We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Hotel”
Review of Hotel Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Principe
Ranked #154 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Lovely hotel located on the Grande Canal and close to public ferries.
Hotel was clean and tidy with nice decor, located in a very busy area and close to the major rail station and not far to the major bus terminal only the glass bridge to conquer.
We decided to upgrade from a standard to superior room which overlooked the canal. Room was a good size with mini bar if you are inclined to use it, cheaper options for drinks from the shops nearby. Breakfast was good.
Once again a City Tourist Tax is added to your account daily.
Shops and restaurants all within a stones throw, with a varied variety of food.
The hotel has a free water taxi shuttle to Murano and tour of the glass blowing establishment,
but make your own way home, the public water ferry is convenient.
A 24 hour pass on the public water ferry gives you the hop on, hop off option and is cheaper than single tickets. A ride up the Grande Canal to the main square in Venice is worthwhile.
We found that the gondola ride a bit overpriced for what you get.
Hotel is recommended.

Room Tip: Book a superior room overlooking the canal. Some of the rooms only have a shower or a bath, specify...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hanktank4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,092)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Principe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our room wasn't spacious but was comfortable and clean. The location is superb because you can get there by water taxi or by vaporetto with a little walk, or from the airport by bus, then a walk. Yes it is a healthy walk over the bridge, but it can be done.
The breakfast was nice - especially the espresso/cappuccino machines. We didn't try dinner, but did sit out on the veranda and had a very expensive espresso - but it meant we sat there for hours without feeling we needed to move.
I would stay there agin.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal, there is a great room - but a healthy up and down stairs to get there. I don...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

After coming off a 14 day Mediterranean Cruise tour and beginning our 11 day land tour, we decided to walk to the Hotel Principe in Venice, as the mapping shows only a few hundred yards from the docks......WELL Don't try It! Take a Water Taxi. If you try the Monorail ( up several flights of stairs ), into the train station which is 2 blocks from the Hotel, but a real pain with 2 Large suitcases each. Where as the Water Taxi drops you off directly at the Hotel located on the Grand Cannel.
This Hotel, perfect for touring Venice, easy walking to most everything. A very friendly staff eager to help. Breakfast adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bros-4-life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Room was nice and large facing the Grand Canal. Staff were friendly, but sometimes they can be dismissive. The breakfast was terrible, the only saving grace was that it had a good view but the choices were limited. Near train station and boat station so great!

Room Tip: We got room 227 and 228. 227 has a balcony overlooking the canal, while 228 had no balcony but still...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our package included transfers which was great as we had a short coach journey then boat to Hotel and our luggage went on ahead so other than hand luggage we didn't have to carry anything on the short 5 min walk from Ferrovia vaporetta stop to hotel. Hotel location good as its on the main street which runs parallel to the Grand Canal (srteet goes from Ferrovia to Rialto). Check-in quick and easy despite there being a lot of new arrivals although we did have to wait as we were early. Room allocated was on 3rd floor overlooking main street, Room clean and adequate and had good size en-suite - room serviced daily with fresh towels etc. We had a small balcony and even though room was at front of hotel the double glazing stopped any outside noise from disturbing us. Air Con was a bit noisy and not able to turn off at night. Safe and mini bar (fridge) in room but take a kettle if you want hot drinks in room. Breakfast was typical continental - same foods each morning but adequate to set you up for a days exploring. There is a restaurant overlooking the Grand Canal but we choose to eat elsewhere as it was quite expensive (like a lot of places in Venice)
The hotel is in ideal location for getting around - within easy walking distance of vaporetta, train and bus stations. Lots of tourist shops and eateries near-by and there is a supermarket about 15 mins walk on the way from hotel to Rialto which came in handy.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms at front entrance had a small balcony (higher floors)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kazjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed here as part of a Riveria Holidays package in June 2012,This a very pleasant traditional hotel conveniently located near the station and riverbus stop. The lounge restaurant and bar are very attractve and the 50 euro fixed price dinner including wine coffee and water was good value with tables on the terrace overlookin the grand canel The staff were friendly and helpful.Downside:about 45 minutes walk from St Mark,s Square, my single room was very small and the air conditioning did not work until I asked at reception-it is controlled from there.
Still, attractive hotel looking out on to grand canel.certainly, everyone else in the party was very happy.

Room Tip: Ask or a room facing the Grand Canel and you will have a fantastic view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank owen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

It is a really convenient hotel to stay at in Venice, the water taxi comes right to the hotel landing in the canal so one does not need to carry luggage. This is extremely useful for elderly people otherwise it can be a long walk with luggage to a hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. It is a hotel that I would certainly go back to again.

Room Tip: For a small additional amount take a room with the view of the canal...wonderful experience
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helenecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Amadeus Hotel
Amadeus Hotel
#170 of 384 in Venice
806 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#110 of 384 in Venice
1,604 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#166 of 384 in Venice
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#77 of 384 in Venice
1,933 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 384 in Venice
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe

Address: Lista di Spagna 146 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £96 - £697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Venice
Principe Hotel Venice
Grand Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing