We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #144 of 385 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is pretty, lovely decor and the room and bathroom were very clean.

We loved the roof top terrace and the hotel is in a good location near the train station and directly opposite the water bus stop.

We didn't have dinner at the hotel but the breakfast was decent.

The staff were also very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SKA1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    1,237
    446
    150
    85
See reviews for
472
1,639
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel between Xmas and New Year, for three nights.

We spent the first two nights in the rooftop junior terrace, which was fine, the room is clean and tidy, and well furnished, the bathroom was a bit tired, for a suite, but ok otherwise. Pillows on bed were very hard, but changed immediately on request.

For the third night we stayed in a Superior double overlooking the canal, room had a nice view but was noisy, with the canal traffic. The room was also compact, but was otherwise OK, with a good shower.

Staff at the hotel, could not be more helpful, and make this establishment.

Location of the hotel is very good, opposite the rail station, which was fine for us as we arrived by train, walk into the city takes about 30 mines, with a lot of window shopping along the way.

Venice felt very safe to me, for walking around in the evening, and there are loads of restaurants’ close by to eat in the evenings, within 10 mins gentle stroll of the hotel.

Hotel breakfast was OK but nothing special, but then you get what you get with a Continental breakfast.

If you want a fab breakfast go to the Florain on St Marks square, and share a breakfast between two, the breakfast is to much for 1, and just fab, we went twice, just for the experience.

All in all a good hotel, and a fab city, also not as expensive as I thought it would be if you budget wisely, ENJOY

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davec06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was my first trip to Venice and I loved the city, but really did not like this hotel at all. The furnishings were very old and not updated and the rooms were dirty with stained carpeting and questionably clean bedding. There was a very nice breakfast buffet included in the price, which was steep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelobachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.
We booked a superior room and it was a fantastic size! Lots of space! We didn't have a view of the canal from our window. But then again I didn't go to Venice to just look at it out of my window!
There is a mini fridge in the room with drinks in! (You have to pay for these)
The drinks in the bar of the hotel are a bit expensive.
The breakfast was great and there were plenty to choose from!!
The hotel is in a great location! If you go across the bridge which is outside of the hotel you will find all the main shops and plenty of places to eat!!
Definitely recommend going on a gondola ride also!
I'd return to this hotel!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Staff couldn't do enough - so polite & always greeted with a smile! Nothing was too much trouble! rooms were traditional & comfortable! Brilliant shower!! Lots of good choice for breakfast in the mornings 7-10.30 which is good if you're a little worse for wear!! Perfect hotel for perfect break!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We were part of a tour group when we visited the hotel. We found that when we visited the rooms of the others in our tour that they varied quite a bit. Some had spacious rooms with large bathrooms. Our room was rather small and our bathroom was the size of a large closet. It was the smallest room that we had while in Italy. We weren't lucky enough to have a room with a view. The breakfast had a good variety of hot and cold food. We did enjoy walking in the area especially after the day tourists were gone. We had wonderful dinners in nearby restaurants. If you are coming to Venice by train then this is an ideal location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mskala52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#159 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#101 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#150 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing