We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Legendary Venice"”
Review of Walks of Italy

Walks of Italy
Book In Advance
More Info
US$73.69*
and up
Legendary Venice St. Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace
Ranked #11 of 169 Tours in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walks of Italy offers one-of-a-kind experiences in Venice, both on land AND on the water! As featured in Rick Steves' guidebooks. Day trips, activities & guided tours in Italy's greatest destinations. Our tours are truly small group (maximum 12) or private, giving you the maximum choice and flexibility for all budgets. Discounts offered for seniors, students & children, so bring the whole family! Unlike other companies, Walks of Italy secures EXCLUSIVE access to sites across Italy, unlocking hidden gems like the private suburban baths in Pompeii, Doge's Secret Passages in Venice, a private Renaissance palace in Florence, the Colosseum's underground & top tier in Rome, and even VIP access to the Sistine Chapel in Vatican City—just to name a few! All our guides are hand-picked, English-fluent passionate experts in their local regions. Our company is committed to the principles of sustainability in travel, providing carbon offsets for transfers, patronizing local artisans and farmers, and bringing you off the beaten path away from tourist crowds whenever possible. Walk with us, and fill your vacation with unforgettable experiences that will last a lifetime!
Emory, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Legendary Venice"”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was our 2nd tour with Walks of Italy, the 1st being the Vatican. Again, we were not disappointed. It was wonderful skipping the long lines and getting right into St. Marks Basilica and Doge's Palace, being in a small group where we could easily see and hear our guide with out the use of ear pieces and feeling as though we were being herded like sheep. Our guide Marina was wonderful, knowledgeable and great to be with. I recommend this to anyone, especially those with a strong interest in architecture! However, be aware it is strenuous due to the stairs, elevators are not available, Venice is not for the handicapped.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 041473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    31
    4
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good tour but information overload”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Marco gave us a good tour- Legendary Venice, St. Mark's Basilica & The Doge's Palace. But sometimes way to much info without taking a breath while he was speaking. He also pointed out where we could see glass blowing right off of St Mark's Square. Be sure to ask him about a free glass blowing tour next to St. Mark's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Legendary Venice - St. Mark's Basilica & The Doge's Palace”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This tour was very good. Our tour guide, Francesca, was wonderful and very informative. I really enjoyed the small group size. St. Marks Basilica was beautiful and the Doge's Palace was fascinating. I would recommend this tour to others

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank StaceyM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small group and great guide”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

"We took 3 Walks of Italy tours while in Rome, Florence and Venice and each was a great experience. The guides were thorough and friendly and welcomed our questions. In Rome, we had the VIP Access Colosseum Underground, Arena & Forum tour but some rain caused the Underground and 3rd tier portions to be cancelled and refunded. Our guide Fernando was an archeologist and he showed us his own finds on the Palantine Hill! His passion about the preservation of Rome is evident and we enjoyed his tour! In Florence, we took the Best of Florence City Stroll, David & Duomo Underground. Elvira was awesome, even if some tour members took photos of Davd when they weren't supposed to! This tour covers the city from David to the Rialto Bridge and was worth every hour! In Venice, we took the VIP Boat Excursion with Karen and it was awesome. Just being in the private boat was worth the price as we cruised along the canals passing crowded tour craft and vaporettos. She also told of of an awesome secret spot for drinks and views that was not crowded and NOT in any Rick Steves book! We loved it and appreciated Karen telling us about it, even if she asked us not to tell you the name of the place!"

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelMasterDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seward, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the Secret Passage Tour!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My mother and I recently visited Venice for the first time. I heard about the Secret Passages tour while doing research for the trip and I am so glad my mom and I went on this tour! Its the best tour we went on while visiting Venice! Our guide Marco was superb! I highly recommend him! He was funny, informative, engaging and everything a tour guide should be! The secret passages tour allows you to see places that are normally off limits to tourists, which is what intrigued me to make the reservation. This was a great experience and I recommend it to everyone!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6MichelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walks of Italy also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Walks of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing