We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and view!”
Review of Hotel Gabrielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gabrielli
Ranked #119 of 385 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Location and view!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The Location of the hotel is very good  (10 minutes walking distance  from S.Marco) , the reception and public areas are decorated in " style" with painted vaults and exposed wooden beams , but the rooms are really , really basic and generic! Cheap ikea-like furnishings , low ceilings (if you are staying in of the  rooms on the 5th floor , mind your head when you get up in the morning if you dont want to start your day at A&E) small (ish) size,  basic bathrooms,hard stiff materasses .

Our room had great breathtaking view on the laguna  but I'm afraid that is my only " thumb up" for this hotel.

Breakfast : just average Continental buffet , like any other hotel in the world ,with the most diluted orange juice I have ever seen and , which I'd rather call orange water . 

Service at breakfast:be prepared to   lots of "hand-waiving" "finger -pointing" " eyebrows-rising" before catching  the waiters' attention who seem to be always super busy,  running haphazardly round the room.. I am sure  they were doing their best,  but  a tip for the management: maybe  add couple of staff members during busy weekends? 

We did a little  "hotel-hopping " whilst walking through Venice and we saw some of the most beautiful, luxurious , design hotels and that made the difference with ours even more obvious, but having said that , though, those hotels have sky-high rates and I guess that the value for money in this hotel remains still fairly good. 

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giocri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Client,

thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you noticed the very convenient location of the hotel and the good value for money ratio.
We are constantly improving our service and product so that clients valuation is very precious to us.

Best regards,

Hotel Gabrielli

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    376
    135
    66
    51
See reviews for
143
522
58
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Fourth stay at this hotel and would definitely go back. Although my single room was small, it had double doors and a balconette overlooking the courtyard which was nice. Breakfast was good and plentiful and it was great to have a bar to have a nightcap at the end of a busy day! It was unexpectedly warm and sunny and it was fantastic to relax on the roof terrace with superb views across Venice. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Generally the hotel is good, although the decoration is a little dated and shabby in places, but the location makes up for it!

Room Tip: The single rooms are very small, maybe better to have a double room for single occupation, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear client,

thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It is my persoal pleasure that you point out the courtesy of our staff which is a very important detail for a family managed hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your friends in the near future and beg to remain yours sincerely,

Hotel Gabrielli
Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When we arrived, it was nice to see it was right on the main drag, right in front of the dock. Our bed was two single beds pulled together, and our room was on the second floor. I believe that this hotel had five floors, and offered a solarium and garden on the top floor. We went there to take in the view, but it was raining, so took 2 photos, and went back down. Our room had a desk and chair, a couch, and another chair. The TV was located on the wall, and had the best bathroom during our visit to Italy. We had two lavatories, a shower and a separate tub, stool and bidet. Also included in the bathroom were many amenities, but no wash cloths, and hand towels were thin like dishtowels. WiFi worked fine, and the included breakfast was nice as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaklay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore generale at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear client,

thank you for posting a comment of your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed Hotel Gabrielli and would love to wellcome you, your friends and family in the near future.

Sincerely,

Hotel Gabrielli
Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The first night we had a 1 star room: 16 sm, the racket of the lift aside, a shower wedged under a roof. We complained bitterly and the next night (Sunday) got the best room in the hotel. It was the postcard view and lovely in its historic character.
So, while the location is perfect, if you go there on a weekend, prepare for a real game of chance in getting a quality room. Given all the ups and downs, I would move off the Grand
Canal for a more consistent expectation of facilities in the future.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AlohaCheersDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear client,

thank you for posting a review of your stay, In fact the hotel offers rooms of different sizes, standard, superior, deluxe lagoon view and different prices. Lagoon rooms are more spacious and offer great views on San GIorgio. But they are much mor expensive than standard rooms.
So if you want a better room please specify upon reservation to avoid misunderstanding.
The hotel itself has not been built as a hotel but is a venetian palace from the 16th century so
room size may differ. If you like to feel the history Hotel Gabrielli is the right place.

Best regards,
Hotel Gabrielli

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel during the first week in Sept, the room had a view of the Grand Canal.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast had a good choice. There was wifi in all the rooms.

The hotel had plenty of character and the roof garden was great in the sunshine. It was also good at night for taking photo's out across the canal.

An excellent hotel and definitely worth staying here on a trip to Venice.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the grand canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank colins5286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear client,

thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It is with pleasure we learn that you enjoyed staying with us and that you appreciated our service and location.

We are looking forward to hosting you, your family and friends in the near future and beg to remain,
yours sincerely

Hotel Gabrielli

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Fabulous location, lovely owner, charming and very helpful reception. Given its older decor it does have a lovely charm of the old glory days.

Room standards vary - overall the hotel does not seem to have been refurbished since the 60s or 70s, which can have a charm of its own, but also means that overall facilities do not match the price at 250€+. Room 201 - with loveless furnishings and an almost broken 80s shower curtain - was considerably overpriced; room 202 considerably nicer, but also slightly more expensive.

Breakfast - with OK, but by no means excellent buffet - is actually where this hotel loses most points: the service is so rude and inflexible that it defies all professional standards (ordering customers to wait before being able to order coffee/tea, slamming cutlery down disorderly, refusing an extra coffee at 10:30 as that is when breakfast closes). Makes one feel as though one is there to follow their routine rather than being the customer. A few simple things could improve this immediately, but doubt the hotel will change its routine.

Room Tip: If you like a hotel that's easy to get to (something to consider with Venice's confusing cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NiciKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear client,

thank you for posting a review of your stay. I am we weren't able to fullfill your expectation and will work on improving our product and services.

Best regards,
Hotel Gabrielli

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Splendid location in between crowdie center and Biennale exhibition area , good accessibility, comfortable and spacious room, charming facilities, kind reception and services, good breakfast, good value for price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear client,

thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed being with us and appreciated the location, the view and our services.

Hope to be able to wellcome you, your family and friends in the near future.

Best regards,

Hotel Gabrielli
Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#93 of 385 in Venice
677 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#63 of 385 in Venice
714 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#20 of 385 in Venice
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 385 in Venice
1,801 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#66 of 385 in Venice
994 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabrielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabrielli

Property: Hotel Gabrielli
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4110 | Centre - Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Venice
#69 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#136 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#146 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabrielli 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Gabrielli, a Venetian Palazzo from the 14th century is family owned in the 5th generation. Only a few minutes walk from Saint Mark’s square, the Doge’s Palace, the Basilica of St. Mark and the Arsenale offers a fantastic location on the waterfront and excellent views on the laguna. Inhouse restaurant with venetian cuisine and Bar. Don't miss the roof terrace and the regarden to relax from a busy day. Private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gabrielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabrielli Sandwirth Hotel
Gabrielli Sandwirth Venice
Hotel Gabrielli Sandwirth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing