We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find another hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Principe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Principe
Ranked #166 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Find another hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The lobby of the Principe has this grand appeal and the offerings for breakfast were fine. But everything good about this place ends there.

The hotel is close to the bus and train stations but as far away from most of the things you want to see (45 min. waterbus trip if stopping at every stop) as is possible. It is old and tired and has grungy small rooms (we saw three as friends were there too) with teeny bathrooms. The mattress in our room felt like stone and the carpets were dirty and worn out.

But mostly it's the arrogant staff that made us crazy. The guys at the desk are rude and either arguing with each other in front of you or don't even bother to look up as you are coming and going. You have to actually excuse yourself to get their attention to ask for your room key. Not once could we get one of these guys to crack a smile.

We were there for five days. One day when we came back, the lock on our room was broken - it looked forced - and we called the desk. They sent up a guy with a screwdriver who said he didn't have the tools to fix it and would be back later. There were no apologies or offers to switch our room, but, incredibly, there was denial that there might have been tampering."It is not possible" was the response at the desk. I should have taken a photo that would have shown splintered wood - I was too shocked to think to do this - but I did take one of the "repair".

We loved Venice and apparently there are many good hotels there. This overpriced and unfriendly place is not one of them.

Room Tip: Avoid the whole hotel. But especially room 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbug356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    831
    368
    153
    117
See reviews for
354
1,067
70
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is a very short walk from the train station. Easy to reach with luggage. The room was cute with Venetian style and had a large bathroom. We had a balcony looking out on two sides. The breakfast room was stunning with a great view of the boats going by on the Grand Canal. The food and service were excellent. There were good restaurants close by and the vaporetto stops to San Marco and the Islands only a few minutes walk away. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We took 2 rooms on the top floor for our family. The room rate is very high compare to what we had services and facilities... Carpet was very very dirty. They only provided 2 big towels... ( no face towel ) . The room is so tiny. My husband and I are not big people... could not move around much... Especially the shower booth is so small.. I believe that most of people could NOT go into shower booth... I agree earlier comments that staffs are rude... Yes I experienced the same. Breakfast restaurant is just chaos... We had to take any available table and clean ourselves... otherwise you had to wait long time if you wish to get table to be ready for you... Concierge was showing unhappy face to us when we told them we do not need assistance because we only have 1 small bag each family member... very strange hotel... and I felt hotel is charging too much compare to what they provide.... Only location is good...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Hotel Principe is ideally situated, on the Grand Canal near the railway station. We had read some critical reports about the hotel and staff before our visit. We had also tried to pre-book a room overlooking the Grand Canal but were informed that none were available. We stayed 30th June - 4th July and had been allocated Room 501 a small attic room with two small windows, one permanently shuttered. The “view” was over neighbouring rooftops.
We returned to Reception and our rep happened to be there when we mentioned our willingness to pay for an upgrade. Immediately we were taken to Room 121 which was superb, a luxurious bathroom and the bedroom was palatial, with 15ft headroom and old oak beams, reflecting the splendour of the original building. There were two full height French windows which opened onto small stone balconies bedecked with white petunias. The view from the balconies was quite incredible, we were overlooking the Grand Canal and could see quite a distance up and downstream. We spent a lot of time on the balcony fascinated by the hectic life on the canal.
We found the Reception staff to be courteous and friendly. We had breakfast at the hotel and the selection and quality of food was ample. Even at 7.30am the restaurant was crowded and all of the staff were kept very busy clearing and re-laying tables and restocking the servery.

Room Tip: I can only recommend Room 121 - it will make your holiday. Some of our group were in rooms above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_SF6310RH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located, clean, and the rooms (or at least the one we had) are excellent. The staff however make the entire experience a bad one. I've never met such arrogant and condescending individuals working in the service industry. From the front desk to the bar they were all rude, condescending (as mentioned) and with a superior attitude. I'm not sure why a person working behind the reception of a hotel or behind the bar would feel that they are superior to guests who are paying a considerable amount to stay and eat there, but in this hotel it seems to be the case.

I will never stay there again, it is the worst hotel experience I have ever had, the quality of the accommodation and the wonderful location are completely cancelled out by the terrible staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisCorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Found the hotel nice and clean. Although 'old' it matched the Venetian vibe and didn't appear 'worn' to me and bathroom actually appeared brand new. The housekeeping ladies were very pleasant and staff at the breakfast were all very nice too. Breakfast had big variety and very nice. Can't fault the place. Close 2 min walk to S Lucia railway station and around 5-10 min walk to piazzale roma which makes a cheap way to get to / from hotel over the water taxi / ferry.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and were very happy with the helpful staff and the nice room. The rooms are very pretty and clean. The hotel staff was very helpful and speak good English. The hotel is a bit far from the main area of San Marco piazza, however we were able to walk to it in about 30 minutes. The bed was not very comfortable however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanlan810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#107 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Cannaregio
Amadeus Hotel
Amadeus Hotel
#165 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#184 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe

Property: Hotel Principe
Address: Lista di Spagna 146 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Principe 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Principe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Venice
Principe Hotel Venice
Grand Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing