We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class tours!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walks of Italy

Walks of Italy
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.44*
and up
Legendary Venice St. Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace
Ranked #11 of 153 Tours in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walks of Italy offers one-of-a-kind experiences in Venice, both on land AND on the water! As featured in Rick Steves' guidebooks. Day trips, activities & guided tours in Italy's greatest destinations. Our tours are truly small group (maximum 12) or private, giving you the maximum choice and flexibility for all budgets. Discounts offered for seniors, students & children, so bring the whole family! Unlike other companies, Walks of Italy secures EXCLUSIVE access to sites across Italy, unlocking hidden gems like the private suburban baths in Pompeii, Doge's Secret Passages in Venice, a private Renaissance palace in Florence, the Colosseum's underground & top tier in Rome, and even VIP access to the Sistine Chapel in Vatican City—just to name a few! All our guides are hand-picked, English-fluent passionate experts in their local regions. Our company is committed to the principles of sustainability in travel, providing carbon offsets for transfers, patronizing local artisans and farmers, and bringing you off the beaten path away from tourist crowds whenever possible. Walk with us, and fill your vacation with unforgettable experiences that will last a lifetime!
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First class tours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

So glad we used this company for Rome tours of the Vatican and Colosseum. "Pristine Sistine" tour let us beat the crowds for an early look at the Sistine Chapel. Venice Walk with Gondola Ride was also extremely informative and a good value if you were planning a gondola ride. All three guides were very knowledgeable and pleasant, as well as spoke English very well!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanLouise55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    24
    3
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Walks of Italy- VIP Water Tour of Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

As Walks of Italy states in their ads: "Venice is meant to be seen from the water."
We took two excellent tours with Walks of Italy in Rome last year and decided to use them again in Venice. We were not disappointed.
Kristina, our guide was fantastic. She was professional, knowlegeable about the history and architecture of Venice. Kristina was also a great person to spend time with.
She pointed out the sights, important buildings and provided the history and significance of them as we passed through the canals.
It was exciting to roam through th "back streets" of Venice via a private water taxi.
We also saw the city from the top of the Basilica San Giorgio which was an unbelievable site.
After the tour Kristina spent time with us with suggestions of reasonalbe, non touristy restaurants and gelaterias that were close to our hotel.
This tour exceeded our expectations and it shouldn't be missed. Definitely one of the hightlights of our visit to Venice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlo301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Can't get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We used Walks of Italy for 3 tours on our trip, 1 full-day tour in Florence and 2 tours in Rome (1 full-day and 1 half-day). They could not have been better. I wish we had used them for all of our tours while in Italy. The others we used were good but Walks of Italy was by far the best. Matteo, Violet and Vincenzo were all fabulous guides. They were knowledgeable, personable, friendly and really enjoyed what they are doing and it shows. Don't bother looking anywhere else, use Walks of Italy. We will again when we go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Doge Palace and San Marco Basilica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have talked about my trip to Italy with a lot of my friends and family and recommended the Exclusive: VIP Alone in St. Mark’s Basilica After Hours tour. Much of this advice is largely due to touring with a small group with a tour guide named Mose. The Doge Palace and Basilica were amazing and it was very nice to be there after hours - a small group, with a very knowledgeable guide. Mose is well versed in the history, the architecture and art, the politics, the religion, the socio-economic, and the culture of the renaissance that led to the construction and use of the 2 structures. Further, he is personable and you feel as if you're on a field trip with your college instructor.

The pace is perfect - no rushing through, conversational tone, and just a perfect evening before heading off for dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, professional guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I went on the Alone in St. Mark’s & Doge’s Highlights tour with Walks of Italy. To be frank, the tour was not cheap but it's worth every cent - you don't get to have the whole St. Mark's Basilica to yourself every day! And they actually lit up the basilica for us so that we could look at the amazing mosaics more clearly and take better photos. Our guide was Mose and he was very knowledgeable. Apart from a detailed description of the Basilica and the Doge's Palace, Mose also gave us tips on food and travel within Venice - fantastic! If I must find fault with something about this tour, I think the visit to Doge's Palace could've been a little longer. But then I guess that we needed to accommodate the visit to the Basilica, so this wasn't at all a big problem. All in all a fascinating experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank eduardelacroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walks of Italy also viewed

 

Been to Walks of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing