We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Venice”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #51 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation in Venice”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

AMAZING!!! Best hotel and staff I've ever met in ANY hotel ANYWHERE! They are all polite, friendly, and willing to help with any of your needs. Best part is the drinks in the bar are made with fresh fruit and the breakfast is of super high quality with eating on an outside terrace. Also, free taxi rides to and from Murano via a private taxi launch deck on the side of the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    305
    87
    34
    23
See reviews for
239
686
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Perfect location, in the heart of it all! Room was spotless, looked recently updated. Bed and bedding was crisp, clean, and welcoming after a long day of sightseeing.
Service was friendly and accommodating.
Breakfast is not included in this pricey hotel stay, that would be an additional 30 euros per day for a breakfast buffet, or 12 euros per day for the Italian breakfast of coffee/tea, juice and 2 small pastries. It was convenient to have the Italian breakfast so we could start our day. Friends ordered a cappuccino with breakfast on our first morning and were given a refill. The following day we were gently scolded and told no refills on cappuccino, only coffee, seemed silly for the price paid. But all in all a nice stop to end our trip!

Room Tip: Room 121 is beautiful and overlooks the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BankerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just returned from a trip to Italy and spent 2 nights in Venice. We’re so glad we chose The Metropole. Prior to our trip, I corresponded with the hotel on several occasions via email. They were always prompt and professional in responding and answered all my questions. We’re a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) and reserved a junior suite connected to a deluxe room. Both rooms, especially the junior suite, were very spacious. The junior suite was quite grand with opulent furnishings. Both rooms were clean, and modern so to speak- the furnishings obviously had an old world feel. The hotel is directly on the grand canal, so it’s a great location. It has a view of the canal and the lagoon. We arrived at the train station and took a water taxi to the hotel (60 Euros). The hotel has its own dock so the water taxi dropped us right at the hotel and the staff immediately whisked our luggage away. You definitely feel the opulence of this hotel as soon as you enter. It is definitely unique with great charm and character. The staff at the reception were always helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful. The hotel is ideally located, close to St. Mark’s Square and an easy walk to the Rialto Bridge. There are many restaurant choices in the vicinity. The water taxi to the airport was 100 euros (booked through a travel agency). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIDI0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

stayed 4 nights in this most beautiful hotel. Everything about it is elegant and luxurious.
Bathroom, had the whitest and fluffiest towels replaced every day if required. The toiletries were lovely and plentiful.
The staff were very helpful especially the lady on reception who was most informative. The location of the Metropole was perfect with fantastic views of the lagoon.
I was very sad to leave and would definitely return to this hotel which has charm,character and most
Of all a heart.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happygolucky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at the Metropole for two nights from 20th-22nd June with my Husband . We were in room 319, a beautiful suite with small but well equipped bathroom and dressing room, plus large Bedroom./sitting area. The windows overlooked the lagoon to the front of the property and the canal and promenade to the side. The decor is luxurious if a little dated, although I think that it is purposely kept in an old fashioned style to be in keeping with the age of the building and the charm of this ancient city. The room boasted silk lined walls and a beautiful grand crystal chandelier and the only modern touch, a flat screen tv, was cleverly integrated into the decor in an unobtrusive way between two of the heavily draped front windows. The floor we were on boasts the largest collection of crucifixes in Europe. Each floor has it's own collection of different artefacts. The lobby area is very grand, and has a Bedouin feel to it , and there is a sumptuous lounge and a chic bar / restaurant on either side of the land entrance. We arrived by private water taxi which pulled up at the hotel's private Getty which has a couple of comfortable seating areas and leads into the beautiful marble and gilt decorated lobby. The hotel is crammed with interesting antiques and pieces of art, and has an air of bygone grandeur . The garden to the rear of the hotel is beautiful, you can have breakfast here for E12 each (croissants and cold cuts) or a more extensive breakfast with cooked options for E30 per person. The garden is also a lovely place to enjoy cocktails or night caps after a busy day exploring Venice. The hotel boasts a Michelin Star rated restaurant which appeared to be competitively priced although we had already made prior arrangements for meals on our short visit. The staff are fantastic, very helpful, warm and accommodating always eager to give tips on places to go, and always smiling and good humoured. The room also had a safe but be warned the safe is quite small and shallow so not able to take iPads or notebooks etc. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this landmark hotel, it's location was perfect..a stones throw from St Marks Square and the vaperetto stations ..I seriously hope I will be able to return soon.

Room Tip: The junior suites with lagoon view are the best to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

we spent few night in this charming Hotel, the location was just perfect, the rooms are beautiful with the antiques touch, breakfast was nice and great food variety, the staff very friendly and helpful
we look forwards in staying at the Metropole again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markus r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This experience was even better than expected. Beautiful, antique decor yet nowhere close to dowdy, stuffy or frumpy. Linens were luxurious, cool and crisp. Bathrooms appointed with all modern conveniences. The breakfast buffet the best during my 2 week trip to France/italy. Great location, especially for first time visitors.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Raerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,600 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,543 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#46 of 385 in Venice
1,169 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#58 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing