We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #145 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have just been to Venice for my 50th birthday. The staff were fantastic. Very polite, helpful and always smiling. The location was perfect a quick stroll from the station and Piazzale Roma so convenient. We had dinner at the hotel which was fantastic and the view from the Skylounge Bar was amazing. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    1,279
    473
    160
    90
See reviews for
494
1,700
58
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Location was fantastic right on the Grand Canal. The hotel and staff were excellent. Room was small but expected but very clean and serviced daily. We booked the 4 course €50 pp meal in advance for the first night to save the hassle of finding somewhere to eat and what a delight. The food was fantastic and the service second to none. The only downside was €55 for a bottle of Chianti, but that said a lovely bottle. Breakfast was also plentiful.

A water taxi from the airport costs €110 (each way) it is quick and will drop you off at the hotel entrance which is special or you could take the Vaperetto (bus) which would take longer but equally is cheaper and will drop you off opposite the hotel at the train station.

The hotels location is great to start your tour of Venice either by foot or vaperetto. The vaperetto costs €7.50 pp per trip or you can buy a 24hr ticket for €20 or 3 day for €35 to go island hopping.

Tip - from the locals - if you don't like crowds avoid Venice in the summer as it can be visted by up to 8 cruise ships resulting in an influx of up to 50,000 people extra to those staying in the hotels.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location for a long weekend in Venice. Five minutes walk from the main road link terminal and right opposit the train station and main public transport links for the canal system. The hotel itself is exceptionally clean both in the rooms and common parts, the rooms are, well I suppose very Venitian with high ceilings and opulent wall coverings with painted furniture and a glass chandelier, I suspect we had a budget room as the view was of the side alley way which was a little disappointing but not unexpected as we did book a standard room which was the cheapest on offer.
Breakfast is included in the room price and is fantastic which really sets you up for your day, the staff are attentive and cheery which also adds to the pleasure of what you are getting. Reception are efficient, polite annd helpful with any questions you have about planning your day. You can also buy the public transport tickets from them at the normal price complete with instructions on how to use them!
Must visits whilst you are in Venice are Murano Isalnd where the glass works are, we watched a man make a rearing horse out of a blob of glass which was fabulous. Also Burano Island which is quite simply stunning. We also visited the Lido which wasnt really that great, probably somewhere to go if you have been everywhere else!
All in all I would recommend this hotel we thought it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a canal view make sure you book a room that offers one. I would think that there are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have never been to Italy, but this is one of the best hotel experiences I have had in all the world. The rooms were quaint but clean and large. The bathrooms were spacious. The ambiance was marvelous. Location is primo plus primo. Do take the water taxi to Murano. Many thanks to the staff providing excellent service, Best time of my life. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3chocolateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We were lucky enough to have this booked by our family for our 50th birthdays. Pure Venetian charm in the rooms and beautiful and modern in the entrance without losing its Venice charm.the staff are exceptional , friendly ,polite hard working a credit to the hotel. The rooms look dated and are a bit quirky which makes the stay all the more enjoyable. It's as a hotel in Venice should be. Our room as the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable. Breakfast had everything you could want. Including the greeting from the staff. It is one of the calmest hotels I have stayed in. It is just perfect the view over the Grand Canal in the morning and at night was beautiful. We can't wait yo go back.

Room Tip: Arrive by water taxi as it takes you straight to a jetty at the front of the hotel , makes you feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We are here at the moment, haven't experienced any negatives about the hotel, staff friendly, food fine, bedroom lovely , location perfect, only downside is that we have to leave in a few days, but would certainly come back to the Carlton.the refurbed rooftop bar is great .

Room Tip: They hadn't any rooms left facing the canal which would have been great but we are on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Elegant hotel, ideal location, very friendly staff, clean comfortable room - Hotel Carlton has it all. My wife and I lucked into finding this hotel when a previous trip went bad. This is the only hotel we will stay at when traveling to Venice. We have sent family and friends there - all had a great time. Our room overlooked the grand canal, the view is just what you would imagine when you open the shutters to see Venice in all it's beauty. It is just down the way from the bus stop for the airport and right across the grand canal from the train station - we flew in, took a train out to Bologna, it was very convenient.

Room Tip: Staff is great - if you need someting just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_panfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,587 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
1,980 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
2,132 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#166 of 385 in Venice
640 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Principe
Hotel Principe
#159 of 385 in Venice
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#150 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing