We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other place to stay in Venice!”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #52 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Super helpful staff- is there a language they DON'T speak? Beautiful rooms, located close to San Marco. Great breakfast spread. Not cheap, but if you are going to splurg, this is worth it. The best hotel we had in Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

On our recent trip to Italy, this was the last place we were visiting and wasn't sure of the location of the property despite assurance from the agent. However, what we got was an amazingly located property with St. Marks square just 2 bridges and 5-7 min walk away, with a deep sense of history attached to it. Apparently this hotel has the only Michelin starred restaurant in whole of Venice!!
Very easy to locate, very helpful and courteous front desk. We stayed in a mini suite and to say the least, it was superb! The size of the bathrooms was unexpected of in European properties!! The breakfast was good, although very limited for us vegetarians, and the spill over for the restaurant was beautifully landscaped..not to miss to sit and dine there, weather permitting.
All in all a lovely stay...and if I ever return to Venice, this is without a doubt going to be the place where I would want to go back!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I would say the only good thing about this hotel is it's location. The hotel and it's interiors are pretty frumpy and in fact quite smelly. The staff is not friendly at all and also pretentious. Amost every day they asked if we wanted to dine at their Michelin star restaurant and luckily we didn't because the times we enjoyed most while we were in Venice was when we were out of this hotel. Our room was at the back on the first floor and right on top of their kitchen we assume because we were constantly waking up with noises of throwing of trash and empty bottles into the trash cans or conversations and laughters between the kitchen staff at their backyard. The worst of all was, on the day of our check out we were called from the front desk about three times as king when would check out and we were threatened to be charged next nights rate if we didn't leave on time. I really can't stand this much of inflexiblibility after having stayed there two nights and paid quite a remarkable fee. I don't think we ll stay there ever again, I am pretty sure there are better value for our money in Venice.

Room Tip: Don't get a room looking in the back, especially the one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Of all the hotels we stayed during our trip to Italy, we liked the Metropole the best. It was so quiet and I loved the furnishings. Inside it was almost castle-like with the draperies and furniture.
The breakfast buffet was very good too. Lots and lots of choices. Eggs, breads, meats, yogurt, cereals. All fresh and good.
Lots of places to sit in solitude and read, indoors and outdoors (large patio).
Housekeeping was thorough and efficient.
I would love to go back to Venice. If I ever do, I'll certainly stay again at the Metropole.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We travel to venice once or twice a year for 10 years partly because of the Metropole hotel. It has a glorious view and is located very close to the historic center yet not so much crowded. The hotel an impressive collection of antiques. It has also very elegant and charming decorium with unique furniture and antique pieces. The staff is very kind and you feel the elegant luxury at every step in the hotel. You'll love it.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique , but the ones with canal view is perfect although a little more expensive. som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelChicDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Sometimes the minute you walk into a hotel you fall in love. The Metropole is very different and its this uniqueness that makes it special. The owners are into collections from crucifixes to cigarette cases so the hotel has the feel at times of an antique emporium. It has charm and style while being intimate and welcoming. Opt for anything above the classic rooms which while being beautifully furnished are quite compact and pay extra for a view as the hotel is right on the water front facing the lagoon and St Giorgio and a short walk from St Marks Square. The staff could not have been kinder or more helpful during my stay and I regret that I didnt have the opportunity to eat in the 2 star Michelin restaurant. This is a real jem.

Room Tip: Given its amazing location pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel represents outstanding value in one of the most expensive cities in the world, the room the view and the service were all first class. After eating out several times in average restaurants that were expensive we decided to eat at the MET restaurant within the hotel, it was one of the best meals we have ever had and with the wine included was cheap by Michelin star standards. We could not fault the hotel and if we return to Venice we will look no further than the Metropole.

Room Tip: Any lagoon view room will reward you with a magical view each morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,616 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#76 of 387 in Venice
2,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#61 of 387 in Venice
1,683 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#57 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £165 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing