We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English subtitles!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teatro La Fenice

Teatro La Fenice
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.98*
and up
Teatro La Fenice Tour in Venice
Ranked #6 of 588 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world famous opera house, burned to the ground in 1996, has been rebuilt amongst much scandal and drama: its modern beauty and complex history ensure its place among the most celebrated monuments in Italian history.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“English subtitles!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I went to see La Boheme with my 20-year old daughter in May. The theater is a spectacular opera house, to rival any in Europe. We studied the libretto in advance and were thrilled to find that there were English subtitles above the stage. Everything about the production was amazing - singers, acoustics, and stage design. I should also point out that the theater is very easy to find, which we were delighted by, since we got lost trying to find anything else. I highly recommend an evening at the Teatro La Fenice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,327
    608
    116
    40
    36
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Beautiful theatre, we were in a box, 4 seats 50 euros each for the front 2 seats and 10 and 5 Euros for the next seats behind. The view was great . small theatre so we could see the whole 70 piece Philharmonic orchestra. Perfect!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moodygeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Opera”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Saw a really excellent performance of Boheme, very good singers (that I as an opera fan have never heard of), good orchestra and conducting and imaginative, good production. The downside was that besides having the most expensive opera tickets I ever paid for (over 200 Euros) the Fenice has seats that I could not fit into. The chairs are plush and luxurious but the spacing (main floor) is such that I, a normal 6 ft. 2 inch male,had to put my legs in front of the neighbor to be able to sit down. To avoid this I went to the side of the auditorium where they had single seats against the wall and I could have room for my legs.
So I rate the performance very good, but the seating good only for those 5 ft. 6 inches or less. I will not be back to the Fenice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredi728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Madame Butterfly at La Fenice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

A delightful experience even though I have seen the opera many times all over the world, but still special to hear Puccini's glorious music in this lovely old theatre.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jojolovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Old Opera House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were a little reluctant to book a show because we knew we wouldn't understand what was going on but we did book a show and were pleasantly surprised. They put English above the stage, which was easy to read, so you could follow the opera which made it very enjoyable. The old opera house is beautiful.
Make sure you book your tickets directly with the opera house or you will pay a surcharge of about 70 Euros. Try asking your hotel for tickets far in advance and ask if there is a surcharge. The opera house is certainly worth the visit and the money.
Note: make sure you book inside the opera house and not in an outdoor theatre which is cheaper.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HMBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teatro La Fenice also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Teatro La Fenice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing