridge, Peggy Guggenheim Museum and much more.
Our room had 3 sets of doors opening to patio overlooking the canal, what more could you ask for?
We parked our car in garage San
marco and caught a water taxi, with porter service directly from the car
Park, 80 euro, to the hotel, what we imagined was going to be a struggle, with numerous cases, was a breeze!
We couldn't speak highly enough of the staff accommodation and location here, after returning from the area around San Marco square with zillions of tourists, it felt like returning to a haven, sitting on the balcony, enjoying a drink, and watching the 'canal traffic'!
Enjoyed dinner at a restaurant recommended by the hotel, in a lovely garden setting called Locanda Montin, a 10 minute stroll away and also one rediscovered on Trip Advisor, excellent food and value for money, particularly for Venice, called San Trovaso, and in fact went there twice!
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTravellers008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I have been going to Venice almost every other year for the last 20 years and have stayed in at least 4 other 3 star hotels. Hotel American Dineson have maintained their high level of comfort and standard in the years that I have been staying there. You are always assured of a well appointed room and their attention to detail and their warm welcome. I am a picky traveler and while Hotel American's typical Venetian decor may not be to everyone's taste, compared to other 3 star hotels in Venice, the comfort and cleanliness of the room are never compromised and it is very good value for what you get. The Dorsoduro area is also a nice quiet and convenient place to return to after being with hordes of tourists in the main areas. I do not stay anywhere else when I go to Venice now.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tintoretto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I came to Venice as part of our 2nd honeymoon. This hotel is situated away from the hustle and bustle, but close to transportation. There are great little restaurants near this hotel. Our room were great and of adequate size, and the staff was most helpful. Breakfasts were great too!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almostfamous7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,783 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,301 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
766 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Property: Hotel American Dinesen
Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing