We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Hesperia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Hesperia
Ranked #88 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The great thing about this hotel is that it is on the island of Venice and within walking distance of the Santa Lucia train station, which makes it convenient when walking with luggage. The directions on their website is very good and it is very easy to find the hotel. Also considering that hotels in Venice are expensive, this Hotel is cheaper than most. Breakfast (from 7:30am to 9:30am, with bread, croissant, ham, cheese, fruit, cereal) was included in my package and I got a room with a private bathroom that was in the corridor, other rooms had a shared bathroom. My room was good, not very large, but enough for 2 people. The room was well heated. The furniture was a little old, in there room, there was a bed, cupboard, table and chair. No fridge or kettle (but this is normal for Italian hotels). For the bathroom and toilet we had to go into the corridor, past some other rooms, but it wasn't a problem as we didn't really see other people.

There is no free WiFi and this hotel has no lift. So we had to carry 2 suitcases up 3 flights of stairs. However the staff were very nice and took one of our suitcases up. All the staff of this hotel were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2014wtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    469
    93
    19
    5
See reviews for
154
626
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a small hotel that does the basics very well. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean (as were all the public rooms we used). We booked a superior room overlooking the canal. It came with an en-suite comprising washbasin, toilet, bidet and walk-in shower - also a hairdryer.

There is a very pretty breakfast room providing the usual range of continental breakfasts, and a small lounge with a bar.

It is in an excellent location, tucked away in a quiet spot but only 5 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Venice. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station and 15 mins from the bus station.

My abiding memory is how pleasant and helpful the staff were, and I would without doubt stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hotel Hesperia is very walk-able towing luggage to/from train station or boat stop from airport. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly helping find local places to try Venetian food. Our room was small and not that comfortable. The a/c was not working so we had to leave the window open inviting all the neighborhood canal mosquitoes! Yikes. But given that Venice is expensive, Hesperia was good value even if the rooms was lacking. Breakfast was nothing to write to Mom about.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VDlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Lovely.
The room wasn't ready on our arrival but they let us leave our bags whilst we went off to explore.
It is in a lovely part of the city, 5 minutes walk to the centre and a lovely view. The staff were friendly and very helpful with our questions.
On two of the days we were there it rained and the city flooded. We were given complimentary umbrellas and wellington boots.
Breakfast was continental. Nothing hot but was still very nice.
Room was average, no problems.
Overall, lovely holiday and for the cost it was AMAZING value!
very happy :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Other half and I visited in March on a Living Social deal. Hotel is a flat 10 -15 minute walk from the train or bus station and close to the Grand Canal. We paid extra €20 per night for superior room - hotel and staff excellent and great breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaphead1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I rated this hotel 4 stars solely based on its staff. Without them, this hotel would barely make a 3 star rating due to its significant signs of aging.

Staff were friendly and always more than happy to help with anything you need.

Two things you need to know about this hotel.
NO ELEVATOR and NO FREE WIFI unless you book with the hotel website DIRECTLY. I learned this the hard way unfortunately.

This hotel provides free breakfast. Simply but filling.

Location wise, this hotel is unbeatable because you avoid all the bridges in Venice (yes the bridges with steps). You are only a short 5 min walk from the train station. You are away from the noise and tourist traps on the main street.

Facilities wise, this hotel is old. Clean and spotless. Shows signs of aging and unfortunately for this great hotel the owner does not put a lot of money back into the hotel to upkeep it. Shower door would not open or close. I suspect it was a known problem and I assume that no one complained prior to my arrival. Owner brushed it off as no big deal and made it seem like I was fussy. She did however go in the next morning to fix the problem. She sprayed some WD-40 and the shower door was functional (it would open and close but with effort, it really should be replaced)

This hotel could be a great boutique hotel if it was brought up to date (nothing major, things simple as changing the shower faucet, drainage cap and shower doors). Frankly, things are falling apart.

I would stay there again solely for its location, staff and over the top customer service (from the staff). Special mention to the male staff who works the night shift from 8PM onwards.

Room Tip: Its 20 euros extra for rooms overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have spend couple of nights with my family (with two children) about 03 weeks ago during the Carnival Time in Venice. We actually made a mistake with the booking date but the staff in Hotel Hesperia was very kind supportive and supportive in find and arranging a room for us in a quick time - We really valued this especially due to the fact that most hotels are occupied during the carnival time in Venice.

The room amenities are good as well as the breakfast. The service was very much personalized. It is not a big place but they make every effort to make you comfortable.

It is very near to the train station and close to all the main attractions in Venice.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely consider it for our next visit.

Room Tip: Request for studio if you are travelling with the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Mune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#90 of 385 in Venice
424 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#101 of 385 in Venice
482 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#82 of 385 in Venice
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#99 of 385 in Venice
419 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#70 of 385 in Venice
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hesperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia

Property: Hotel Hesperia
Address: Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#92 Family Hotel in Venice
#106 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hesperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing