We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous views, shame about the room!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #143 of 386 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views, shame about the room!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here with my family in May 2014, for a night whilst we explored Italy.

The views and the lobby were lovely, so my expectations were high! The room itself was awful, very small and the decor was so old fashioned! Bathroom was small and it didn't make me even want to have a shower.

Staff were friendly and breakfast was great, although more options would have been nice.

The bar on the roof is a great asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    1,239
    446
    150
    85
See reviews for
474
1,640
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our last stop on our Italian honeymoon, and it was a great home base for us in Venice. Due to its location right on the Grand Canal, you are about a 20-25 minute walk to the Rialto, Piazza San Marco, and all of the Venetian hot spots. It is also located directly across from the Santa Lucia train station, which is especially convenient if you are reaching the city by train.

The decor and ambience at the Hotel Carlton is very classic, and the rooftop bar and lounge provides a great view of the town. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful, and were great in terms of making recommendations and setting reservations. The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable, but nothing too out of the ordinary. For the location alone, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Rooms are stuffy and the bathroom showers are designed to get water all over the floor, despite shower curtains. We had to suffer a very noisy air conditioning vent in the corridor outside our room, and unfortunately the corridors carry the noise of peoples voices a long way! We had to change rooms as the vent noise didn't allow us to sleep in peace. We were given another room which was slightly better and had a bigger bathroom, but we still had to put up with voices in the public lane way outside the room. We closed the window shutters and bathroom door which helped a bit. The pillows were very firm and uncomfortable to sleep on. Breakfast is quite basic, the bread for toast was very thinly sliced, and the croissants were rarely replenished when they were all gone. I went to order a breakfast cappuccino from the waitress whom I'm sure was deliberately ignoring me. Another diner had to catch her attention so I could place my order which she then duly forgot. I asked for it again, and received it eventually. It seemed like she was keen to do as little as possible in the way of service that morning, as I also observed other patrons struggling to catch her attention! The top level had a bar and eatery area which was great for views of the canal and Venice. Again the service was still quite lacking, it took a fair while to finally order drinks for our group.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz780_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay at Hotel Carlton. Located just across the canal from train station & vapparetto stop. Breakfast was great. Only downside was not-so-great wifi. Stayed in a 3 person room which was plenty spacious for 3 people. I stayed on the single bed which was not a cot but a regular single bed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherylbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was the first stop on our 3 week trip of Italy. I have nothing but good things to say about this place. The staff was great, it was centrally located to many great things to see. There is an ATM just outside hotel front door, the Barefoot Bridge is just down the street, which leads to St. Lucy's Church. There is a post office about 10 minutes from the hotel as well as a COOP grocery store, which will give you a number of food items you can't get from the many tourist stands all along the Grand Canal. The hotel is located directly across from the train station, which is perfect if you're going to take a day trip to Milan or Turin. The only issue with this hotel is the shower. Instead of the shower head facing the back of the tub, with the full length of the tub for your use, the shower faces the side of the tub, not leaving you much room. The water did not get very hot, but was warm enough to be acceptable.

There is FREE WIFI in the room, as well as the lobby and the signal was great. If the shower had been in the right place, I would easily have given this place 5 stars

Room Tip: The rooms were fine and no one in our group had any issues. My room overlooked a residential area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Councilman70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was okay--not sure how it compares with others in Venice. It is on the Grand Canal across from the train station--the good news is you don't have to take the Vaporetto to check in but the bad news is you have to carry your suitcase over a big bridge. It's at one extreme end of the island and a very far boat ride to St. Marco Square, which is where everybody wants to be.

Our room was dated, dark and not very appealing. We had a large bed and a single bed for a third person, so our room wasn't small. The hotel has a nice rooftop deck with a view of the canal. The bathroom was acceptable, not stellar.

When I go back to Venice, I'll stay in a more central location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kareno425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascoe Vale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with the sweetest decor but small room. We had 3 people staying in a double room with a fold up bed added. Very tight. Overlooking the water and close to many shops & sights. About 40 min walk to st marks square if you don't get lost! Wifi worked better in the lobby. Lovely breakfast with lots of options. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvialo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#160 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#100 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#150 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing