We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Cosy Central”
Review of Hotel Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Principe
Ranked #156 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Historic Cosy Central”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Historic = Old with dis functional smelly plumbing
Cosy = small room with even smaller bathrooms, I had to open the shower door to bend down to was feet and legs
Central = Noisy street party noise was terrible
This was our first time in this hotel next time we will be staying elsewhere, there are much nicer hotels on the other side of the Grand Hotel which provide much easier walking access to the important Venice landmarks

Room Tip: The fifth floor is only accessible via stairs from the forth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJA_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    881
    389
    157
    122
See reviews for
378
1,142
71
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Although lacking some 4 star amenities, this hotel is fantastic. Great location, very close to train station and water bus terminal, also not very far from bus station. I agree that the room especially felt old, but that's the charm. If it will be renovated, then I'll recommend to keep the room style, i.e. not changing it into modern minimalist style.
We were very lucky to find this hotel. Considering our budget, at first we were looking for a 2 or 3 star hotel near the train station, unfortunately nothings are match. Choosing this hotel, we thought we will ended up in their smallest room, since the price is not too different from some 3 star hotel nearby. But what a surprise, it was a spacious room, the baby cot was ready, it also has a big sofa that could be transformed into a bed. The bathroom was also very big, with a bathtub! Our room only has one window that faced the inner yard, no canal view, but still this is such a wonderful place to stay.
Breakfast was complete and adequate (a 4 star elsewhere would be having more option), they also provide baby chair. Travelling with a baby, we ask for hot water from the restaurant and they provided it anytime, no problem. The restaurant has a patio that connect to canal grande, a nice place to enjoy the view.
The wifi is good, even though you need to log in again every time you're back to the hotel. We can store our luggage for some time after checkout.
Definitely will stay at this hotel again if we're back to Venice.

Room Tip: Our room was 215, very recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajenkneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were allocated this Hotel as part of our 4 day guided tour of Venice.

Great location for train station, water taxis and eateries, and within reasonable walking distance of St Mark's Square.

Our room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were fine. We had no problems, but room allocation may be a lottery,as some of our fellow travellers had small rooms.

Room Tip: As this Hotel appears to have many rooms. It may be worth asking staff if you want particular requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon trip in Italy. We were very excited when we arrived and saw the beautiful lobby and the restaurant over looking the grand canal. When we got to our room (136) we were very disappointed to find that it was no bigger than a closet. The rooms are very old. I appreciate the Venice charm but the gold bedspreads and VERY small shower were unappealing at best. My husband hardly fit in the shower! I opened the window (which over looked an alley) for less than 5 minutes and quickly shut it when I realized the ceiling was covered with mosquitos. I will say that the front desk was very helpful when I contacted them. They sent someone to "take care" of the bugs and they were gone when we returned from lunch. I learned my lesson and didn't open the window again but the rooms were VERY hot and we were told we couldn't use the air conditioning until May 1st. This wasn't very helpful since we were there in April. We made the best out of it since we weren't in the room very much. On the bright side the hotel is an excellent location but I wish we would have spent the extra money so we were more comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Missyal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Ingleside, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked 3 rooms for 2 nights at The Hotel Principe in Venice -Canal view. Upon arriving (all 6 women) presented the desk clerk with our reservations- we were quickly ushered across the street to a "sister" Hotel! Totally unacceptable as the beauty of "this" hotel ended in the Lobby! We did not unpack and returned to the Principe requesting the rooms we booked! We got a real song and dance telling us we could have these rooms if we each paid an additional 60€ per night! This region is a real tourist trap as every hotel/ restaurant must be connected in some way to scam the tourist! It left a real bitter flavour and as such, will never return to Venice...too bad it really was pretty. Double check before you leave to ensure you get what you paid for!

Room Tip: Double check with travel agent on reserved rooms to ensure you receive what you paid for. Or email t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disappointed337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we booked this as for the three of us 2 adults 15 old daughter we wanted good value but before going read some reviews mostly saying good . I must report this hotel is superb . the area 200 yards away from the train stn directly on the grand canal . we had water view room number 414 and found it very spacious and clean tv mini bar fridge h/dryer safe some reviews were vauge about breakfast but plenty of fruit yogurt breads jam tea coffee juice bacon eggs ham everything to set you up for a great day ahead all with a view to the gran canal . this hotel was rated 4 star and I would agree but poss next few years would benefit with a re/fresh. its great value for its price and superb location I would rtn with no thoughts of booking anywhere else . right outside the hotel also ginos pizza restaurant serving great food at great prices no surcharges . venice is simply wonderful GO THERE

Room Tip: just ask in the right way you will be surprised
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Principe last week.
Fantastic location - we paid 6 Euro to get from the airport to the bus station in Venice. The hotel was a 5 minute, straight forward walk from there (just over the bridge).
The hotel is also a 2 minute walk from the train station if you are arriving by train.
Our room was basic but large, clean with a nice bathroom. It was quiet at night and our sleep was never disturbed - even during an afternoon nap.
Beautiful communal areas. Gorgeous veranda to sit on by the canal and have breakfast/dinner/drinks. Very picturesque. We got some great pictures from there. Bar is modern and inviting.
Breakfast - limited hot options but what was there was very nice. Lots of fresh warm croissants. Good coffee.
Very helpful reception staff.
Communal areas were never crowded, which was unexpected as our break fell during the school holidays.
Half an hour walk to st mark's square or 15 very pleasurable minutes on a water bus down the canal (available 2 minutes walk from hotel).
It's only downfall for us was that it was quite expensive (as everything is in venice!) and we had to pay £25 tourist tax on are last day for our 3 night stay, which we weren't aware of.
Other hotels in the area had a pool/relaxed area for sun bathing, which i think i would look for if i returned and it had been any hotter (it was t shirt and shorts weather last week). The veranda here is beautiful but not a place to sit with your shirt off.
Would highly recommend this hotel and go back for a romantic spring get away again.
If you have not been to Venice before and are just interested in seeing the sights, i would say you could do it all in 2 to 3 days. Make sure you visit at least one church - they are impressive.

Room Tip: Specify if you would like a double bed. Some people were given two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ejb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Amadeus Hotel
Amadeus Hotel
#168 of 385 in Venice
790 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#162 of 385 in Venice
1,334 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#108 of 385 in Venice
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#79 of 385 in Venice
1,909 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#199 of 385 in Venice
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe

Property: Hotel Principe
Address: Lista di Spagna 146 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Jet2Holidays , Fastbooking, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Venice
Principe Hotel Venice
Grand Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing