We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Continental Venice
Ranked #164 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Hillsboro, OR
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historic and Location”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed in average rate room and as mentioned the location is a great for the train station and water taxis. I enjoyed the historic nature of the hotel, but be prepared for some tight areas such as the elevator. Bathrooms do vary, but we received one with a great claw tub. Rooms are nice, comfortable with good space allocated for luggage (some historic venues are too tight for this). Views also vary so ours was one with the construction materials evident. Staff were perfunctory, but not rude and were helpful when asked. They can get very busy. Definitely clean. Breakfast is very good and decent offering.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank statman_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    541
    321
    134
    95
See reviews for
298
681
85
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Located at end of the Grande Canal a short walk from the train station. Like everything in Venice, the building was quite old with disjointed hallways reflecting the conversion of the building to a hotel. The space in the room was adequate but the bathroom was tight with a cruise ship size shower stall and an hair dryer which reminded of the one we owned when I was a child in the 1960s. The pillows were hard and there weren't any extras. My daughter and I stayed there one night as part of a tour group and where we all had dinner together as a group. The restaurant setting is romantic at night and the food was tasty.
Pros - clean, staff friendly and helpful. Cons - hotel needs some updating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hixercise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

BEWARE! I booked and prepaid for my room for a may 21, 2013 arrival, four months in advance. When I fanally arrived(those who have been to Venice understand), I was old that there were no rooms available. I arrived at 1:00pm, well within the prescribed time for arrivals. The staff was unapologitic and told me they could book me into a different hotel. Long story short, that was the best mishap of my vacation. The other hotel was far better and the staff far more attentive. I would think that it would be illegal to sell a presold room, but unaware of the rules and laws I was left to grin and bare it. Later that day, I naticed, several times, the same bell man that took our bags to the other hotel, escorting other "guests" to their new hotels, in a far worse area, apparently this is a scam thay use quite a bit. If there were a lowere score and legal action that could be brought I would avail myself to both. Good Luck if you book here, it is a game of hotel roulette, luckily we won, but I saw many that didn't

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martini14810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Yokine
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a convenient distance from the train station and we were surprised that the room and personal amenities were a reasonable size, although a non mocking room there was always a scent of tobacco in and around the room so it would seem not all the rooms around ours were smoke free!
Breakfast was disappointing especially the second morning when there were a lot of tour groups and the tables were reserved. There were no available tables until requested by us and anther couple and arrangements were changed to accommodate us, but it should not have been a problem. First in for breakfast should be first served!
Disappointed at checkout when the 2 staff couldn't acknowledge us immediately but continued a conversation and after paying the city gas, we revived a perfunctory dismissal. Disappointing!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Close to the train station and on the main walking street. Massaging shower (extreme water pressure) nice restaurant with canal side dining and live music. Breakfast inclusive but not what I would call impressive. Hotel staff werent too helpful (other than porter and kitchen ladies) and some were even rude!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brentbruce_kiwichef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

First the good point. The room is basic but comfortable and unlike other hotels provides rests for 2 suitcases, but for over $400 a night there should be some good points even in Venice. The location is close to the train station but a good walk to St Marco and the other popular sights. Now the down sides. There is free wifi but only works in the lobby and they only provide one access code for 1 device at a time. The catering is below standard - the breakfast is ordinary even by Italian standards. The one dinner we had the carrots and beans were so over cooked to be barely recognisable and just warm also. The service was efficient but not friendly which added to the Venice stereotype of wanting your money in big sums but you are a nuisance. In short expensive but there are obvious cost cutting everywhere. Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Regrettably, I made this hotel reservation for my Mother's solo trip to Venice. The staff was incredibly rude to her, especially when asking for the WiFi number. The single room was very cramped with a small, hard single bed. Though the room had been apparently cleaned, the furniture and bed headboard was coated with years of old filth. I uploaded photos so you could see the filth on the bed. There was no mattress cover and the towels were so old and thin you could see through them. The shower was so small that my Mother had to open the shower door while showering so she could turn around. At 5'1" she is not a large woman.
When she complained to the hotel staff, they said they could bring in another mattress for her that might be softer. Unfortunately this would not have solved all of the other problems.
When she made the complaint to Olotels, the hotel switched her to another single room that was minimally better. The only nice thing about the hotel was having breakfast at the cafe on the water. I'm not certain why there are so many different conflicting reports on this hotel. Possibly their rooms vary that much or are the single rooms the ones that are so awful? My Mother spoke with some other couples at the hotel and they said their rooms were just OK. The great location of the hotel did not make up for the hotel room, I am sorry to say. Also, although they said they had AC, you could not turn it on until June and the Wifi connection was absolutely awful. She had to sit in the lobby to get any kind of signal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashley72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#155 of 385 in Venice
2,064 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#108 of 385 in Venice
1,592 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#201 of 385 in Venice
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Amadeus Hotel
Amadeus Hotel
#172 of 385 in Venice
799 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#78 of 385 in Venice
1,923 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#264 of 385 in Venice
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Venice

Property: Hotel Continental Venice
Address: Lista di Spagna | Cannaregio 166, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice. Situated in the heart of Cannaregio, this 4 star hotel is beautifully positioned in one of the most authentic parts of Venice, the Jewish Ghetto. Guests will have the pleasure of sleeping in a charming historic building which was once the former home of a noble Venetian family. After undergoing extensive renovations it is now one of the foremost 4 star hotels in Venice. Our enviable position makes exploring this unique city a dream. 93 Rooms Singles, couples, groups and business travellers can choose from a variety of single, double and triple rooms. We offer unusually large rooms in Venice and many of our guestrooms have outstanding views of the Grand Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing