We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #33 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I think this is the sixth or seventh time that I have stayed at the Hotel American over the last 15 years and I have to say the experience gets better and better every time I come. The hotel is lovely and the rooms great and another great assets is the staff. The team on reception (and its nice to see the same faces when you arrive) could not be friendlier and more helpful, nothing is ever a problem and they always go out of their way help you with any question or problem. Lovely area and minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the main square yet quiet at night. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    436
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
328
786
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kodiak, Alaska
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There are probably hundreds of hotels in Venice, but what sets this hotel apart is the service. We spent only one night here, and it was lovely. The location is perfect, the rooms are beautiful and the breakfast was excellent. The most outstanding part of our trip was the staff. I had a medical emergency and needed a dentist and the hotel staff were incredibly helpful, calling his local dentist and explaining the situation and setting up a same day appointment so that we could continue on our vacation. We highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the canal are more expensive if you want the view, but honestly our little room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jparnell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Loved this hotel!! Loved Pablo the dog too! Treated very well!! Romantic and good location! Breakfast had great cappuccinos ! Loved the heart pink shaped soaps! Easy to walk to locations and water bus.

Room Tip: Cute canal rooms !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloCanadianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location is wonderful, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the balcony overlooking the canal are perfect. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay here during our time in Venice and will definitely choose to stay here again when we return.

Room Tip: The balcony is definitely worth the extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel was very clean and friendly and although the room was small, I think this may be the case for most hotels in Venice. The hotel is very well placed for most of the major attractions and St. Marks is easy to get to by foot. I would say if you arrive by Marco Polo airport then the easiest way to get to the hotel is by the Alilaguna ferry to the Zattere stop at a cost of 15 or 16 Euros depending on the time of day. Otherwise its a bus to Mestre, a train to Pizalle Roma in Venice and then a water bus to Accademia. If you can afford a water taxi straight there then this will cost 80 - 100 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie_Allan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, MI. USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful stay with a group of Master gardeners at the American Dinesen hotel in Venice. The hotel is utterly delightful. The hotel itself is a picture of Venetian architecture. The rooms are typical venetian in style, the breakfast was great and the staff were extremely helpful. To complete the picture they even have Pablo the Labrador to greet you. The area of Dorsoduro is ideal. It's close to the Accadamia, St. Marks Square, yet it is quiet. There are plenty of restaurants and cafe's within walking distance. Alberto and Elisabetta were very helpful in every aspect. If you want a quiet, truly venetian experience then the American Dinesen is the perfect place to stay in Venice. Some of our group stayed in the dependence next door and these rooms were even larger than the hotel rooms. They loved this part of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from Venice, the American Dinesen is a great hotel, ideal location for exploring all of the attractions but in a quiet spot which makes you feel relaxed away from the real tourist throngs. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#6 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#17 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#24 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Property: Hotel American Dinesen
Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing