We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous pastries and gelato.”
Review of Majer

Majer
Ranked #12 of 23 Bakeries in Venice
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: MAJER Venice, a single production in a single brand to a new concept: breakfast and coffee breaks, snack-appetizing, mini-lunch of local cuisine, with bakery products of the highest bakery and pastry, ice cream and wine, not to mention the quality and freshness of its products. A place open forever, where you can sample genuine and simple Italian dishes. A different way to eat and drink, available daily in many outlets of one of the most beautiful and famous in the world. Immersed in the striking colors of Venice, you will rediscover those relaxing moments, enjoying and tasting notes of ancient tradition. The handicrafts of: Ice cream, coffee, cappuccino and brioche, pastry, cakes, ice cream and chocolate, the ancient bakery products: cakes, plum-cake, Panettone, Pandoro, doves, pancakes and galani; product snack: pretzels, canapés, sandwiches, pizzas, sandwiches, sandwiches, burgers, stuffed arancini, quiches, savory strudel, savory crepes, quicke, of fine Italian wines and beverages. In the kitchen of the most classic and delicious starters and main courses: onighiri, obento, rice balls stuffed with rice and ham, lasagna with meat sauce, pasta with tuna, Mediterranean pasta, rice salads, seasonal salads, and products offered daily throughout the their freshness and genuineness in its stores scattered in the lagoon city. Guarantee of a brand Majer ... that refined taste daily since 1924!
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Located near a synagogue in the Jewish Ghetto is this modern cafe selling homemade pastries, gelato and their own wines. The gelato is all natural; no coloring added. A bottle of their own red wine is sold for €9 or more. Delicious and reasonable. Do not miss this place when you stroll into this area. We went there twice in two days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hisakyuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbnm, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Customer, Thank you so much for your appreciation, all the staff Majer law vs. the reviews and it was really grateful. We try to do our best, but when we are your compliments, then even the most difficult days, they become better, because we were successful to satisfy you. Thank you again and we are fine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

We visited this little bakery daily. It was round the corner from our apartment in Campo Santa Margherita & I cannot rate it highly enough! The best bread that we found in our 2 weeks in Italy, stuffed breads, sandwiches & cakes for picnics around Venice, pleasant staff. You must buy the stromboli (bread stuffed with spinach, cheese & ham)!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank rufuslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbnm, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majer, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Beloved, you do not know what joy among us to read your review. We have invested a great deal to improve as much as possible our bread, to start from the raw material (flour of Backaldrin), to the new methods of dough and more. This is a beautiful compliment for us. We are glad that you liked so much. A special thank you from all the staff Majer! ;-))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

very nice place in Venice close to the ghetto, clean with lot of good things and good quality coffe prepared right in the back of the shop.We brought back home some.Highly recomended!

Thank cornelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

So perfectly what we were looking for in Venice, shared a small beer only ?3 to sit outside and just watched the world go by, away from the crowds (thank goodness)!!

Thank Carly2686
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wbnm, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majer, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

It looks like a poetic your review, indeed does not seem ... it is! A review really original and cute, we all Majer we appreciated. Thank you very much and we are happy that you enjoyed. See you in September with the opening of the online showroom! Sincerely. ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was a recommendation that came up to expectations. An immaculate and varied counter display of ices, cakes and savoury snacks led to a casual eating area. The wall opposite the counter was lined with an impressive array of wines. Prosecco was only E1.20 a glass.
Because we came from a cruise ship we needed just a light snack so we only had cheese tarts (heated for us) and sandwiches. They were excellent quality. Next time we shall make sure to go to the Majer with an appetite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AnnFelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wbnm, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Majer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear hello, we are happy that you enjoyed our restaurant and our products, thank you very much on behalf of all the staff and we look forward Majer in case you decide to take a vacation in Venice. I forgot come visit us in our new online store can be visited on our website in September ... Thank you again! ;-))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Majer also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Majer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing