We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food tour in Venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walks of Italy

Walks of Italy
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.36*
and up
Legendary Venice St. Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace
Ranked #11 of 153 Tours in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walks of Italy offers one-of-a-kind experiences in Venice, both on land AND on the water! As featured in Rick Steves' guidebooks. Day trips, activities & guided tours in Italy's greatest destinations. Our tours are truly small group (maximum 12) or private, giving you the maximum choice and flexibility for all budgets. Discounts offered for seniors, students & children, so bring the whole family! Unlike other companies, Walks of Italy secures EXCLUSIVE access to sites across Italy, unlocking hidden gems like the private suburban baths in Pompeii, Doge's Secret Passages in Venice, a private Renaissance palace in Florence, the Colosseum's underground & top tier in Rome, and even VIP access to the Sistine Chapel in Vatican City—just to name a few! All our guides are hand-picked, English-fluent passionate experts in their local regions. Our company is committed to the principles of sustainability in travel, providing carbon offsets for transfers, patronizing local artisans and farmers, and bringing you off the beaten path away from tourist crowds whenever possible. Walk with us, and fill your vacation with unforgettable experiences that will last a lifetime!
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food tour in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We met our guide, Cristina, near the Rialto Fish Market. She was very engaging, friendly and likable. We had a wonderful food and wine tour which lasted from late morning to early afternoon. Cristina was full of anecdotes and introduced us to the chichetti bars, how to order etc. and this served us well for our remaining time in Venice. We also toured the Rialto Fish Market. Cristina was an exceptional guide and our tour was one of the high points of our 2 weeks in beautiful Venice!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rodfuiten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    24
    3
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Venice. Cristina, our tour guide, could not have been better. She went above and beyond to ensure that we were well informed and we had a great time with her. I highly recommend this tour company and you should request Cristina.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dlsmith02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LEGENDARY VENICE - ST. MARK'S BASILICA & THE DOGE'S PALACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Mose' was a delightful guide. He was very knowledgeable of the history, art, and architecture that are included on the tour. He is a very personable individual and it was very interesting to chat with him about life in modern day Venice.
The Basilica and the Palace are absolutely gorgeous. It was nice to be able to use our group admission to skip the long entry lines. The tour length was just about perfect: enough time to view all the sights. Mose' also made sure we had enough time to take photos. We highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KZBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emory, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Legendary Venice"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was our 2nd tour with Walks of Italy, the 1st being the Vatican. Again, we were not disappointed. It was wonderful skipping the long lines and getting right into St. Marks Basilica and Doge's Palace, being in a small group where we could easily see and hear our guide with out the use of ear pieces and feeling as though we were being herded like sheep. Our guide Marina was wonderful, knowledgeable and great to be with. I recommend this to anyone, especially those with a strong interest in architecture! However, be aware it is strenuous due to the stairs, elevators are not available, Venice is not for the handicapped.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 041473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good tour but information overload”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Marco gave us a good tour- Legendary Venice, St. Mark's Basilica & The Doge's Palace. But sometimes way to much info without taking a breath while he was speaking. He also pointed out where we could see glass blowing right off of St Mark's Square. Be sure to ask him about a free glass blowing tour next to St. Mark's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walks of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Walks of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing