We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely room, friendly helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Bisanzio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bisanzio
Ranked #60 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely room, friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Centrally located, but very quiet location. I had the same reservations as one reviewer about this being a Best Western hotel -- but it was not big or impersonal as you might image. Minutes from the water buses, including transportation to the train station and airport, and St Marks Sq. Room very clean well decorated. Reception staff couldn't be more charming or helpful. We would normally be wary of a hotel's advice about restaurants, etc but they gave us some very good suggestions. The only downside to this hotel was the breakfast -- service fine, but food average at best.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and could hear some 'foot traffic' in the evening, but really not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrownieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    249
    35
    11
    3
See reviews for
182
345
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I was a little worried about staying at a Best Western property in Venice...like eating at McDonald's while in Italy. This motel was bought by Best Western but is still quite Italian. The rooms and small and the showers are smaller, but they were clean and nicely appointed. The staff were all polite, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good but the coffee was machine espresso. We ate and then walked across an arched bridge to find some honest espresso. We didn't go to Venice to hang out in our hotel, but I had a nice time sipping a glass of wine in the lobby bar while using the Wifi (which rarely reached the upper floors anywhere we stayed in Italy.) Hotels in Venice are expensive, but this was clean and as reasonable as Venice hotels are priced. The location is excellent. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seatown7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We experienced a lovely 3 night stay at the above.

Both the rooms and service were excellent and could not be faulted. Unfortunately there was work being done to a neighbouring property which did disturb our sleep.

The service and help and this hotel is excellent. Breakfast was a little basic, but expected and sufficient.

Staff are only too happy to help. The hotel is also in an excellent location, perfect for water transport and St Mark's Square.

Top tip: use water bus from airport as opposed to water taxi, you get the opportunity to take in many sights along the way. The water bus staff are helpful with stops etc.

Wrap up warm, Venice is chilly in the winter and it is cold when you are close to the water. We took a gondola and traveled up the grand canal on the water bus.

Room Tip: Our room over the courtyard/entrance was noisy with building work
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a long weekend trip to Venice. Its very easy to find, literally 2-3 minutes walk from the water bus stop from the airport. Great façade, very impressive, this hotel is set at the end of a quiet road off the main promenade. It has been very very tastefully renovated to a really good standard, we opted for a superior room, which was large, light and bright, and very well appointed. Good heating system in rooms too which is so important in winter months. Large windows opening onto a quiet courtyard, parquet floors with nice rugs inside the room, and of course, marble and lots of it.....well it IS Venice! Bathroom was a good size and fully tiled with a separate bath and shower. It was immaculately clean everywhere, bedrooms and public areas. A small but comfortable lounge with a computer and printer, although there is free wi fi all over the hotel. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice, and hot and cold dishes, everything from cereals, hams and cheeses to bacon and scrambled egg. The best selling point by far for this hotel though is the staff....Ive been to lots of hotels and have to say the staff here are exceptional. Incredibly professional, courteous and yet so friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay as good as it can be, the BEST Best Western Ive been to!!!! One tiny niggle, they do supply a tea tray with a kettle and coffee/tea but they don't give you cups and saucers, you get a plastic cup (vending machine style) which is such a shame, we asked for proper crockery and were 'loaned it' we were supposed to have returned it the same day but hid it instead so we could use it until we left! Such a small thing, and so easy to fix!!!

Room Tip: pay a little extra and have a superior, well worth it for all the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shirleylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Bisanzio was the perfect place for our visit to Venice with our granddaughter. Starting with the waterbus trip from the train station to the stop a short walk the hotel, to the lovely room, helpful and charming desk staff, and to the adventure of taking a watertaxi right from the hotel back to the train, she was entranced. And so were we. We visited right in the middle of the biennial so walked to the hotel amid a range of exciting art. Our superior room with a terrace was perfect for relaxing after exploring and the room itself, although small, was cozy and extremely comfortable. The brunch (included in the price) was great, with lots of delicious offerings for a wide range of tastes. From the hotel it was a short walk to the Piazza San Marco and, by wandering in the other direction you discover another quieter world of small restaurants, canals, and shops. We travel a bit and this hotel is now among our favorites--we'll be back.

Room Tip: The superior room with a terrace adds another wonder dimension, with its roof top views in most dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kh0229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Bisanzio is my hotel of the decade as we have stayed here three other times (family of four) and it never disappoints. The hotel is the cleanest place I have ever been. It sparkles. The staff i always polite and friendly and super helpful. Venice at Christmas can be cold but the hotel is always cozy and the beds really really comfortable. The location is perfect - take the Alilaguna from the airport to Arsenale or San Marco and it is two small bridges away. Breakfast is included. What else can I say but if I had the money I would still stay here. My idea of the perfect hotel. I give it FIVE STARS!!

Room Tip: Never had a bad room. Always perfect and super clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skilakimou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupont, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Hotel Bisanzio is a great way to start your stay in Venice. We have visited Venice numerous times but this hotel made our latest trip the best. My wife's luggage was lost from Rome to Venice by the airline. It took four days to get the luggage to us. In the meantime, the staff at Hotel Bisanzio went to great lengths to help with getting my wife's things to her by making the phone calls and recommending the best places to shop for needed items. It was as if they had lost their luggage. It became personal for them to get us our things. In turn, this just made us appreciate being in Venice more. Often with the crowds that show up in the tourist areas you kind of forget the whole reason for the trip. We had a wonderful start to our Italian Christmas trip by starting with this hotel. The place is clean, the rooms are tidy(the bed was wonderfully firm)and quiet, the breakfast was just right, and the staff was warm and friendly. Please enjoy your stay. We did!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamg907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
#55 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#66 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#36 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#15 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#53 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bisanzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bisanzio

Property: Hotel Bisanzio
Address: Castello 3651, 30122 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Bisanzio)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#57 Family Hotel in Venice
#79 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bisanzio 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Venice, in a location that is extremely quiet but close to all the principal attractions of the city, the Hotel Bisanzio occupies an ancient 16th-century palazzo that was once the home and “workshop” of Alessandro Vittoria, one of the most important Venetian sculptors of the 16th century and a student of the great Jacopo Sansovino. A recent, careful restoration has allowed the Hotel Bisanzio to preserve the fascination of an ancient Venetian palazzo that is, today, equipped with every modern amenity, to ensure a relaxing stay in a structure equipped with elevator, air-conditioning, LCD TV and Wi-Fi Internet access. Ease of access is not secondary when talking about Venice, where people almost always get around on foot. The Hotel Bisanzio is perfectly located, just 150 meters from the city's main public transportation stop (San Marco - Zaccaria), where all the lines for the other areas of the city and the adjacent islands arrive and depart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bisanzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bisanzio Hotel Venice
Best Western Hotel Bisanzio
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing