We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but certainly not cheerful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Da Giorgio

Ristorante Pizzeria Da Giorgio
Ranked #1,195 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Cannaregio
Hollywood UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Cheap but certainly not cheerful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Mediocre food and appalling service. Once we had been ‘hooked’ and charmed by the waiter touting for business outside the restaurant everything went downhill. In hindsight should have walked away at this time!

The staff seemed more focussed on enticing new customers than serving already seated patrons. Food took an age to arrive and was poor both in quality and size of portions

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhitlocksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    43
    55
    46
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not honest”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

They fool tou with the 3 plates menu: one soup one piece of meat and one salad / fries... That's not 3 plates where I come from

Helpful?
Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beware-Do No Dine here-better places nearby!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had the misfortune and it cost us a small fortune to dine here during a recent three-night break in Venice. Having stopped off for bottle of wine outside the restaurant en route back to our hotel the evening before, we were met by the same guy the next evening on passing by....food seemed reasonably priced - but that's the catch!

We had opted to share a starter and share a dessert because we were just peckish. Well, this is where the fun started....(I'm being sardonic and sarcastic when I say 'fun'!) The original choice of smoke salmon bruchetta was 'gone' so we opted for a cocktail shrimp salad which basically were a handful of chilled prawns on plate covered in their version of marie rose sauce and poorly presented surrounded by a few cucumber slices....tasteless....but the best part was a second starter arriving - not ordered - and then they let on that the waiter misunderstood. Nope...they were trying to get as much money as possible. So, when 2nd starter was returned the atmosphere changed and the waiter who was flirting big time and heaping on compliments turned sour...he must have got his knuckles wrapped by the boss!
The mains ordered were beef fillet (ordered medium but this was under cooked and cold) with pathetic side salad, spinach and fries were mediocre and my sister had the beef in truffle and mushroom sauce - it looked awful ...but when raking away the tonne of sauce, she did say it was tasty. When I complained about my main, I was offered a lemonchello or a coffee!!

Needless to say we didn't have dessert.....we complained again on being presented with a bill for a whopping €84.....one starter, two mains, two sides and a bottle of wine and bottle of water! Rip off merchants.....who told us that they would not refund any of the money for my main dish. They let on that there was a lot of misunderstanding and we should have told them what we wanted at the start. Much nicer restaurants nearby and staff don't try to rip you off. BEWARE of these cowboys.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace-Heno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Met at the door by front of house. Very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Asked our language then explained menu in full. We chose the set menu at €11 each for 3 dishes. This was starter, main and side dish.
Husband had spaghetti and clams and I had penne salmon. Nice dishes, only downside was salmon sauce was quite gritty and some clams were empty!
Husband had grilled pork chop/fries and I had salmon/fries. Chop cooked to perfection! Salmon was griddles/fried and had crispy top which gave it good texture. Needed quite bit of seasoning and would have been very good had it had a marinade!!
We chose to have desert of creme brulee and lemon torte. Both were tasty, fresh and not massed produced!
We also had 1/2 carafe of wine and litre beer, plus a brandy. The whole bill was €65..which for 3 courses plus wine and brands is very reasonable! Oh and the complimentary Limoncello is a perfect ending. On the whole we will be returning. Service was friendly and atmosphere relaxing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“wouldnt bother there are plenty of restuarants in venice...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We where hopefully expectant as the lad on the door promised us a good deal...

We went for the tourist menu at 12euros this includes service but not a cover sharge of 1.5o euros pp..

Lad promised us bread - we didn't get this...

The waiter who served us smelt sweaty - not a good start.

We ordered pastas to start with which was ok...

I then had the salmon - when I found it under the lemon slice it was ok.

Husband had chicken leg... very small chicken....

salad for him and chips for me - we shared..

We had a couple of beers and 1ltr wine and water..

I also went for dessert - I was still hungry! ! again standard mass produced .. but ok

Service wasn't attentive and it seemed as soon as we had sat down and ordered we where forgotten about.

We spent 64.50Euros

Good location - and you can eat outside - but the attitude and smell put me off - wouldn't recommend... there are plenty of other restaurant's to chose from...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maudie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Da Giorgio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Da Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing