We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong point is location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Universo Nord Hotel
Ranked #249 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Strong point is location”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Only good thing (but is key to roam around venice tirelessly) is that this hotel's location allows you to drop you bag right after you arrive in venice (probably less than 100 meters walk from the station). Other than that quite mediocre. No frills hotel so can't complain too much

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    244
    301
    98
    77
See reviews for
178
290
81
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel was very run down and carpets were very dirty. The wastepaper basket was not emptied and we found trash behind the bathroom door. That being said, the towels were always replaced and clean, the same could be said for the bedding. The breakfast was very basic. I think the hotel is good for students.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thereza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When we got to the hotel, at about 4.a.m, we were eerily greeted and led through the gate in a manner which closely resembled a scene from a horror film; with the 1920's decor to match. We went to our room to find huge steins on the carpet (which hadn't been hoovered before we got there as there were bits of litter from the previous guests.) We went to leave to get something to eat and the receptionist mumbled in Italian something that I'm sure wouldn't have been very pleasant because we (God-forbid) made him move from his seat to let us out! We went to bed that night to find other people's hair all over the sheets.
The next night, after more rude encounters with reception, we went to pack our bags which had been sitting on the floor and to our disgust we found ants crawling not just over all our clothes (next to the fridge), but all over the carpet and scurrying back to their home in the wall next to the bed post, which was covered in dirt, hair and dust. After this we start to find more and more disgustingly dirty parts of the room, which the maids (if they have them?) had not touched in years as they were obviously just too far out of their reach being in corners, under rugs or under the bed.
We went to reception to let them know about what we found (baring in mind this is 2:30 a.m the night before we leave, with check-out at 10:00 a.m) and the receptionist couldn't care less; acting as though we ourselves were less wanted in the hotel than the ants! After much complaining that we weren't happy with the bug room we were given some keys to a different room (which was much worse minus the bugs) with only 5 and a half hours left to sleep after sorting everything out. Baring in mind this is an expensive 3 star hotel, this is not the treatment we would have hoped for.
We woke many times the next morning to what must have been about 7 phone calls to the room between 5-8am. (Why you'd want to disturb your guests who have already been treated badly I don't know?!)
We at 9:30 returned to ant-kingdom to collect our belongings to find the room had been cleaned EVERYWHERE, (the room itself said thank you to us as we left as it had a new lease of life after being covered in dirt for all those years.)
A man walked in with a scowl on his face and spat the words "Answer phone." and slammed the door behind him. When no less than three seconds later the phone rang to which we answered to get an equally aggressive man saying "Check-out's at 10:00", as if for the last 5 hours we were unaware of this knowledge and were certainly too incapable of getting out of bed, at the right time, by.....ourselves?!?!
We then went down to reception (still about 25 minutes before check-out time) to find a new receptionist, who we told about the room situation and showed him the pictures. The man started to act as if we were lying, and nothing was wrong and went on to say it was OUR fault there were ants after we were there one night because his spies had found (dun dun dun) food wrappers in our bin. He had the attitude of a 3-year-old child and came out with comments such as "It's clean now so what's the problem?" and afer many sighs and shrugs of the shoulders he said "Do what you want I don't care." and at one point, tried to pass an equally disinterested collegue off as the owner of the hotel.
Overall a dirty place with ignorant staff which may have been of 3 star standard in 1923 but in 2014 is nothing better than a one star shell of an establishment which probably hadn't been cleaned since 1923.

Room Tip: Don't pick the room that resembles the scenery of 'Bugs life'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I arrived to this hotel at around 9 pm with our huge and heavy luggage bags. Once we reached the reception desk, we literally had to wave to the receptionist for his attention even though he had already glanced at us. It was like he was intentionally ignoring us for a good 5 mins. When he finally attended to us, he didn't greet us and spoke to us as though we were a burden on his life for asking about breakfast and wifi. When we asked for help bringing up our luggage bags as there is no lift, he laughed in our faces and told us that we're strong enough to carry them by ourselves and that they don't carry luggage at that time. Ummm well clearly I can't carry my 25kg bag up 3 flights of stairs, so my husband had to go up and down twice. When we got to our room, it seemed tidy until I saw a whole trail of ants crawling on the floor.
So I found a vacuum in the corridor and vacuumed the floors myself because I wasn't going to bother with that rude guy downstairs.
As for breakfast, small variety but workers are dry and rude. There was literally nothing comforting about this place. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are so many nicer options around that are also in a good location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynset, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was Ok. It's situated in the heart of venice not far from the train station or the grand canal. The hotel is very old fashion. In our room there were a lot of mold witch wasn't good at all. The Wi-Fi only works in the reception area! It's ok to stay in this hotel for 1-2 days, but no longer than that.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe2Globe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Its an average hotel with basic facilities.

It was good for a short stay and perhaps a little expensive for what you got comparing it to other 3 star hotels we stayed in in Italy but that is the case for any in Venice I think.

The location is perfect. Right outside the main train and boat station.

Hospitality was good, we were informed on what we asked for, no proactive information sharing like other 3* hotels.

Rooms was big and adequate for our req. As we were four ppl sharing the room. Breakfast was good and filling with standard
options.

Recommended for short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhiral84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The location is great, only 5 min from the train station and waterbus stop. Hotel room is quiet and big enough for a solo traveller.

Heater automatically turns off at night. The door for the shower room is hard to close.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yifei-DianDian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#198 of 385 in Venice
911 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#273 of 385 in Venice
552 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#337 of 385 in Venice
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#232 of 385 in Venice
655 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#255 of 385 in Venice
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universo Nord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universo Nord Hotel

Property: Universo Nord Hotel
Address: Rio Tera Lista di Spagna Cannaregio 121, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Universo Nord Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Universo Nord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Nord Venice
Hotel Universo Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing