We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely unexpected - few rooms in a palace, not really a hotel...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Dolce Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Dolce Venezia
Ranked #320 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
310 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Completely unexpected - few rooms in a palace, not really a hotel...”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Check-in in a different hotel - not a problem when you have hand luggage (thanks Ryanair). What we did not expect was to find that Casa Dolce is not even a hotel in a proper sense. It's a cleverly presented set of four rooms and a landing; the landing serves as a breakfast area. The rooms are rather spacious, which is expected from the 17th century palace, and kept in a pretty good condition. Plenty of knick-knacks, Murano glass in abundance, bags of storage space, but - the bed in our room (#3) was one of the hardest I ever slept on. There is also a slight issue of sewage smell - and no, it was not from the canal but from the bathroom. Early noises from breakfast preparations were not much of an issue, we were up by that time anyway. It was more disturbing to find that breakfast remains were still out on the tables by 1pm, not even milk and yogurts being put back in the fridge.
Positive note - the staff at San Luca are super friendly and helpful; remember to book your complementary boat trip to Murano with a visit to the glass factory.

Room Tip: Do go for a canal view room - much nicer than the courtyard view (which is still quite good, actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    19
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stared here for only one day but I wish we would have stayed here the whole time!! Our previous hotel was 5 euro cheaper but was much lower in quality.

First, a person came and picked us up from our previous hotel and brought us to Casa Dolca. When we walked into the hotel you could immediately notice a higher standard. You could smell how clean everything is and they had a label on the toilet saying that it was disinfected! Plenty enough of toiletries, a lot of open space in the room, and the most important, a SUPER COMFORTABLE bed!! Our last room's bed was like sleeping on a stone floor, but Casa Dolce has a memory foam mattress which was amazing. . . .

The only down side was that it was a little tricky to find. But that is like every hotel in Venice!!

For €91 it was an absolute great deal for Venice!!! If you are looking for a good bed, comfortable room, and breakfast in the morning! Then do not look any further, save yourself the time and book this room!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_O_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hassle of checking in San Luca was not really a deal breaker. Here's what I suggest to those of you travelling with huge luggage. If you're travelling with a companion to this hotel with big luggage, get off at San Marco. Walk to Campo Della Guerra 515, and not the address of Hotel San Luca. Leave your companion at the Casa Dolce's entrance. Bring passports of your companions. Walk to Hotel San Luca, and check-in. This way, you avoid all the killer stair bridges. If you're carrying small bags, then it's ok to go straight to Hotel San Luca to check-in. I made the mistake of going to San Luca with big luggage. Rungrung, a Chinese waitress (I think) at Hotel San Luca was kind enough to help us carry our luggage.

Room 1 is the one with the view of the canal. Room 2 is fronting a bridge. People would pass by, making it a little noisy if you keep the window open. We went during the tail-end of winter. A little noisy if you keep the windows open, and too hot if you close it. We just requested if they can turn down the heat a little.

Breakfast was the same on both days. Croissant, ham, cheese. The coffee machine outside our door will probably wake you up if you stay in Rooms 1 or 2. But it's okay. Breakfast starts around 8:30am, so it was also time to get up.

The location is wonderful! It was between Piazza San Marco & Rialto Bridge! With so many interesting stores and restaurants nearby! With a canal beside the hotel, it was a surprise that we didn't hear a single singing Gondolier. We were told that it's a pretty rare occurrence.

Two Filipinos working for the hotel kept our rooms pretty tidy! I failed to see them before we leaving to thank them personally.

Generally, I would still recommend this hotel even with the torture of carrying our bags through 3 bridges. :)

Room Tip: Room 1 is fronting the canal. Room 2 is fronting the bridge. Rooms 3 & 4 are at the rear portion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

As with all the other reviews the check in process was carried out at another hotel but we did not see this as a problem. The Hotel San Luca was literally a 3 minute walk from the Rialto Bridge where our water bus stop was. We easily found the hotel and even though we arrived at 1pm (an hour before check in at 2pm) we were checked in and escorted to Casa Dolce which was about 5-10mins walk. I can see why other reviewers might have found this a hassle in summer with the streets being very busy with people but to be honest it was not really a problem for us at this time of year. The hotel was set at the back of an old palace, the hotel manager informed us it was formerly the residence of a high ranking city official 1600 years ago. This was interesting to us and certainly added to the ambience of this Venetian palace.
The room was again decorated in a Ventian style although not too ornate and tacky. It had high ceilings and a huge colourful glass chandelier from the island of Murano. It was very clean and spacious as was the bathroom. We requested a balcony view which we got and for the most part it was quiet in the afternoons and evenings.
However the morning was a different story and this is where I highlight the imperfections. The breakfast room was situated outside our bedroom and consisted of three tables that were set up for each room. From about 8am we could hear a hotel staff member setting up the area and following this the first guests would arrive immediately for breakfast at 8.30am and we could hear everything from our room such as the noise of the coffee machine and clinking of cutlery on plates along with their chat. Also on the days that we were there it seemed to be bin collection day along the canal that our balcony faced and we had to listen to the deafening noise of the skips being emptied via crane. My last gripe with the room was that the tea and coffee making facilities were poor. There was no milk or coffee in the rooms and guests did not have access to the coffee machine in the breakfast room during the day.
In our confirmation email we were told of a complimentary drink on arrival which we were not offered and also free entrance to the oldest Casino in Venice which again was never mentioned on check in. The complimentary boat trip to Murano Island we found out only included the journey there and not the journey back and there had to be a minimum 6 people going. Instead we booked a boat trip that took us to the three islands of Murano (including glass blowing demo), Burano and Torcello over 4 and a half hours for only €20 each. Far better value and we would definitely reccommend to anyone travelling to Venice particularly in quieter times.
The minor imperfections of this hotel would not put me off staying there again, the noise in the morning only encouraged us to get up and get out to see the city and there was time to relax in the afternoon when it was quiet. I would reccommend anyine to stay here for a more authentic Venetian hotel experience and the location to San Marco and Rialto is just perfection!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony view if you dont mind the noise in the morning but I think the rooms at the back wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Based on the positive reviews of Casa Dolce we thought we`d try it out ....and are we glad we did !....nestled in a quiet location but only a few minutes from the bustle of San Marco this 17th century palace looks rather unassuming from the outside but once the large wooden doors were opened we were treated to a wonderful sight of stone and marble and grand open areas ( not easy to find in Venice hotels) Ok .. yes the check in at another hotel five mins away was a little "different" but once we were escorted to the place and then left to our own devices it was a wonderful bit of freedom to come and go as we pleased ( it felt like we owned the place ) the breakfast area is very intimate but thats how we like it and the choice of fare was more than adequate. If you open out the shutters you can get a lovely view of the canal and it was quite a popular canal with gondolas passing at all times of the day. No mini bar but a co-op is just a street away ( across the bridge ) so ideal for room snacks and a tipple or two. A good 35 mins walk from piazza Roma (coach stop ) Easily made our stay in Venice very memorable.

Room Tip: room 1 or 2 would have a canal view for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Casa dolce was the reason we loved Venice so much. Yes it is true that check in is a little bit unconfortable (u have to check in in another hotel , 5 minutes away, which is difficult to discover it when u arrive for the first time in Venice and u don't know the streets) but after that everything was just perfect. First of all the reception. Very helpfull, very polite and for 20 minutes he explained to us where to go in Venice and how to go. Secondly casa dolce is not a hotel. It is a palazzo (palace). So we had a room with a little terasse in the canal and very near to St.Marco square. The room was very spacious, clean with an excellent bathroom. And all these in a very good price. What more could u ask at the price of € 120 per night? At this price other hotels in venice offer u a tiny room with a window to nowhere. Finally the breakfast was just ok but we really didn't care because we ate it in our terasse looking the canal!! Don't miss the chance to stay at this hotel but ask especially the room 1.

Room Tip: ask the room n1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenadia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Good sized rooms & good location. However for some strange reason we need to check in at another hotel located over 10 minutes away. And in Venice that means walking with heavy suitcases through tiny cobbled streets crowded with people & up & down staircases & bridges! To top it all one walks first from the waterbus stop to the check-in hotel for 10 minutes too!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeepad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#172 of 386 in Venice
351 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#192 of 386 in Venice
303 reviews
Castello
Locanda Cavanella
Locanda Cavanella
#224 of 386 in Venice
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#267 of 386 in Venice
353 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 386 in Venice
758 reviews
San Marco
Ca' del Campo Hotel
Ca' del Campo Hotel
#128 of 386 in Venice
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Dolce Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dolce Venezia

Property: Casa Dolce Venezia
Address: Campo de la Guerra San Marco 515 | Calle dei Fabbri 4671, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Dolce Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Dolce Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing