We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel with rooms with a view”
Review of Hotel Gabrielli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gabrielli
Ranked #120 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“hotel with rooms with a view”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

An old building full of character right on the lagoon front and some 2/300 yds from St Marks Square. The rooms are fairly small but adequate with a good sized bathroom with bath and shower. Our room overlooked the Lagoon and Grand Canal so the views were stunning. Some guests however said that there rooms were very small and overlooked brick walls. There is a roof terrace where you can pass the time with a bottle of wine watching the world go by on the Grand Canal. The breakfast is mainly continental style but with plenty of choice and some hot dishes. The reception staff speak good English and are very helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a 'lagoon view' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear client,

thank you for posting a review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice. It is with pleasure that I read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have different room types, rooms with a view on an inner court yard or a garden and rooms overlooking the lagoon. The rooms overlooking are more spacious and if you want something special this is the room type to book. This is why comments sometimes differ so much. Anyway, we are looking forwards to welcoming you, your friends and
family in the near future and send you our best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    358
    130
    63
    50
See reviews for
134
488
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
212 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel end of July 2014 with a Gate 1 tour. Great location with so many things to see, do or eat at within a short walking distance. The hotel was very comfortable and our room was set up for 3. Bathroom and room was newly refurbished and was very nice. Good breakfast in the morning and you have to visit the rooftop garden and take in the view. Wi-Fi was better late at night when the amount of users were down. Wi-Fi in the lobby and the rooms was free. A/C was comfortable and we also enjoyed opening the bathroom window and taking in the fresh air and rooftop views. Elevator was small but wasn't a problem. Front desk staff was iffy, with some more friendly then others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpicchioldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear client,

thank you for posting a positive review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
I read with pleasure that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you, your family and friends in the near future.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I didn't quite know what to expect when I read rather mixed reviews here but I'm glad that my two nights in Venice was with Hotel Gabrielli. The hotel is right on the pier with really great views and the hotel has its own private pier so if you like the convenience, a private water taxi can drop you and pick you up right at their doorstep. If you have many luggages like I do, this is perfect and you are saved the hassle of lugging your luggages around. The hotel has this old world charm to it which really fits the beauty of Venice. You could easily walk to San Marco Square and yet be out of the hustle and bustle of it. Perfect for me and my family. There are plenty of little shops and restaurants around as well so plenty of options for you to choose from.

The rooms were spacious enough for three though they look a little dated. The air conditioning worked perfectly so we could always have a cool room when we returned. The bathrooms were a good size though like the room, probably could use some updating as well. Breakfast was great and I enjoyed it. Hot food was served every morning as well.

Overall, I had a really nice stay and if you're looking for a value-for-money hotel that has some of Venice's old world charm, this is it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear client,

thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
I am very glad that you enjoyed the vacation with your family and pointed out the positive aspects of the time spent with us.

We are looking forwards to recieving you and your family and friends again at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was booked into this hotel thru a group tour. The food was good and the room was clean but the bathroom was extremely out dated. The shower stall was maybe 3 x 3 feet with a shower curtain that did not enclose you in. Water gets all over the floor and that is why they have 2 drains on the bathroom floor itself. If you are over 175 pounds, good luck moving around in there. But the staff is friendly and the location is great. Nice roof balcony for a great view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHerman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear client,

thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
It is with great pleasure that I read that you enjoyed the location and the views of our property.
We are constantly improving the product and the service so we will take in considderation
the remarks mentionned.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location and really nice rooms. Breakfast was quite good but just let down by cold coffee.

Evening meal dogged by poor service and little choice. Waiters just did not seem too interested in customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the Grand Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear client,

thank you for posting a review of yours stay. It is a pity you did not enjoy our food and beverage offer. We will of course go through your points mentioned and thank you for your constructive
remarks.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We wanted a good hotel, nearby the Grand canal, and nearby the taxies. This Hotel deserve all their stars and are the best Hotel we ever stayed at in italy. The Rooms where beautiful, the staff where Nice, the breakfast was exellent. Also the backyard was beautiful. Perfect stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hilde_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear client,

thank you for having taking the time to post a reviw of your stay at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.
It is with imense pleasure we learn you enjoyed your stay.
We are awaiting you, your friends and family again at Hotel Gabrielli in Venice.

Best regards,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerez De La Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The temperature was very hot in the time we visited the town. The air conditioning in the room was not working properly, the temperture inside was too hot to stay comfortable. We say it at the front desk but they didn't do anything to fix it.
The hotel is ok, but not too much.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maripposilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gab4110, Direttore at Hotel Gabrielli, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear client,

thank you for posting a review of your stay. I personally regret that you did not enjoy your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Johanna Perkhofer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#57 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#84 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Castello
Nuovo Teson
Nuovo Teson
#132 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#83 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#61 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#66 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabrielli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabrielli

Property: Hotel Gabrielli
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4110 | Centre - Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Venice
#67 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#136 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#146 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gabrielli 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Gabrielli, a Venetian Palazzo from the 14th century is family owned in the 5th generation. Only a few minutes walk from Saint Mark’s square, the Doge’s Palace, the Basilica of St. Mark and the Arsenale offers a fantastic location on the waterfront and excellent views on the laguna. Inhouse restaurant with venetian cuisine and Bar. Don't miss the roof terrace and the regarden to relax from a busy day. Private boat pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gabrielli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabrielli Sandwirth Hotel
Gabrielli Sandwirth Venice
Hotel Gabrielli Sandwirth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing