We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent great experience”

Venchi Chocolate Gelato
Ranked #10 of 83 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$11
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Description: A broad range of fine chocolates and artisan gelato flavours of the Italian tradition served in a refined setting with a retro chic style, located on one of Venice's renowned "calli". Our friendly and knowledgeable staff will assist in choosing the perfect treat or a tailored, stylish gift box to make all customers happy, whether they are locals, tourists, families with children.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistent great experience”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We came to this place as I had tried the same chain in Venice and the experience was consistent.. The gelato is flavourful and the severs are friendly. They explained what we did not understand and allowed us few tastes. I would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
2 Thank stnm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    97
    27
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ice Cream”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is the place to go for fabulous Italian ice cream. You won't be disappointed as taste is smooth can delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great chocolate gelato”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

After sampling the chocolate ice cream at a variety of places, we found this on our way to see San Marco. Wow! Other places had good texture and OK taste, but lacked the kind of intensity I was seeking. I found it here. Deep, intense bittersweet chocolate, and in 3 or 4 varieties--like the varietal chocolate bars that have become popular. One day I had Aztec, the next I had Amazonian. Both memorable chocolate experiences. My partner had some other flavor and loved it, but I was too focused on the chocolate to try anything else.

They give tastes, too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank turningfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Chocoholic heaven”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Lots of typical ice cream flavours in this shop and you won't be surprised to find it being one of the most popular gelatterias in town - busy from morning until night. Just don't expect to eat a full tea straight afterwards!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitre, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Now THIS is the best gelato in Venice!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We walked by this place a few times on our way to and from our apartment. I was so wrapped up in finding another place that was supposed to have the best gelato in Venice that we didn't try this one...at first. One night, after the opera, we happened by it again. It was really late but they were open. The two people working that night were so friendly and allowed my husband many free tastes. ;-)

The selection is unreal. So many choices. I had the Venchi cream flavor. Mind-blowingly good. If I lived near this place, I'd be testing my willpower every single time I walked by.

Suffice to say that if you love gelato and are in Venice, find this place. I promise you won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andalusion1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venchi Chocolate Gelato also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Venchi Chocolate Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing