We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #143 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have recently stayed at this hotel and absolutely loved it! The hotel was great with a fantastic breakfast selection and a lovely service from the staff. The reception staff were helpful in advising us on nearby places to eat and were always friendly. We were very lucky as the Sky Lounge was open during our stay, so we had a delicious lunch on a gorgeous, sunny day overlooking the Grand Canal. It was one of our favourite things of our stay in Venice so I'd 100% recommend it! We had cake and coffee in the hotel bar a couple of times when we came back to the hotel to re-fuel which was delicious..great coffee and even better cakes! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room overlooking the Grand Canal as it was rather expensive, however other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    1,237
    446
    150
    85
See reviews for
473
1,639
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked through the Venice Events company but run by Carlton.

Simply the worst - this company does not offer buyer protection in a situation when things go wrong.

1. Poor value for money
2. Ticket price for us was 240 Euros for two. Although at the reception other people paid different amounts which this event was suppose to be same for all.

The manager took the piece of paper before I could take a picture of it which clearly demonstrates an onerous cover up as I wanted to show the events programmers.

3. Food was cold and part warm (we where one of the first to get up), amounted no more than what we considered left overs. (Except the cheese balls), and cheap wine.

4. Entertainment of the stripper Burlesque or otherwise was considered inappropriate, she came on twice. Second time popping balloons what was that about???

5. Prancing girls around dance floor no actual dancing.

A lot more effort and description needs to put in place and the bad attitude of management at the Carlton, would not recommend this event.

I need to add the manager did try and offer help but later felt was a slap in the face, especially when the music did change for the better but then changed back to what we considered an insult i.e. YMCA music. We had gone off the food at this stage (lost appetite). He did offer us a glass of champagne but this was due to no other cash reimbursement which is a poor substitute for the over all lack of experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dpimperium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel fronts the Grand Canal opposite the railway station and has its own dock for water taxis.
The room we stayed in was a double superior, although very clean, it was adequate if a little on the small side. There was a lack of drawer space for your clothes but our room did have a large wardrobe but it only had hanging space. The bed was king size and very comfortable, the room overall was a little on the dark side and the furnishings could do with updating. The en-suite had a bath, which was a little narrow a larger person the us wouldn't have fitted in it, shower was over the bath, also had basin, toilet and bidet. The hairdryer in the bath room lacked any power so take your own! The interior in the common areas are reasonable and we found the staff to be pleasant. Breakfast is nothing to write home about but had plenty of choice and was acceptable. The restaurant was not busy, but the food was well cooked although the fixed menu didn't have a great deal of choice, a choice of 4 main dishes (2 fish, 1 chicken and 1 pork). It was easy to get around Venice from as the railway was a convenient landmark to find your way back to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My family arrived midday for a 2 night stay in 2 superior rooms. The front desk staff wasn't much help. The gentleman that checked us in didn't speak much English. When asking for restaurant suggestions, another front desk clerk seemed irritated. Finally when checking out at 4:00 AM with a travel rep the desk clerk (Franco) was the most ignorant and rude hotel staffer I've ever encountered. Even our travel rep was shocked by his nasty attitude. There was a guest smoking on the nonsmoking floor and the corridor was filled with smoke. We reported it but it occurred again the second night. The rooms are very dated and our superior room had a view of the alley. Very disappointing for a 4 star hotel. I think they need to re-evaluate the star rating.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rch62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Arriving by train, this is simply the best location for easy and quick access. It is a very classy and elegant hotel and the staff was equally gracious and professional. Beautiful lobby adjacent to the lounge and Cupola Restaurant. Our room was clean and tastefully appointed in a charming Venetian style. We opted for a canal view which enriched our the enjoyment of the room. Although a bit noisy until 11 pm, it seemed to add to the flavor of being in Venice. Our very best dinner of 14 days in Italy was at the Cupola in the hotel. So glad we dined there. The Tirimisu for dessert is a must!!! Afternoon cocktails at their Roof-top Bar was a treat as was the morning breakfast. Cannot say enough about how pleased we were in choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room with canal view to maximize our enjoyment of this special trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Having just returned from a 7 night stay at the Carlton, I thought that I would offer my impression of the stay.
The room my wife and I were allocated was small, stuffy and tired looking, no air con and worst of all no space to unpack our clothes, just one single wardrobe to accommodate two large suitcases with our clothes , when we complained we were told that all 145 rooms had the same single wardrobe,we had to live out of our suitcases for the week,very poor for a hotel of this supposed standard.
In general the hotel is located in a very good position, that is the only positive recommendation that I could give, the reception staff showed no interest in resolving any problems that we experienced, such as staff rearranging the tables and chairs on the rooftop area, which happened to be directly above our bedroom, at 5 am in the morning, disbelief that it happened was the reaction by the reception.
All in all our impression was that this hotel was used to dealing with tour groups staying for one or two nights and had little interest in anything else,if you are considering booking a short stay with no luggage then it is a reasonable place to stay, other than that and for anything longer, go elsewhere, there are better hotels in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked a room through Expedia with their other location – Hotel Capri but at the time of arrival their informed us that we were “upgraded” to the Carlton. Of course, nobody cared to inform us about this “upgrade” prior to our arrival. The room was small and very stuffy. A/C was not working. The room was semi-clean and rather run down. In the morning the cleaning lady was so eager to clean that she didn’t care if we were in the room, it was our check-out morning but she didn’t wait until we checked out and was disturbing our packing with cleaning. Breakfast was very good, location is excellent and that’s all about pros. I stayed there one night and quickly moved to another, much nicer hotel (check out my other recommendation from Venice).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margareta X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#160 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#102 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#150 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing