We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hesperia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hesperia
Ranked #89 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights recently and arrived by train, the hotel was easy enough to find following the directions on their website and took about 10 mins to walk there. It's away from the busy main routes which was nice but still more than close enough. The hotel is small but has everything you need including very helpful and informative staff. The room we stayed in was on the second floor and just outside on the way to the roof terrace. I can't remember the number but it's a lovely spacious room all on its own with a en-suite bathroom (this was a bit small but not a problem). Good air conditioning and no noise in the morning. Breakfast was nice with a good variety of food. I would recommend the bar round the corner, Bar al Parlamento, great food and drink. Turn left out of reception and left again at the canal and it's just ahead of you. The bar on the opposite side of the canal was always busy too so give that a try. Also you have to go to Alfredo's Fresh Pasta To Go, look it up online. Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for making our first trip to Venice a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S70REY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    453
    88
    19
    5
See reviews for
148
593
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner had previously booked this for us due to my impending birthday but was unable to join me at the last moment. When contacting the hotel they were very helpful with changing the details over to my mothers. Upon arrival we were exceptionally early but were were greeted warmly. We were shown to our room and helped with our baggage which was exceptionally heavy so greatly appreciated. That evening I asked the young lady at reception for directions to a fete we wanted to attend and she happily looked them up on her computer above and beyond my expectations. The room was very comfortable on the second floor directly opposite the stair case which was at times a little noisy but nothing unbearable. The bathroom although small was more than suitable. Overall the place has true Venician charm. If you get time visit the roof terrace for lovely views. Location was well suited for the water buses and within walking distance of all the main attractions. My mother is a Diabetic and the hotel kitchen team were helpful in the morning making sure she was catered for. I would love to return in the future. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for less noise, try not to be opposite the stairs if a sensitive sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richieb123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were excited to be returning to Venice and we knew we wanted to return to Hotel Hesperia. Its location allows you to get lost in the real neighborhoods of Venice away from the hustle and bustle. It is very easy to reach the hotel from the train station and a vaporetta stop is directly across the canal which makes getting to Burano, Murano, and busy St. Marks Square very easy. We had the same room both times - window looking out onto the canal. Such fun to watch the canal activity from the window from the morning when deliveries are being made to the local businesses until dark when the vaporettas, taxis, and private boats take folks out for the evening. Sometimes, can hear an accordion player from the restaurant across the canal. We took Italian pizzas to the rooftop for lunch which was wonderful and peaceful. The room is not real large and basic furnishings, but very clean. The private bathroom is outside in the hallway and this is not a problem at all. The bathroom is a nice size and very clean - shower only. You won't find better value in Venice where hotels can be very expensive. Breakfast is good. Staff is helpful. Internet not the greatest - pay for Internet. We will be returning a third time as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out onto the canal. The room that has a door to the rooftop would be good, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hesperia was a pleasant surprise on our trip to Venice. It is located on a quiet embankment away from the hustle of the main street yet so close to everything. We got upgraded to a superior room which had a stunning view over the canal and I would highly recommend booking this type of room as the view was to die for. The room was clean and modern and surprisingly spacious for Venice. The bathroom was simple but very clean with plenty of towels, toiletries and bath slippers provided. The breakfast was fabulous with fresh croissants and plenty of choice of fruit, cereals, etc The service was attentive and all staff was extremely helpful and kind. Overall it is a great value for money and the location does not get much better than that.

Room Tip: Get a superior room as the view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is small, but the attitude of the staff is huge. We just completed a 3 day stay and had a wonderful experience. The only complaint was the lack of an elevator to our 2nd floor room. The staff carried our bags to the room so that part was easy.
There is an outstanding balcony on the third floor that overlooks the rooftops of the surrounding buildings. It is quiet and was a wonderful spot for some wine and cheese before heading out to dinner.
The whole staff was very helpful, always willing to do whatever was necessary from directions to making tea at 10pm.

Room Tip: If you pay a bit extra you can get a superior room with a view of the Carnareggio Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful friendly staff, pleasant outdoor breakfast area up a side street but still in view of canal, comfortable room with adequate facilities, 5 minutes walk from Grand Canal (Ferrovia) and several pleasant eateries within 5/10 mins walk. If you want a good base to sleep in and are not worried about a sumptuous breakfast choice or smart cocktail bar this place does the job. Book direct and you get free wifi too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel in run by 2 sisters and their friendly helpful staff, my friend and I stayed for 4 nights from 26th May - they gave personal service every day being always in attendance in the daytime with suggestions where to go etc. The breakfast was excellent - so much choice and hot drinks were brought to our table - no impersonal vending machine. Our room was of good size and comfortable. I was informed by my airline by text that due to industrial action in Italy my return flight had been cancelled on Friday - so I had to re-book a return flight and another hotel, as unfortunately the Hesperia would be fully booked. Carolina gave me the telephone number of my airline and thereafter helped me to find and book another hotel close by - I could then relax and enjoy my holiday in Venice. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet being not canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#63 of 386 in Venice
1,119 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#141 of 386 in Venice
423 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#104 of 386 in Venice
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
390 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#82 of 386 in Venice
537 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#115 of 386 in Venice
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hesperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hesperia

Property: Hotel Hesperia
Address: Cannaregio 459 | Calle Riello, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#92 Family Hotel in Venice
#106 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hesperia 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hesperia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing