We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Universo Nord Hotel
Ranked #257 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very Good Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Only stayed one night at this hotel, but for the price I payed 30 euro, it was very good. Location good for the station and Piazalle Roma, and vaporetto stop very near. My room was on the top floor, with no lift, which was a little hard going but reception do supply a porter to help with luggage. The room was clean and had plenty of amenities, breakfast was good, nice big breakfast room with an outside terrace. Staff were friendly and helpful. no complaints, highly recommended if on a budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    245
    305
    100
    80
See reviews for
179
297
81
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 night in a private room, good money value, clean room, quiet, nice balcony, friedly service, helpful. very good location, minutes away from train station and bus terminal, easy to find. Nice breakfast, free wifi in the loby. Would recommed for a friend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ugne D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fort Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We booked two rooms, one for us and one for the children. When we arrived, the second room was small enough to be a broom closet - certainly too small for two children. When I complained I was told there were no more rooms. That was just the start.
At about 8:00pm, I heard a jackhammer - yes a jackhammer at night. I went to the front desk, and I was told it was just for a short time and would stop.
Around 11:00pm, we heard a scream, (over the still pounding jack hammer), and heard a commotion in the hall. I went out and a young woman was telling another couple, that a man was trying to get in her room through the bathroom window - like out of a TV movie.
The jackhammer stopped just after midnight. We checked out the next day, and payed triple the rate for two beautiful rooms right on the canal.
Avoid this hotel at any cost. You will see beautiful photos, and the location is great, but the owners are rude, they are deceitful, and they really don't care if they ever see you again. In this case, you don't even get what you pay for. Spend some money and cross the street.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, and you will absolutely positively get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Expensive even for Venice, dirty, rude and dodgy staff. Location good for train station, but not in the heart of Venice, at least half an hour on water bus to San Marco

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jana_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Venice is a great city, if you travel by train it's an easy walk to the hotel. There are stairs and no elevator however the staff carries luggage to your room for you. Front desk staff were very helpful and gave map with things circled. Helped when it was time to leave to get us to the buses to airport. Great breakfast in the morning and wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Upon arrival the staff were friendly and once we had checked in a porter came to take us to our room and carry our bags. Unfortunately there is no elevator and a few stairs to help work off all of those carbs. The breakfast was included and for a free breakfast I couldn't complain. Juice/ tea/ coffee provided as well as ham cheese salami croissants and yogurt were all provided. It's in a prime location, across from a main water bus stop and only a 3 min ( not even) walk to the main train terminal. A negative would be no elevator and due to it being so close to the station there is a lot of people walking past all hours of the night so it did get noisy. The hotel was clean but a little bit old but that's ok and our room was cleaned daily with new towels and amenities. The bathroom was a reasonable size but unfortunately our shower head was broken and we couldn't have a high pressure shower. Overall I think this was a good stay and I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missbex89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

So close to Santa Lucia train station is ridiculous! The hotel is pretty and charming. The rooms were nice and clean. Lots pf blankets, toiletries and tv. Its kind if a long way from the lobby to the rooms because its so big! But there are staff to help you with your luggage if you need it. Breakfast was amazing! Croissants, hams, cheese, cornflakes, granola, yogurt, bread, jams , coffe and juice! Lots of shops and reataurants near by :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaseyferie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#271 of 385 in Venice
554 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#201 of 385 in Venice
920 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#342 of 385 in Venice
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#247 of 385 in Venice
405 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#233 of 385 in Venice
656 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universo Nord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo Nord Hotel

Property: Universo Nord Hotel
Address: Rio Tera Lista di Spagna Cannaregio 121, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo Nord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Universo Nord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Nord Venice
Hotel Universo Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing