We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in the heart of Venice”
Review of Hotel San Zulian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Zulian
Ranked #253 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A basic hotel in the heart of Venice about a 3 minute walk to San Marco square. The rooms are decorated in traditional Venetian style a bit chintzy but we took off all the bed covers and it was more to our style.
The bathroom was new and modern. Clean white towels and white bedding, soaps etc.

The hotel staff were friendly if perhaps a little tired of fussy customers.
Breakfast was traditional continental style not a huge selection but adequate, remember in Italy lunch is the important meal of the day not breakfast.

Room Tip: We had a back room and it was so quiet. We all slept late each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elisabetta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Not the warmest of welcomes but the room for 3 did the job. Breakfast was good but the best part of the staying here was you were less then 5 minutes to Plazza San Marco and all the wonderful sights, sounds and activity of Venice! Down the narrow streets filled with interesting shops, restaurants and interesting people. 10 minute walk to the boat to the airport. It was great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelertampa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were located in room 302 for 3 nights. The room was rather small with a small bathroom. The furnishings were basic and adequate. The hotel location near St. Marks Square is ideal and convenient to many of the Venice attractions. Bed was comfortable and the breakfast was adequate. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 302 is just down the hall from the elevator at he end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We were originally put in room 305 (just as previous reviewer). You take an elevator to the 3rd floor, which is really the 4th floor, then take a narrow flight of steep stairs to get to the 300 # rooms, except for room 305, which requires an additional flight of very narrow, steep stairs (5th floor). And watch your head!! Porter service is not available and staff not willing… you're on your own getting luggage up steep narrow stairways. Then you enter the room which is as hot as a steam room. Complaints to the staff yielded the following response "Europeans don't like their rooms air conditioned". Well, we're not Europeans, and I don't know anyone, European or otherwise, who likes to sleep in a room in excess of 85 F. Also, the shower stall is so small, an average sized male would not be able to pick up a bar of soap if dropped. We moved to another room on the ground floor. It was cooler, but still small and cramped. TV reception was poor (rabbit-ear-like reception) and offered only 6 or 7 channels. Breakfast choices were limited and not particularly appealing. Day staff was somewhat aloof, but courteous. Location of hotel, however, was very nice… a 2 minute walk or less to Piazza San Marco. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank circ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days in June
We were first located in room 305.
Be prepared to take your cases up the steepest narrow stairs with no help from the staff.
Room was very small with bathroom squeezed in under the roof.
Staff very unfriendly.
Breakfast was very poor standard and very little to offer.
We then moved to room 301 which is slightly larger but still located on the 3rd floor.
We were offered no help on check out and management could not care.


Stayed: June 2014
Thank Christopherpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is just off St Marco Square and so very convenient. Clean old building that has been recently refurbished. It is pretty stark though with a few leather bucket chairs at reception and a small room used to serve ( continental) breakfast. Our room was large but dark and rather miserable. Flat screen TV. Large wet room with - curiously - three shower heads ( couldn't work that out). No outside space. Desperately needed to see the sky or the amazing canal/sea views of Venice and so we didn't want to spend any time in the hotel. It seemed an efficient place and had 24 hour reception which was reassuring.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APP81067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my mums 60th birthday and it was incredible. As well as Venice being possibly the most idyllic place on earth this hotel was in the centre of it all. A stones throw from S.marco and in amongst all the shops and restaurants. The hotel itself was very clean, rooms were comfy (especially when we worked out how to turn the heating on!). Breakfast was a little crammed in but the food was what you would expect for the price. We would definitely come back!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Atoosa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#271 of 385 in Venice
390 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#329 of 385 in Venice
362 reviews
San Marco
Antico Panada
Antico Panada
#307 of 385 in Venice
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#182 of 385 in Venice
667 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#213 of 385 in Venice
385 reviews
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#208 of 385 in Venice
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Zulian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Zulian

Address: San Marco 527, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £32 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Zulian 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Zulian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Zulian Hotel
San Zulian Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing