We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #33 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Booked here for two nights in venice. Stayed in the annex portion of the hotel and it was very nice, clean and had a beautiful patio to relax in. The customer service was great and it was close to many attractions but also on a quiet portion of the canal. I would go back to this hotel the next time I stay in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling246845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    436
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
327
783
50
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
1,158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is our go to hotel in Venice. We have never been disappointed on any stay. This small boutique hotel has a great staff and well appointed rooms. The hotel is situated on a canal in the Dorsoduro neighborhood. The best thing you are away from all the crowds, but close enough to the sights. We love the Dorsoduro. It is a great neighborhood where actual Venetians live.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just completed 3 nights in Venice as part of an extended trip and enjoyed our stay here. The room was good sized (109) and had a balcony with view over the canal. Location was excellent for us, on a quiet canal and just around the corner from the Accademia and the Guggenheim is nearby. Short walk over the bridge to San Marco when you want to join the crowds. The staff was very helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived and recommended places to eat and when best to visit the various sites and museums. My teenage daughter especially enjoyed her visits with the house dog, Pablo, and a couple of those pictures will be in our memory album when we return home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Everything about this hotel is good. Great location - quiet but convenient; friendly and welcoming staff; rooms spacious (rare in Venice) and well decorated; free wifi. Searching for something to balance the good things the only thing I could find was a slightly annoying step up into the en suite bathroom. Also as everyone knows Venice is horrendously expensive, but even so I thought terms of value for money this was on the expensive side.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff and hotel room made our stay in Venice very pleasant. The room was clean and the bed was large. The staff was helpful and arranged for transportation to the airport to catch our early flight. It is located in the Dorsoduro area of the island which is quiet, has good restaurants, and is still an easy walk to all locations. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristenH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a few lovely days in this charming hotel at the end of May. The position was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and well maintained and the breakfasts were very good. It was lovely having a balcony overlooking a canal. We would have no hesitation in returning

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect position, close to attractions yet far enough away from the crowds. The staff Roberto, Alberto, Paulo and Patrizia were all wonderful - friendly proved great advice when asked and kept the room very clean (Patritzia).we stayed in Rm 201 which had two small balconies overlooking the canal.It was a treat to wake early and have a coffee over the canal. The room had a larger bathroom with bath/hairdresser and very clean. In the room there was a safe, coffee/tea making and a very comfortable bed. As my wife said "it ticked all the boxes ". We stayed 4 days and purchased a 72hr Vaporetto card which was extremely well utilised. Restaurants - the closer you get to the Grand Canal the more you will pay but the outlook and experience is unforgettable. We "had" to have a drink at the Cafe Florian which was great, but then had to immediately go to the auto teller for more cash..... The view from S. Giorgio Maggiore bell tower is worth the visit, no crowds and a better view than from San Marco. Be prepared for crowds, push and shove at the maintourist spots, this is why returning to the American D at Durodorso is worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#6 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#18 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#24 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Property: Hotel American Dinesen
Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing