We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manages to be quaint & friendly in the middle of the action”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #50 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
370 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Manages to be quaint & friendly in the middle of the action”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

You would never know that throngs of tourists are emptying out of water buses, gathering on the waterfront and walking by the front of the hotel as you enjoy breakfast or an after dinner drink in the garden bar of the Metropole Hotel. We spent two very enjoyable and comfortable nights here, and couldn't ask for more friendly and attentive service from the front desk, the concierge, and the wait staff. The location is close to the heart of the city, San Marco square, but it's also very easy to access the less trodden areas from this location.

Our room & bathroom was plenty large enough for us, as we didn't spend much time there in such a wonderful city full of gorgeous views, intimate restaurants and fun walks. The hotel helped us plan departure back to the mainland in a water taxi. They picked us up on the canal right off the lobby. Very convenient!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    295
    84
    31
    23
See reviews for
231
651
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We found this hotel thru booking with EasyJet and it was fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble. The location was perfect (only two bridges away from St Mark’s Square) and the views across the water were fantastic. Being so close to the front and St Mark’s Square it probably wasn’t the quietest hotel we’ve ever stayed in but, we weren’t exactly hoping for a quiet country type retreat, but wanted to hear the fun of Venice. Having said that, it wasn’t crazy and we slept very well. The building was fantastic and I can highly recommend this hotel. It was EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is a very highly rated hotel with 2 star Michelin rated restaurant. The decor is garish. I felt as if I had entered a cheesy flea market. The owner apparently has a penchant for collecting assorted knick-knacks which he enjoys sharing with his guests. Our floor was a repository for an unending assortment of crucifixes. Our room (321) was ungodly hot with a poorly performing air conditioner. When I complained, I was informed that there was nothing they could do as it was an "old hotel". When I told them that our friends' room next door was cool the gentleman at the front desk(Peter) said that we should sleep with them! The bathtub would not drain. The hand-held shower did not work. The front desk personnel were at best condescending, at worst, downright rude. Save your money. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Positano75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Visited in early July, 2011, with my family ( six people in all). Booked a jr. suite, with a connecting twin room, and another jr. suite -- 3 rooms total. Was upgraded on one jr. suite to a full suite. All the rooms were great, as I expected from my previous visit. Spotlessly clean, excellent service, great location, superb breakfast facilities. I love this hotel, and it does not , and has not,disappointed me in any way.
The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, although they do not suffer fools lightly!. If you are a dithering idiot, you will be dealt with appropriately ( which I, for one, think is great!!). Learn a little about the city, remember your room number, be polite, and you will be treated fabulously.
This hotel is not economy, but has infinite style, class and character. A wonderful stay this trip, and previously.

I MOST DEFINITLY will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racer356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
316 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

great location - good service - helpful staff - the whole place can double as a museum. would definitly stay there again when in Venice

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slayridez06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Traveled to Venice with my 11 YO daughter. Hotel was fantastic, great location! Our room was quite elegant, very comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was great -- good food, wonderful setting and very relaxing (my preteen slept quite late so I lingered over the paper & coffee for awhile). But by far the most impressive was the staff -- incredibly helpful, charming & fun. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The place appeared to be of 4 star quality but was very disappointing. The bagggage handling is very poor. You park on the other part of town and while the hotel recommended boat taxi service advertises bag service you are on your own. The staff appeared to have Attention Deficiet Disorder. We couldn't get anyones attention during check in. At check out the front desk was multitasking and the experience was poor. We did enjoy the room and the unique building. Too bad the service was so poor.

Room Tip: Make sure your pre arrange baggage handling
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FineStepinghorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#45 of 386 in Venice
1,517 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#43 of 386 in Venice
1,127 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#22 of 386 in Venice
1,457 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#58 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing