We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service & lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #145 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My mother & I stayed for one night and we were very happy. We were given a room overlooking the Gran Canal, the room was high quality and clean. We also dined there in the evening and the food was great and reasonably priced. I would stay again if I go to Venice, especially as it's directly opposite the Santa Lucia Station and the water bus that takes you to St Mark's square, which also stops off at Rialto Bridge and the Bridge of Sighs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claretta_leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 3,045 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed for two nights and upgraded to a balcony suite. Very enjoyable, decent breakfast with options to pay extra for a la carte. Train station is directly opposite; water bus opposite with a 45 minute trip to St marks square, the water bus appears to double back for a few minutes but this is to get to a stop on the other side before arriving at St marks square, don't worry. Buy a 24 hour ticket, saves you a fortune. If you use water taxi's privately please read my separate review. The hotel is well located in Venice, be prepared to walk or use the excellent public transport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Got this hotel on a very good deal with British Airways..was initillially looking to stay near the rialto or st. marks sq.. However so pleased we booked this end of venice. Position was excellent, near the bus station , so managed to get cheap transfer on the coach from marco polo,Also better quality and priced restaurants.( try Gino's along the shopping st. opp hotel). The hotel was beautiful not sure about the previous reviews about small rooms? There was 6 of us in 3 rooms all of which were a decent size and very clean, and decent breakfast. Travelling along the canal was an absolute pleasure magnificent views. Also easy to walk to rialto and st marks just follow the yellow signs, although quite a long walk it was worth it. Finally the best thing was being there to see the floods ,Bought some willies and went walking in St marks. where the water was at least a metre deep. A memorable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ask161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel was convenient, and easily accessible to all of the sights in Venice. The water taxi's are right across the canal and will take you to all of the best stops in Venice. We bought a 12 hr. pass, and were able to get around quite easily. Our room was very nice! It was clean and had a balcony with a view of the Grand Canal. I loved the quaint decor and feel of the room. It wasn't a huge room, but you spend most of your time out and about! The balcony was an added bonus! We would definitely stay here again if we are ever in Venice again. Also, a great place to stay during Aqua Alta, it is higher so the flooding there is rare.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony and view of the Grand Canal, it just added to the experience of being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in March 2011 and enjoyed it. The staff were quite helpfull in checking in, our credit card expired before we arrived at hotel and they kept the rooms for us eventhough we hadn't responded to their communication yet.

The room was big enough, and the breakfast was also good.

It is located close to the Santa Lucia station which is a plus but I longed having a hotel right on the canal with water boats!!!

Totally recommendable anyway!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Soully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

As others have said nice location, very near to the train station and bus, just across the hotel very convenient, however the hotel itself is over rated.the rooms are small, very stuffy, no airconditioning so you have to open the window and when you do , what you see is the ugly wall of the next building smack in your face.the beds are lumpy and furnitures outdated and dusty.For the price I paid I was expecting more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mendozajeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The rooms are tiny which I can understand when you are in a location such as Venice, but add to this very baroque, old, dusty decoration style and the whole room becomes stuffy and claustrophobic. The bathrooms are very dated, the doors and windows squeak and I would not recommend this for anyone without allergies. The dusty curtains and textile wallpapers are a killer! We were supposed to have a Deluxe Double Room which apparently means that it is their basic double room and the photos on their website must be really edited because we were excited to stay at this hotel and it turned out to be the worst out of all during our trip around Italy.

The breakfast was simple and nice, the location was ok, seeing as we were coming in by train and from the hotel we walked to all the tourist locations in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klementineTLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,871 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,912 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#149 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £72 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing