We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, great setting”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #51 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, great setting”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I spent four nights here for the first leg of our honeymoon. The hotel is truly beautiful, and the rooms are large and elegant. My only complaint is the service, which was often indifferent and aloof. The concierge staff was incredible, but the restaurant and bar staff didn't seem interested in serving. My worst experience was the day I stopped at the bar to order two drinks to take up to my room. I was told that this was a five star hotel and they would never allow a guest to walk across the lobby carrying drinks. You have to love a hotel that informs its guests the quality of the hotel in which they are staying. Classy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    305
    87
    34
    23
See reviews for
239
688
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

As someone who has lived in Venice I had always been in awe of the metropole with it's gold sign and magical smell. At Christmas this year we were lucky enough to stay here over Christmas and New Year. It was even better than I had dreamed of.
Check in with Alessandro was fabulous, after our long flight he was so welcoming and swift that we were at our room in no time.
The room was typical of Venice, with a bathroom that was not. In most Venice hotels I have stayed in the bathrooms leave a lot to be desired. This was large, spotless, with beautiful products, and a large tub. I enjoyed the bath salts provided so much at the end of a long day. The pressure was great and meant we could really enjoy our shower.
We stayed on the floor with beautiful framed fans that made it feel like 1920s glamour was alive and well. Which certainly continued when we arrived at breakfast the next morning.
On arrival at the garden you almost feel like it's a forbidden place of beautiful secrets. With it's Bedouin feel and white sumptuous cushions it was like a Christmas wonderland.
People may say that breakfast is expensive but it is worth every penny. On Christmas Eve and Christmas Day they had a live harpist reminiscent of grand country home. We were always pleasantly welcomed by the wonderful staff in the breakfast room and seated immediately. I could have drowned in delicious coffee that was always on offer freshly made in any form.
We had to take a picture of breakfast because you wouldn't remember everything that was served if you tried. Always delicious fresh fruits on offer though.
My only remaining wish is that I can return in the summer to make use of the magical lemon garden outside.
Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our silver wedding. Loved it, loved it, loved it. Very good service. Wonderful drinks in bar. Free taxi to Murano directly from hotel. Air-con very useful when temperature is 33 degrees. Free wi-fi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here as part of a land based tour to France and Italy. We parked up in Piazza Roma and jumped on a water taxt directly to the hotels own jetty - exepensive way to travel, but a lovely way to see Venice, the ride lasted about 15 mins.
Once we arrived at the hotel, the initially impression was a bit imposing, very dark inside, slightly oriental. It is the quirkyness of this hotel, that makes it stand out and memorable. We stayed for 2 nights in one of the junior suites that faces the lagoon it had a lovely little terrace, which we enjoyed spending a small amout of time, we could have lived out there if the weather had been better. Breakfast was fantastic, the best pastries I have ever tasted and the service in the room was top noch.
We loved the hotel soo much, we are returning in the summer just so we can eat breakfast out on the terrace.
Its an expensive hotel, but it is Venice. I would highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bossy_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Although the Metropole Hotel at first does not seem like your typical luxury hotel, it deserves a second look. Located directly on the Grand Canal, a 3 minute walk to San Marco Square the location is unbelievable. When we arrived me and my friend booked two rooms, hers a standard, mine a junior suite. Upon entering my room all I saw was stairs leading up, stairs leading down. The down stairs were for the bedroom/living space area. This space felt tired and worn out and in dire need of updating. The "up" stairs on the other hand led to a small but beautiful balcony with side views of the grand canal. My friends standard room was smaller, but beautifully updated and furnished.
After speaking with the front desk manager of my dissatisfaction, he immediately honored my request to change rooms. I was moved to a beautifully restored room with a small sitting area, two gorgeous bathrooms and windows with views overlooking the grand canal. The furnishings of the hotel are lovely and each floor has a different theme so take some time to stop off at each floor for a peak. Breakfast which was included in our room packages was pretty amazing and had a lot of different items to choose from -located in the back of the hotel in a beautiful and serene garden setting.
All of the front desk personnel and concierge were extremely pleasant and very helpful. Manager was always on hand and always had a kind word. We took the "free" private taxi boat to Murano and did go on the free tour. Although the gentlemen who gave us the tour did take us into the showroom to see if we wanted to purchase any items, we in no way felt pressured to buy anything, and in fact we did not. He thanked us and told us to enjoy the rest of our trip. I will definitely return to this amazing gem of a hotel. Thank you for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room when booking, and rooms at the front of the hotel have spectacular views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEE018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

First of all, we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Metropole; however, to rate this hotel, it is a little bit tricky. The reason is while almost everything about Hotel Metropole is great, this hotel, similar to most hotels in Venice and Europe, is old and in need of renovation. The “bone” of this hotel is old and it shows. This causes Hotel Metropole a top rating. Here is the breakdown:

PROs:
(1) Services were great, every personnel we encountered was friendly and happy to serve. Every one of our requests, including room location, was fulfilled promptly. Staffs at the breakfast room were absolutely wonderful; they always served with a smile. And the breakfast was the highlight of our stay at this hotel.

(2) Hotel Metropole’s breakfast room was beautiful. It’s located at the back of the hotel, adjacent to a garden. Guests can sit inside or outside. Selections of the breakfast buffet were good, with many hot (eggs, bacon, etc.) and cold (cold cut, salad, etc.) items to choose from. We noticed guests at this hotel were better mannered than average population. No one talked loudly or rushed around at breakfast. That really made breakfast that much more enjoyable as we could talk and enjoy our coffee relaxingly. Over the other side of the garden, there appeared to be a kindergarten or daycare or some sort. We could hear kids playing and laughing during breakfast when we sat outside. That did not bother us as their laughter kind of lightened up our mood, but we could imagine rooms facing the back courtyard would hear this noise in the morning, so if you are a light sleeper, you may want to stay away from the courtyard facing rooms, especially during the warmer months (the hotel’s A/C will not be turned on until management decides to do so, so very likely you will have your windows open).

(3) Location of this hotel is one of the best in Venice, it is close to St. Mark’s Square and vaporetti (ferries) stops. Vaporetto No. 14, which provides direct, non-stop service to Lido, stops right in front of the hotel. If you are planning to take the Alilaguna (water bus) from airport to the hotel, the Alilaguna Blu line has a stop at S. Zaccaria, which is about a hundred meter from the hotel. You do, however, have to walk over 1 bridge to reach the hotel though.

CONs:
(1) The hotel is old, even though they try their best to maintain it, the interior of the hotel and rooms show their age. The bed and furniture in our room were not too comfortable, due to both their age and quality. Also, because of the age of this hotel (and lack of modernization, we suppose), many “nice” amenities of modern hotels are missing here.

(2) As stated above, Hotel Metropole claims its rooms have air-conditioning (A/C); however, the main A/C power is only turned on when management decides to do so (who knows when). During our stay in April, our room was too hot to sleep at night (we read others complained that the same thing happened in October and November) so we had to leave our window opened. The problem is Venice has mosquitoes so needless to say, our sleep was not good. If Hotel Metropole was a 3-star hotel, we might have accepted this, but given that Hotel Metropole claims itself as a 5-star hotel and we paid for a 5-star hotel stay, we certainly are not pleased.

Conclusion: Hotel Metropole is not a 5-star hotel under US standard.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back courtyard can be noisy in the morning as there is a daycare/kindergarten nearb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DCTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This review is from a trip taken back in 2005; Hotel was lovely, centrally located, had a special dock for a boat to drop you on/off; outside patio bar had a trendy feel as did the rest of hotel, rooms were very large and nice, concierge/front desk had great recommendations for restaurants, one I cannot find online, was just amazing called hostaria da franz on Castillo, fond. S. Giuseppe 754 ( zona giardini biennale); we love Italy and made many trips and would consider staying here when we return to Venice; Another time we stayed at Westin Europa Regina, a little more grand, but non the less both would be excellent choices!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,601 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,545 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#46 of 385 in Venice
1,169 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#58 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing