We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #124 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I used Venezia as a stop over before another destination so didn't have too much time in the City. I wanted a hotel that was centrally located so I didnt have to spend time commuting to and from the city centre. This hotel was perfect for that. You can walk to all major sights and the water taxi stop is steps away from the hotel which makes it very easy to get to and from the airport. The included breakfast is a nice perk. Hotel is very safe and clean. After searching for hotels in that area, this one was also the most reasonably priced. I would recommend this hotel if travelling to Venezia.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    816
    333
    153
    116
See reviews for
354
1,272
56
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

If you get the room with the balcony that we had overlooking the Rialto bridge and canal you will not regret it. Continental breakfast is pretty average. The hotel is a bit if a maze but then how often do you stay in a hotel that Canaletto painted. Not modern but comfortable and well worth the spend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I made reservations at the Hotel Rialto on Aug.8th 2014 on the bookings.com website. I chose the website because of the free cancellation & no deposit policies. The Hotel Rialto charged my mastercard a whopping $2185.96. deposit. I realized this 3 days later when I received my statement. The confirmation e-mail I received from bookings.com looked like everything was ok, until I looked closer at the 1 of the 3 rooms I booked at the hotel.

What reputable hotel does not allow you to cancel a reservation that was made 9 months in advance.

If you do cancel, you forfeit your deposit. I don't know about you, but 2185.00 is a lot of money.

I made 23 reservations on bookings.com without any problems. All except this one at the Hotel Rialto. I had spent 6 hours reviewing hotels and amenities, reading reviews and trying to make the best decisions for the 3 couples who are traveling together. I made multiple reservations in each city to give the group a voice in where we would stay. I would never select a room that did not allow a cancellation.

I asked bookings.com to assist me in the matter. They asked the Hotel Rialto to allow me to cancel and they declined. I have disputed the charge with Mastercard and they are reviewing the details. I hope that Mastercard will stand firm and not allow them to take 2185.96 from me.

I am a well traveled person and this is the first time I have encountered an establishment who operates a business like this.

The location might be great, but the policies are not.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indygal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Location great for walking to all attractions. Our junior suite was decorated in the Venetian Style with fabric wall covering and Murano chandelier , very sumptuous , and being at the rear of the hotel was away from the hustle and bustle of the main entrance. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The location of the hotel is right off the Rialto Bridge which i find it great. We were there Aug 2014 Euros Summer holidays and it was very very very busy right outside the hotel door step . The water taxi from airport or station will take u abt 500m to the hotel door, ppl travelling with big luggages and kids like we did are better off having a porter with trolly to get it all there (steps,and ppl). We had a Junior Suite..the room was small and dated with that said its Venice everything is old as it should.. I wouldnt called our room a Suite, its more of a standard room with double bed and sofa bed. The Free wireless internet was a joke and we were not even on the high level..best place for the internet was at the toilet where there is a window facing to the lobby..Overall the location was its only selling point not the room or anything else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed recently and were disappointed. Our room , in the 500 number range was out of the actual hotel down a back alley accessed via a door adjacent to the restaurant. The room was super small but we have come used to that in Europe. We did struggle to move around our two average size suitcases. We had to climb 33 steps every time we came in or out & that became very taxing after a while. Our air con did not work at all & the small room became very hot. On a positive, the bathroom was a good size, modern & clean.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is a bit outdated but rooms are spacious and bed is comfortable. The main reason we stayed here is because it has a very easy access from the airport. You just take the alilaguna boat and the stop is right outside the hotel, so no need to walk over the bridges or small alleys of venice with all your luggage. Breakfast was very good as well as service. We bought tickets at the reception for a nice concert. And there is also a gondola station right outside the hotel. I was a bit disappointed about the bridge itself, I went to Venice a couple of years back and it was in much better shape.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors, less noise from the street, grand canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,792 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,984 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 385 in Venice
976 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: San Marco 5149 | Riva del Ferro/Ponte di Rialto, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#137 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rialto 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre, overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Picture yourself sitting at your junior suite window gazing out at the Rialto Bridge, probably the most famous landmark in Venice. Below, a steady stream of gondolas and boats make their way along the Grand Canal and the water-buses stop a few paces away so that the whole of Venice is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rialto Venezia Hotel
Hotel Rialto Venice
Rialto Venezia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing