We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for the train traveler.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Ranked #143 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location for the train traveler.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel right across from the train station. Rooms were clean and relatively comfortable. The morning buffet breakfast was included in the room rate, and was excellent. Water taxis are right in front of the hotel to take you to the square, or you can walk 20 minutes to the square. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    1,237
    446
    150
    85
See reviews for
473
1,639
58
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here with our two teenage boys and loved it. The rooms were great although we didn't have a canal view. The breakfast was good with variety. We ate on the rooftop for lunch and it was great. We also ate in the downstairs restaurant for dinner and that was good too. The staff throughout the whole hotel were very good The only negative was we couldn't get internet in our rooms. We had to go down to the lobby. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal room. Sure it costs more, but would be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Check in was crowded but uneventful. I thought service at check in was fine but I can see how with the long lines tempers could flare. Room was very mediocre. The wait staff at breakfast was again very undermanned. Given the rates they should hire some more people and get better reviews. Overall a very mediocre experience. Under new management I think it would do great.

The other family we came with though had a terrible expereince. Their kids had a smelly and modly room. They said theybeouod fix it and when they asked the room. E changes they said they were fully booked. modlybroom.

Helpful?
1 Thank Markjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is barely 5 to 7 minutes walking from Venice railway station which is right at the waterfront. We were not lucky to have a water front room however it did not bother us as we were only there to sleep at night.

Water bus or vaporetto run 24/7 so no matter what you arrive this place is buzzing with tourist. The vaporetto stop is just opposite the Grand Canal and again its 5 minutes walk over the bridge which has stairs offcourse.

The rooms have a classic touch to it with valences in the window and walls covered with sift furnishings all over. Its a nice feeling something whichwe liked however yiur tastes may be different.

Wifi service was ok could have been better as speed and connection kept dropping.

Breakfast was included its was an ok spread compared to other 4 star hotels. Choice of only warm scrambled egg and bacon, cold cuts with cheese, juice, fruits, croissant, toast, jam and nuttellaand coffee.

Overall no complains checkin was a breeze so was check out, rooms were serviced well with good amenities as well.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AshMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at this hotel. Staff is super friendly, we were made very welcome - and nothing was too much trouble.
We had a nice Patio Room. Some of our friends had rooms that were much smaller, but it did not bother us much because we were out and about so much. The roof terrace is a great place to chill out, take in the views and the meals we had there were good. Expensive - but then- what isn't dear in Venice?

We were happy to note there was free Wifi; and the bar on the ground floor is a fabulous spot to people watch and see the world go by.

Location is great because 90% of Vaporettas (water busses) stop at the nearby Ferrovia Station or at Piazzale de Roma. All other areas within walking distance.

I appreciate everybody's taste is different; however we loved it and so did our friends (we were a group of 5 couples) can only recommend it. A good 4 star product; would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topcatvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a room that overlooked the waterways and the view was outstanding...the hotel is right across the main railway station and is near to a variety of good cafes, shops and attractions!

The breakfast was amazing at the hotel. Although the rooms were a little small, it was charming and cozy. Overall, it is ideal place to stay to enjoy and explore Venice

Room Tip: You must get a room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeviHaridas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

It is away from the main part of Venice, and that is actually a great thing! It is so close to charming and adorable neighborhoods and restaurants and it is right on the canal so if you want to see water and the canals you just have to step outside. The rooms were extremely small but I think that is very typical of all Venetian hotels. It was clean and the maids took excellent care of our room. It is a good choice if you are looking for a hotel in a good location with clean rooms.

Room Tip: There are some rooms where the beds go foot to foot to save space. You should make sure to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilberttravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#160 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#102 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Address: Santa Croce 578, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#150 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and welcoming, the Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal has been run with passion for approximately 30 years by a Venetian family which loves to pay its guests attention, by providing them with valuable advise on how to capture the city’s true essence.Pastel shades, Venetian stuccoes, glass wall lamps made in Murano, furnishings which, while being functional, recall the glorious Serenissima epoch: these are the elements of the new hall and bar, completely mirrored on marvellous Istria stone. Right at the centre of the hotel is an original glass cupola creating light effects which highlight its sophistication. The recently restored, characteristic internal patio onto which some of the rooms look out and where guests can enjoy breakfast or relax, using it as a peaceful open-air lounge, has a notable impact on guests. The elegant Bar Carlton Café offers you the chance to taste excellent drinks and whet your appetite with unusual snacks both in the internal room and in the open-air, enjoying an unforgettable stay on the Grand Canal.The hotel also offers its guests outstanding opportunities to discover all of Venice’s magic, by organizing personalised itineraries and excursions: boat tours to the lagoon islands, guided tours of the city, romantic itineraries followes by a candle lit dinner and much more. For further information on “special” packages, check out our online booking now or send your request to our booking centre.For conferences and meetings we can provide the “Galileo” room, fitted with update equipment and capable of holding up to 60 people.Some of the services offered to our guests include: free entry to the Casino, free baggage surveillance, baby-sitting, restaurant booking, theatre and concert tickets.Restaurant “La Cupola”Elegant reflections, inviting aromas, brilliant colours and exclusive tastes: these are the defining features of our restaurant “La Cupola”, a jewel of refined style in newly renovated surroundings, boasting harmony in its menu selections inspired both by innovative cuisine, as well as the genuine traditions of the territory.The distinct, welcoming atmosphere and the fine cuisine will envelop you and capture you, transforming your “mealtime” into an exceptional experience.You will be greeted with warmth and courtesy, and given expert advice on your menu selections.The typical and international specialties are served with refined simplicity, elegant and genuine at the same time, accompanied by an exclusive wine list. Our Maitre, Filippo Nocerino, will be at your disposition for any special requests.Perfect for any occassion or simply for a romantic evening, our restaurant “La Cupola” will live up to your expectations and your appetites!TOP OF THE CARLTON SKY LUNGE & RESTAURANTLet “Time Out” steer you upwards to the finest sky lounge in Venice for enjoying cocktails in the clouds and Grand Canal view dining .Stylish evenings begin and end at TOP OF THE CARLTON, the rooftop terrace perched on the 4th floor of the Carlton on the Grand Canal Hotel. Impressive views from this spacious terrace take in both the ancient majesty of the Grand Canal and its noble palaces and the modern Constitution bridge, the newest structure that pierces the motley Venice skyline full of domes, bell towers, arches and spires.Choose from a multitude of cocktails, snacks and light-dining while you sit and enjoy a romantic sunset or experience the gentle lapping of the Grand Canal waters as a gondola passes by.When it’s time to unwind and relax, choose Top of the Carlton.TOP OF THE CARLTON can be exclusively reserved for private events and functions, such as wedding receptions, birthday parties, corporate events – in fact the sky is the limit.Open from mid May to end of September, weather permitting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Grand Canal Hotel
Hotel Carlton Grand Canal
Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing