We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropole Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$394
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$440
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,342)
Filter reviews
1,342 results
Traveller rating
870
322
90
35
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
870
322
90
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmet restaurantwater taxigrand canalbeautiful hotellagoon viewriva degli schiavonimark's squarejunior suiteshort walk to stold worldturn down servicemarble bathroomthe location is perfectbreakfast was excellentbreakfast staffmini bardoge's palace
Filter
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 1,342 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just returned from a trip to Italy and spent 2 nights in Venice. We’re so glad we chose The Metropole. Prior to our trip, I corresponded with the hotel on several occasions via email. They were always prompt and professional in responding and answered all my questions. We’re a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) and reserved a junior suite connected to a deluxe room. Both rooms, especially the junior suite, were very spacious. The junior suite was quite grand with opulent furnishings. Both rooms were clean, and modern so to speak- the furnishings obviously had an old world feel. The hotel is directly on the grand canal, so it’s a great location. It has a view of the canal and the lagoon. We arrived at the train station and took a water taxi to the hotel (60 Euros). The hotel has its own dock so the water taxi dropped us right at the hotel and the staff immediately whisked our luggage away. You definitely feel the opulence of this hotel as soon as you enter. It is definitely unique with great charm and character. The staff at the reception were always helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. The hotel is ideally located, close to St. Mark’s Square and an easy walk to the Rialto Bridge. There are many restaurant choices in the vicinity. The water taxi to the airport was 100 euros (booked through a travel agency). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIDI0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

stayed 4 nights in this most beautiful hotel. Everything about it is elegant and luxurious.
Bathroom, had the whitest and fluffiest towels replaced every day if required. The toiletries were lovely and plentiful.
The staff were very helpful especially the lady on reception who was most informative. The location of the Metropole was perfect with fantastic views of the lagoon.
I was very sad to leave and would definitely return to this hotel which has charm,character and most
Of all a heart.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happygolucky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at the Metropole for two nights from 20th-22nd June with my Husband . We were in room 319, a beautiful suite with small but well equipped bathroom and dressing room, plus large Bedroom./sitting area. The windows overlooked the lagoon to the front of the property and the canal and promenade to the side. The decor is luxurious if a little dated, although I think that it is purposely kept in an old fashioned style to be in keeping with the age of the building and the charm of this ancient city. The room boasted silk lined walls and a beautiful grand crystal chandelier and the only modern touch, a flat screen tv, was cleverly integrated into the decor in an unobtrusive way between two of the heavily draped front windows. The floor we were on boasts the largest collection of crucifixes in Europe. Each floor has it's own collection of different artefacts. The lobby area is very grand, and has a Bedouin feel to it , and there is a sumptuous lounge and a chic bar / restaurant on either side of the land entrance. We arrived by private water taxi which pulled up at the hotel's private Getty which has a couple of comfortable seating areas and leads into the beautiful marble and gilt decorated lobby. The hotel is crammed with interesting antiques and pieces of art, and has an air of bygone grandeur . The garden to the rear of the hotel is beautiful, you can have breakfast here for E12 each (croissants and cold cuts) or a more extensive breakfast with cooked options for E30 per person. The garden is also a lovely place to enjoy cocktails or night caps after a busy day exploring Venice. The hotel boasts a Michelin Star rated restaurant which appeared to be competitively priced although we had already made prior arrangements for meals on our short visit. The staff are fantastic, very helpful, warm and accommodating always eager to give tips on places to go, and always smiling and good humoured. The room also had a safe but be warned the safe is quite small and shallow so not able to take iPads or notebooks etc. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this landmark hotel, it's location was perfect..a stones throw from St Marks Square and the vaperetto stations ..I seriously hope I will be able to return soon.

Room Tip: The junior suites with lagoon view are the best to go for
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

we spent few night in this charming Hotel, the location was just perfect, the rooms are beautiful with the antiques touch, breakfast was nice and great food variety, the staff very friendly and helpful
we look forwards in staying at the Metropole again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markus r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This experience was even better than expected. Beautiful, antique decor yet nowhere close to dowdy, stuffy or frumpy. Linens were luxurious, cool and crisp. Bathrooms appointed with all modern conveniences. The breakfast buffet the best during my 2 week trip to France/italy. Great location, especially for first time visitors.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews