We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Venice”
Review of Hotel Gabrielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gabrielli
Ranked #114 of 385 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We travelled as a group of friends to Venice for 4 days. Hotel location was fantastic, beautiful roof-top terrace for enjoying sunsets in Venice with a spectacular view of the lagoon up to the Grand Canal. Bedrooms well appointed and beds comfortable. All staff in the hotel were very helpful and pleasant especially Beatrice on reception desk. Excellent buffet breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to all types of traveller.

Room Tip: our rooms were at the back/side of the hotel and looked over the rooftops of the district as they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ClareO696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear client,

thank you for taking the time to post a review of yoru stay. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay due to the location and as I get it also due to the performane of our staff.
As a matter of fact I will pass this information to the Hotel Gabrielli team and trust to maintain
and perhaps even improve their attitude towards service versus our clients.

All the best for you ! We hope to be able to welcome you and your friends and family in the near future.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

OK the downside first. This is NOT a luxury palace like the Bauer or the Danieli. It may have been in that category when Kafka stayed there a century ago, but it's faded considerably since then. There are a few architectural details from the Venice Golden Age, but also some budget-driven compromises like the plywood panels in the salon where I am typing this review, or the garden out back that looks a little forlorn, at least now in mid March.

What the Gabrielli has is location, location, location, and if that aspect works for you then you may like it quite well. My room (528) is tiny -- former maid's quarters under the eaves -- but from the east facing window I can see the lagoon in one direction and the Arsenale neighborhood in the other. Quite pleasant to wake up to that! Furnshings are basic but hygiene is good. The buffet breakfast offers many choices, plus a morning view across the lagoon on San Giorgio, and the staff is polite.

This is the off season and my early-week room was deeply discounted, to under $100 per night. If you are at the right price point, then this hotel is a very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trobaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Manager at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Client,

thank you for havinf taken the time to write a Review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
WIth pleasure we learn that you like thelocation of the Hotel, the breakfast offer and the politeness of the staff.We are a Family owned Hotel since 1850,now in the 5th generation, and
try our best to give as an added value Service and professioanlity.
Thank you for pointing out some critics , we will considder them with the next refurbioshment.

Best regards,
Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location with beautiful views from our room and very close to the Arsenale boat station. Breakfast first class and we had one excellent buffet dinner, wine included. Front rooms can be a bit noisy, and the mattress was thin and hard - but it's the views you remember! We would certainly recommend the hotel as an ideal base to explore Venice, the islands and the Lido - all of which we did in our 5 day stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank profajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Client,

thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed the central and convenient location of Hotel Gabrielli.
The restaurant concept has been reviewed for 2014 and that is why a positive comment for
customer side shows us that we are going in the right direction.
Thank you for being our guest and come and visit us again soon.
There are so many things to discover in Venice.

All the best and
yours sincerely,

Hotel Gabrielli
Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

we booked two rooms for a long weekend. We had a nice room with a view over beautiful blue sea. everybody in the reception area was kind and helpful. The breakfast was one of the best I had in Europe, many alternatives with cheese, yoghurt, fruit and of course cappuccino. The location is perfect. It is a nice 10 minute walk to San Marco and you pass through Rialto bridge.
The bed was comfortable and clean. However, i should mention that there is quite a lot of noise coming from the street (room 108 and 109). I woke up several times at night. An earplug would be handy.

Room Tip: if you want quiet night sleep, it is better to choose room those are not overlooking the street, sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Manager at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear client,

thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli. It is great pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay. We changed our concept for breakfast in 2014 so your compliments as the best breakfast in the Europe suits perfectly in time and shows us
that we are on the right way.
We will go in details for your comments to improve standards and look forward to havine again the pleasure to wellcome you, your friends and family at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.

Best regards,
Hotel Gabrielli
Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

very good experience. nice rooms perfect location. nice view from rooms. our rooms were grand canal facing.
hotel serves an excellent breakfast with various options. very friendly staff.
tours start from walking distance. 10-15 min. walk from San Marco square.
get real feel of venice

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mscg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear client,

thank you for posting a review of your stay. With great pleasure I lean that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the convenient location. Thank you for mentionning the view on the lagoon - if you want to have a special experience this room category is really worth booking it.
No doubt I will pass the compliment to my staff that you have been satisfied with their service and hospitality.

We are looking forward to have the pleasure of wellcoming you in the near future.
Arrividerci.

Best regards,
Hotel Gabrielli
Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect location & great views from the rooftop garden, but the service isn't great & the rooms are in desparate need of an update. The stafff was downright rude at times - their restaurant is generally empty, but when we tried to sit at a table of our choosing, one of the staffmembers said, "No, no, no!! That table is for four people! This one is for two!" all while pointing us to another table that also had four chairs. Why on earth did it make a difference where we sat? Also, we were generally ignored by the receptionists upon entering & leaving the hotel. At the two other hotels we stayed in during our visit to Italy, the staff was always incredibly friendly, so we were disheartened to see such a stark difference here. Overall, I'd say this place would certainly not qualify as a 4-star hotel.

Thank lljeannet
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear client,

thank you for writing a review of your stay. I personally regret that you did not enjoy your stay and will definetly go through the points mentionned. The feedback from our lients is very precious to us to understand where things can be improved.

Best regards,
Hotel Gabrielli
Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The Location of the hotel is very good  (10 minutes walking distance  from S.Marco) , the reception and public areas are decorated in " style" with painted vaults and exposed wooden beams , but the rooms are really , really basic and generic! Cheap ikea-like furnishings , low ceilings (if you are staying in of the  rooms on the 5th floor , mind your head when you get up in the morning if you dont want to start your day at A&E) small (ish) size,  basic bathrooms,hard stiff materasses .

Our room had great breathtaking view on the laguna  but I'm afraid that is my only " thumb up" for this hotel.

Breakfast : just average Continental buffet , like any other hotel in the world ,with the most diluted orange juice I have ever seen and , which I'd rather call orange water . 

Service at breakfast:be prepared to   lots of "hand-waiving" "finger -pointing" " eyebrows-rising" before catching  the waiters' attention who seem to be always super busy,  running haphazardly round the room.. I am sure  they were doing their best,  but  a tip for the management: maybe  add couple of staff members during busy weekends? 

We did a little  "hotel-hopping " whilst walking through Venice and we saw some of the most beautiful, luxurious , design hotels and that made the difference with ours even more obvious, but having said that , though, those hotels have sky-high rates and I guess that the value for money in this hotel remains still fairly good. 

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giocri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Client,

thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you noticed the very convenient location of the hotel and the good value for money ratio.
We are constantly improving our service and product so that clients valuation is very precious to us.

Best regards,

Hotel Gabrielli

Johanna Perkhofer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,888 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#115 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#129 of 385 in Venice
945 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#57 of 385 in Venice
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabrielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabrielli

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4110 | Centre - Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Venice
#68 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#135 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £111 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabrielli 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Gabrielli, a Venetian Palazzo from the 14th century is family owned in the 5th generation. Only a few minutes walk from Saint Mark’s square, the Doge’s Palace, the Basilica of St. Mark and the Arsenale offers a fantastic location on the waterfront and excellent views on the laguna. Inhouse restaurant with venetian cuisine and Bar. Don't miss the roof terrace and the regarden to relax from a busy day. Private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gabrielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabrielli Sandwirth Hotel
Gabrielli Sandwirth Venice
Hotel Gabrielli Sandwirth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing