We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un angolo di paradiso!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel American Dinesen
Ranked #34 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Un angolo di paradiso!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My treasure! I love this hotel. The location is perfect, the rooms are comfy and clean. The breakfasts are delicious. The staff is so wonderful and accommodating, you just feel at home. Can't wait to return. Thank you to all the wonderful staff for another perfect stay. You're the best!

Room Tip: Be sure to book a canal view room. Sit out on your veranda and listen to life! It is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Am0_l_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    443
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
340
797
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Road Town, Tortola
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just spent 4 days with the family visiting Venice. This hotel proved to be a perfect choice. The location is in a friendly area with great access to the center, Vaporetto and restaurants. We had 2 rooms, one with a canal view for us & one with a street view for the kids (teenagers). Comfortable, clean and well presented. Staff were helpful and breakfast plentiful. I would strongly recommend this as a base for anyone exploring the city. If you have had a long day sightseeing then the restaurant Cantinone is next door, small, friendly and well priced.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has less noise in the mornings (street cleaning, delivery barges etc). Ask for a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

...but the quality of the wifi was horrible, and when I inquired about it, the woman at the desk simply told me that she couldn't do anything and that she would talk to her colleague. Other than that, the place was great. The included breakfast was quality, and they were willing to acommodate a gluten allergy. The hotel was quiet but located well, close to the waterbus and the Accademia bridge. I would go back.

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was worried the location was off-the-beaten path; turns out it was perfect--close enough to the vaporetto and sites to be convenient yet in a quiet and quaint spot that made it feel like a secret hideaway. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the recommended restaurant next door. The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. Wifi worked great and the breakfast was nice and convenient. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel met all of our expectations. Had a superior canal view room. So enjoyed opening the balcony door at night. Room was small as expected but had a good set up to make the most of the space. Very clean, breakfast was good, and great location with only one bridge to cross with your luggage. Very convenient. Would definitely stay here again. I would recommend the superior canal view with a small balcony!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisawynnstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We very much enjoyed the location and the professional staff. The breakfast service was also quite nice. Our room was nicely furnished and cared for, but there was no sense of being in Venice. Unlike the other reviewers, our room had no balcony or even a view with a bit of sunshine. The view was of the wall of the neighboring building just a few feet away. For the amount we paid, I had expected something with more character. Also the free internet worked only sporadically in our room, even when the staff tried to improve it. I'd rather be charged for wifi and have it work reliably. I think I'd try another hotel on my next visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Edmastroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American-Dinesen, Manager at Hotel American Dinesen, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for submitting your review. We would like to clarify that the room assignment follows the reservation made by the client. If you reserve a double room without canal view (each room has it's own descrption before reserving, so you know what kind of room you're booking) you cannot expect to have a canal view room with balcony. If you reserve a canal view room we will assign a canal view room, if you reserve a classic room without canal view the assignment of a canal view room it's subject to availability and extra cost. Probably the wifi problem was just a temporary problem wit the provider as normally works fine (but cannot verify the info as there is no guest name, date of the stay, room number...).
Hoping to welcoming you back,

Kind Regards

Hotel American Dinesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A quaint hotel located in a quiet location, just a stone throw away from the hustle and bustle of St. Mark's Square. The staff here was very accommodating and our room was a perfect size for the two of us. The free breakfast was delicious and totally worth the extra euro. The water taxi and gondola stops are right in front of the hotel along with easy access to water buses. I highly recommend Hotel American Dinesen and wanted management to know Paolo did an excellent job helping us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalesNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,784 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,307 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,890 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel American Dinesen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel American Dinesen

Property: Hotel American Dinesen
Address: Via San Vio 628 | Dorsoduro District, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Venice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#35 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel American Dinesen 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior three star Hotel in Dorsoduro, the "Art District" of Venice. The hotel is located between the Acadamy of Fine Arts (Accademia di Belle Arti) and the "Peggy Guggenhiem Collection".The House lies in front of San Vio Canal, with his private dock for taxi and gondolas. Highly requested are the superior canal view rooms with balcony, where customers can enjoy a nice view of San Vio Canal and (some of them)a partial view of the Grand Canal. Free wifi internet access in the room and also public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel American Dinesen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dinesen Hotel
American Dinesen Venice
American Hotel Venice Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing