We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This palace is a Daisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #144 of 386 Hotels in Venice
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
230 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“This palace is a Daisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This former palace is located in a fantastic location and is on the Canal, located across from the train station (a bridge that connects to the train station is a short walk away).They are plenty of restaurants w/in walking distance ( avoid the restaurants on the canal-strictly tourist traps ). The rooms are small compared to the States, but who travels half away across the world and stays in there room. Great rooftop lounge w/a bar the main attractions are about 30 minutes away on foot and are quickly accessible by water taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKY J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    1,255
    454
    158
    87
See reviews for
482
1,664
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel on the grand canal is in a great location, right across from the train station, making it always easy to find by following the signs to "Ferrovio," or taking a vaporetto there. The lobby is beautiful, classic old Venetian decor. But our room was the smallest we had in Italy, and was beastly hot. The bathroom had a heated towel rack that acted like a radiator, making it even hotter. We tried to get it turned off to no avail. The beds were tiny, but even so with the window open we slept well enough. Everything was clean, and that's important. We only had WiFi in the lobby but it worked well. One night we walked down to the Coop grocery store a few blocks away and bought some sandwich supplies, then sat at one of the outdoor tables in front of the hotel, thus having dinner outdoors on the Grand Canal for about $5 each!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sperantei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Just across the grand canal from central station but crossing the bridge with big bagguage was very awkward. There is no slope only stairs on the bridge leaving huge space for professional porters around there for 20 euro to help you! Easy to go to airport using bus No. 5 from bus terminal but the fare was not included in Day Pass so line up to buy another ticket to go to Marco Polo aeroport. The hotel itself is in gold location looking good from outside. But inside the room was very small maybe the standard size for Venice. There were no comfy blanket, but they afford you with effectively reliable heater instead which was good for us from tropical country. Breakfast was adequate but the tables were too small to sit even for two persons. Advertised as having Wifi, but posted on the front desk to be temporarily out of order. But when the guests complained too much, it could work without sound reason...incredible. So next time don't be stingy for some valuable things you clients really need!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markle, Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The staff of this hotel is fantastic! Upon arrival we were checked in and though our room wasn't ready they stored our bags, provided us with maps and info about Venice and told us when the trim would be ready. The room was very clean and comfortable. The porter showed us how to operate the window blinds and as a major bonus they had an American plug in the bathroom! My curling iron is dual voltage so I could plug right in! The breakfast was good and the rooftop bar was fantastic! There is a vaparetto stop on the express line right across the canal so super convenient. The train station is across the canal and there is a traghetti crossing close by to handle the luggage with hauling it over a bridge. Great experience overall.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank kspahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel staff were helpful and the hotel was of a good standard. We stayed in the roof top terrace and were worried by previous reviews but were pleasantly surprised. We were able to check in at 12 and the location was magical. The hotel was a little pricey but was old style Venetian and quaint. We went for two days and the location was perfect to make the most of the river taxis and gondola ride. I would certainly recommend the private river taxi transfer to the hotel and a gondola ride after 5pm.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisandnat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is situated across from the train station, however there is no overwhelming noise. You are right on the Grand Canal and the scenery especially from its rooftop bar is magnificant. However beware of the pigeons as they are not shy about treating themselves to your peanuts. The rooms are decorated in Old World Charm. They maybe small but the bathrooms were a very good size and very modern. The breakfast room is a little small but cute. The walking distance to St. Marcs Square is at least 30 minutes, however this gives you a chance to see the different areas of Venice and restaurants, shops etc. are all en route. This is an ideal hotel that gives the person a sense of being right in the action.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked the Carlton as it was close to the bus station, were were arriving late in the day so this was a bonus as it was easy to find. This was a treat for my mother's birthday. Whilst the communal areas were tasteful and smart I was very disappointed when we were shown to our room. The wall paper was torn and the furniture was very tired, as was the bathroom. One other factor which attracted me to the Carlton was the roof terrace as I wanted somewhere to sit and relax. I was further disappointed by the fact that it was closed, despite the fact that it was within the published opening times. The reason that was given was poor weather. It may not have been sunny but it was warm and dry, I think staff shortage was the real reason. I agree with the comments of others, this is not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,487 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#160 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#102 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#168 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#150 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing