We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok stay”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #121 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

the hotel is in a good location, right next to the rialto bridge
u cant get lost with the location. but i got a room in the annexe, the way to which looked scary. the rooms had an antique decoration. the breakfast was only average.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank familygirldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Right on the Grand Canal and next to the Ponto Rialto, it's Venice Central which has it's advantages (step right onto a vaparetto, water taxi or gondola, everywhere is reachable on foot) and it's disadvantages (crowds).

Rooms are cozy (2 people and luggage will fill it up) and old school - which is what is to be expected in Venice. Shutting the windows shuts out all noise but air con can be wheezy.

Smallish terrace at one end which is great if there,s not to many people up there. Great views over the Canal and enjoyable spot to relax with a bottle of chianti. BYO.

It's position is it's best point.

http://www.barryturnerontour.com/Barry%20Turner%20Head%20Office%20Tour/Italy%20page.html

Room Tip: Rooms closest to reception ....long labyrinthine hallways would be a pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryTurnerOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at The Rialto. I really wanted the canal view which was great, a real glimpse into the workings of this incredible city.
The front desk and other staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel much, preferring to buy fruits in season at the nearby market, but it was standard and could be eaten on the terrace overlooking the canal.
There is a panoramic terrace to sit out on as well, which I didn't discover until my last day, but most of my time was spent was spent walking around the city, where I always felt safe.

Expect stairs, expect vintage decor
Expect a little noise, you're at the very heart of a living, breathing medieval city. Enjoy.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lifesrichtapestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I was bullied into booking this hotel by my 10 year old daughter who wanted a view of the Grand Canal. We paid an absolute fortune for the room - 1200 Euro for 4 nights, more than most 5 star hotels, and I was a bit disappointed with the room, quite small, long and narrow and the overpowering decor. It was clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was welcome, but the window overlooking the canal was quite small and tucked into the corner, so it wasn't easy viewing, but we did enjoy watching all the activity on the street and waterway below. I felt some of the desk staff were a little aloof, but maybe that's just the Italian way. When I asked for information, they gave it willingly. What was most surprising was that for the price there was no hospitality tray in the room, no kettle etc... maybe again that's generally the case in Italy. I wouldn't stay again for that price - not worth it - for that price there should be something more than just a room with a bed, and had my daughter not seen it and begged me to book it, I would have looked for something else. The location was great, very convenient for walking and getting the water busses - and being by the Rialto Bridge, everywhere you go you will see signs for 'Rialo' which will always get you back home!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked 5 rooms for family and friends for an overnight stay prior to our cruise departing from Venice. The location was perfect, the rooms beautiful, the staff very accomodating, and the view amazing. Also, as others have mentioned, even though it is in the heart of everything in Venice noise at night was not a problem. Everyone really enjoyed their brief stay at the Hotel Rialto and would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MKMOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Its was definitely worth spending a few extra dollars to stay here. It is located at one of the main Water bus stops, so easy to get to from the train station, easy to get to from anywhere.. The last thing you need is to be wandering the streets looking for your hotel.

The view of the Rialto Bridge was amazing from our room. The hotel was very clean and staff very friendly. The Rialto Hotel is in a perfect location to access restaurants, souvenier shops and other tourist attractions. It was only a short walk to the Square.

Room Tip: Room with a view...if you can...its amazing looking out your window and seeing the Rialto Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

As always, I did a lot of research prior to booking Hotel Rialto. I selected this hotel due to the LOCATION: Right next to Rialto Bridge (easy to find rally-point if you get lost, family separated or something happens); We wanted to be on the Grand Canal and watch the activity from our window; There is a Vaporetto (public transportation "water bus") stop right in front of the hotel; Close walking distance to major Venice sites (less than 10 minute walk to St. Mark's Square, Basilica, Palazzo Ducale [Doge's Palace], Bridge of Sighs); Lots of great restaurants in the area.

The price was comparable to other Grand Canal view hotels in the same 'class.' Space is a premium in Venice and buildings are old, so expect to pay more for what an American might consider a 3 Star hotel. If you want less expensive, move away from the Grand Canal and attractions. I had no issues with our stay: the suite (#127) was clean, quiet and comfortable (decorated in 18th century style); the staff was friendly; the location was a great as I expected. I'd open the double windows in the morning and watch the hustle & bustle while sipping coffee; we were never disturbed by noise during our stay thanks to the thick windows. A good hotel in a great spot!

Room Tip: If possible, get a suite overlooking the canal- this will be once in a lifetime for most people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JT_Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,934 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#79 of 387 in Venice
1,918 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 387 in Venice
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 387 in Venice
2,500 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £87 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rialto 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre, overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Picture yourself sitting at your junior suite window gazing out at the Rialto Bridge, probably the most famous landmark in Venice. Below, a steady stream of gondolas and boats make their way along the Grand Canal and the water-buses stop a few paces away so that the whole of Venice is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rialto Venezia Hotel
Hotel Rialto Venice
Rialto Venezia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing