We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breathtaking performance of Vivaldi's Four Seasons”

Ateneo di San Basso
Ranked #157 of 800 things to do in Venice
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The church of Ateneo of San Basso was built in 1076 in honor of San Basso and is one of the oldest churches in Venice. After the fires of 1105 and 1661 the church was built again. The simple elegance and classic admired today is probably attributable to Baldassarre Longhena, who worked at the time at the Basilica of San Marco. In the XIX century the church was robbed of its altar and its decorations and in the years to come was first sold to a private and later transformed into a laboratory for marbles and sculptures. In the fifties of the '900 the building was rebuilt and adapted to the conference room. The Ateneo of San Basso is now deconsecrated former church located in the heart of Venice, Piazzetta dei Leoncini, to the left of the Basilica of San Marco. Since its reopening in 2002 is considered one of the most important cultural centers of the city.
Reviewed 6 February 2014

By far, the best thing to do when in Venice is to attend a performance of Vivaldi at the Ateneo di San Basso. Located across from the magnificent Basilica of St. Marks, the dimly lit, humble and simple chapel is a truly magical venue to attend such a performance. The Virtuosi di Venezia was an incredibly accomplished group of musicians who gave such an amazingly chilling performance. Please be sure to take in the SOUNDS of Venice; the birthplace of Vivaldi. Resplendent.

8  Thank Staci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MusicaeMusica, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ateneo di San Basso, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014
Google Translation

Gentili Ospiti,
Vi ringraziamo per la valutazione del nostro spettacolo e siamo contenti che Vi sia piaciuto. Purtroppo questo giudizio è stato pubblicato sulla pagina della struttura che ospita i nostri spettacoli (ATENEO DI SAN BASSO) e non sulla nostra pagina personale VIRTUOSI DI VENEZIA. Ci sarebbe di grande aiuto se poteste riscrivere o trasferire il commento direttamente sulla nostra pagina VIRTUOSI DI VENEZIA!!!
GRAZIE!! Cordiali saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We attended the concert on an atmospheric and rainy night.
It was an outstanding evening, including a memorable performance by the maestro violinist.
Not to be missed.

Michael, Nottingham.

3  Thank mjcrolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MusicaeMusica, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ateneo di San Basso, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014
Google Translation

Gentili Ospiti,
Vi ringraziamo per la valutazione del nostro spettacolo e siamo contenti che Vi sia piaciuto. Purtroppo questo giudizio è stato pubblicato sulla pagina della struttura che ospita i nostri spettacoli (ATENEO DI SAN BASSO) e non sulla nostra pagina personale VIRTUOSI DI VENEZIA. Ci sarebbe di grande aiuto se poteste riscrivere o trasferire il commento direttamente sulla nostra pagina VIRTUOSI DI VENEZIA!!!
GRAZIE!! Cordiali saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We wanted to see a concert while in Venice and there are plenty to choose from -all seem to be similar in price and all include something by Vivaldi! We made our choice based purely on location and the date working for us while we were there. We went to the Vivaldi and opera concert which offered more variety (perfect if you enjoy classical music but aren't an expert so like a healthy mix of ones you recognise!) The performance was great - a small chamber orchestra, a tenor and a soprano, all of whom looked like they thoroughly enjoyed performing which for me adds to the enjoyment of the audience. The location is great, on St Mark's Square almost at the foot of the Basilica so we were able to get some beautiful night time pictures of the square almost deserted after the concert.

5  Thank TravelGirl1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MusicaeMusica, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ateneo di San Basso, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014
Google Translation

Gentili Ospiti,
Vi ringraziamo per la valutazione del nostro spettacolo e siamo contenti che Vi sia piaciuto. Purtroppo questo giudizio è stato pubblicato sulla pagina della struttura che ospita i nostri spettacoli (ATENEO DI SAN BASSO) e non sulla nostra pagina personale VIRTUOSI DI VENEZIA. Ci sarebbe di grande aiuto se poteste riscrivere o trasferire il commento direttamente sulla nostra pagina VIRTUOSI DI VENEZIA!!!
GRAZIE!! Cordiali saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Booked the tickets on-line beforehand for 25 euro each, and had no problems at all. The event is held in an old church, just across from the Basilica. This is also used during the day to store bags for visitors to the Basilica. OK, the chairs are only of the fold up variety, but I'm 6' 4" and as the concert lasts for just over an hour I did not feel uncomfortable at all. In fact the music was so captivating, I thought of nothing but pleasant thoughts! I'm very glad we took in this concert, and recommend it, as a way of capturing the magic that is Venice. If you are a music lover, this is a must do and good value for the price.

5  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

the chairs were utmost uncomfortable camp chairs, and people sitting so close to each other, so tight.. claustrofobic..

7  Thank IrinaN111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ateneo di San Basso also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ateneo di San Basso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing