We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental Venice
Ranked #162 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Great location, small room, clean, 3* room, good service, friendly staff.
Manjana :-)
Forgot my glasses in the room. Called and emailed. Called and emailed again - girl on the phone promised to anwser. No anwser for a week. Glasses were nice :-(

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

For travellers arriving by rail, this is an excellent location, only 200m from the station and easy to find. Highlight is undoubtedly the possibility of eating breakfast right on the Grand Canal, the world sweeps by you as you sit there. Do not leave your breakfast unattended for one instant, or the pigeons or seagulls will grab it!!The breakfast itself was only average. The room was sufficiently large, quiet at night apart from a ventilator outside. The price was exorbitant ... but that is Venice in season, you have to take it or leave it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in April and enjoyed the stay. The hotel is decorated in an older style. Rooms are large, clean and well appointed and quiet at night despite the large foot traffic making it's way past. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to the train station but is a bit of a walk away from St.Marks Square giving the opportunity to take in the many twists and turns of the footpaths. Breakfast is substantial and vast. The pillows were very, very flat with no spares in the room as we had to ask for additional ones which we were given very promptly. Overall a good experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ale89andre95, Direttore at Hotel Continental Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest
thank you for your positive comments. For us they are the best reward for the efforts we make every day to meet the satisfaction of our customers.
See you soon.
Sincerely.
G.Negro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

You reach a late evening , Easter weekend in Venice ... You rely on the travel booth lady to secure a night stay in a notorious Italian tourist city brimming with crowd.. She has only 2 places to offer...a Hobson's choice .. A 2 star overpriced hotel in a distant island and this cleverly named old building ... Hotel continental ... 4 star without elevators ! ( why not pretend to be Green by climbing 6 flights of stairs )!
You are ushered into an old looking shabby room with no air conditioner or a room heater... You open the windows for some fresh air ....
A tired man sleeps well and you get ready in the morning for that promised sumptuous American breakfast !
The fare is very limited and ordinary.. Omelettes are for purchase at €10 per order ...
And you are close to their check out time!
Can't blame unsuspecting tourists who have not done their homework being misguided by an Italian lady for obvious favours.

Room Tip: Better do your home work by reading a few reviews in Trip advisor ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drbhatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ale89andre95, Direttore at Hotel Continental Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

I'm sorry to read your words, but I find you review offensive and very subjective. You stayed in a building of the fifteenth century. Staying in Venice and expect to have the same characteristics of a hotel in New York or New Delhi means not having understood nothing of Venice. Besides, you paid 200 euro for a room during Easter, a period when for a 4 star hotel the prices are much higher (e.g. the rack rate of the our hotel is 500 euros). Concerning the breakfast we offer to all customers scrambled eggs: no wonder that an omelette à la carte will cost 10 euro means not being accustomed to staying in 4 star hotels. I repeat: I am sorry that your stay at the Continental doesn't meet your expectations but I reject your comments that are inconsistent with reality.
G.Negro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

super location, very nice and clean hotel, very courteous and helpful employees, extraordinary view if you have a room to the canal, WI-FI super (we used used the hotel laptop), breakfast buffet average but a great view if you eat on the canal terrasse, you can feel at home when you get tired of the sightseeing and all the tourists outside. Great value for your money. Great place to spend a short vacation in Venice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ale89andre95, Direttore at Hotel Continental Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm the Hotel Manager, my name is Giancarlo Negro.
Thank you for your time in leaving a review about your stay at the Continental Hotel in Venice.
Your kind words will help me to continue our efforts to improve our standards of service.
Kind regards.
G.Negro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel although only a couple of minutes walk from the station is really quite expensive. I was not allowed to cancel my booking when I realised just how expensive it was. Despite that I did enjoy the food and music at the restaurant. The shower is so small you can hardly move in it without bumping the tap and causing third degree burns. The best thing was the location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ale89andre95, Direttore at Hotel Continental Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your time in leaving comments about your stay in our Hotel.
Your appreciation helps me to continue our efforts focused to improve the standards of service.
Kind regards.
G.Negro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our bus tour company booked us here as an upgrade (rather than being on the mainland). We very much enjoyed our stay, room was actually the largest we had during our week long travel through Italy, and even more surprising was the large bathroom. Our room had a window with a slight canal view, certainly worth asking for one with a full canal view. Location is terrific, 1 minute walk to the water bus stop, and right out front is a walking path with great shops and food spots. Its about a 30 minute walk to St. Mark's square, but take your time, its a lovely walk. Only had breakfast here, but it was fulfilling for sure.

Room Tip: ask for canal view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 115steved115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ale89andre95, Direttore at Hotel Continental Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kindness.
Your words of appreciation will help me to continue my duty focused to improve our standards of service.
Kind regards.
G.Negro
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#154 of 385 in Venice
2,159 reviews
Cannaregio
Amadeus Hotel
Amadeus Hotel
#176 of 385 in Venice
836 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#111 of 385 in Venice
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Cannaregio
Venice Times Hotel
Venice Times Hotel
#97 of 385 in Venice
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Venice

Address: Lista di Spagna | Cannaregio 166, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £164 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice Welcome to the Hotel Continental Venice. Situated in the heart of Cannaregio, this 4 star hotel is beautifully positioned in one of the most authentic parts of Venice, the Jewish Ghetto. Guests will have the pleasure of sleeping in a charming historic building which was once the former home of a noble Venetian family. After undergoing extensive renovations it is now one of the foremost 4 star hotels in Venice. Our enviable position makes exploring this unique city a dream. 93 Rooms Singles, couples, groups and business travellers can choose from a variety of single, double and triple rooms. We offer unusually large rooms in Venice and many of our guestrooms have outstanding views of the Grand Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Continental Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing