We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel, great loacation, attentive staff”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Ranked #53 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel, great loacation, attentive staff”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel is 3 bridges from St. Mark's Square. There is a lot of hustle and bustle outside, but the hotel is decorated in "old school" decor. The staff is very helpful, and most everyone speaks English. The rooms were very nice although the fridge in our mini bar didnt work, eveen after asking to have it checked. Thew buffet breakfast was outstanding with lots of fresh baked good, fruits, meats and cheeses. The chocolate muffins were to die for. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: try and get one of the upper floors toward the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    300
    86
    34
    24
See reviews for
236
670
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

stayed here for 2 nights in August. Arrived by private water taxi. The hotel has its own little jetty. Met by concierge, who took our bags. Checked in very easily, all facilities explained. The staff/service are great here. Nothing is too much trouble, very eager to please.
The location is perfect, not in the middle of town, but on the shore line and close enough to get around very easily. the decor is lovely, the breakfast room is in a little courtyard out the back. The room we had was just the right size and very comfortable. I will definitely stay there again when visiting Venice in future.

Room Tip: room 105, view of the canal to the side of the the hotel, over the private jetty. A tad noisy when b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A+++ service in a perfect location. What a find! We stayed here for 2 days and loved every minute of our stay. Great linens and comfortable beds. Nice sized room with great bathroom amenities. Perfect service. An impressive breakfast buffet with anything you might want for breakfast and plenty of healthy options (dine in the outdoor garden!). There is a private launch and you can sit right on the canal and the bartender will bring you wine. The hotel has a funky Italy meets Morocco kind of vibe. And, free WIFI that ALWAYS worked (pet peeve when hotels charge for wifi). Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayak41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay at the Metropole, arriving late at night by water taxi to the private launch. Our room was elegantly furnished and of a reasonable size, with a side canal view and very effective air-conditioning. The location of the hotel is excellent - so near to St Mark's Square, yet also close to more secluded and quiet areas which we enjoyed exploring. The staff throughout our stay were friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast was most pleasant, with a range of food on offer. We dined in the restaurant during our stay and enjoyed the experience. Whilst the food and service were very good, the lack of other diners made the atmosphere a little odd. This was also true of the hotel's cocktail bar. A slight adjustment to the hotel's bar tariffs would probably address this! Like other guests, we were also intrigued by the numerous artefacts and ornate furnishings in the hotel's corridors. I would definitely return to this hotel for any future visits to Venice.

Room Tip: We had a room with a side canal room, which I imagine is quieter than a view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJB12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 730 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we were not staying here this summer , but over the bay in lido da jesolo, but we came over anyway for the day and night, after a wonderful day shoping and eating , we went into the metropole for the last two hours why we were waiting for our boat back lido, great big warm welcome from the guys on reception, who rememberd us from previous stays at this wonderful establishment,then onto the orinental bar for drinks, where shock and horror , the head bar man and master martini maker , had left.after introductions to the new head man stefano, and on with the task in hand , MARTINI, glad to report everything is fine and the met is in great hands, we spent the next two hours drinking some of the finest martini i have ever tasted, we just let stefano get on with it, stefano well done and welcome to the met.we will back hopfully for the carnival in 2015, and once again to the metropole thank you for a wonderful eveninhg

Room Tip: just go and stay, all rooms are great from the cheepest to the top price, this is one hotel you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at Metropole Hotel for 3 nights. We are experienced travellers who have travelled all over the world, but we can really recommend this hotel for excellent service and location. We had booked 2 double rooms, and were lucky and got room overlooking the side canal of the hotel. The hotel is in an old building, and the interior is classic old and dark, but give a great atmosphere to the hotel. The location is perfect for everything Venice has to offer. Rooms were in same old style with comfortable beds, however the bathrooms were modern and clean. Breakfast buffet was not extravagant but had everything you need for a good breakfast, and the outdoor seating was fantastic.

We had booked private taxi boat through the hotel and thqat was perfect. The reception gave us many good tips for things to do and was really service minded. The housekeeping was excellent. We read some of the critics of the hotel on TP and people who don't like this hotel should stay home. I we come back to Venice in the future we will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Spent two amazing nights in this hotel, it truly lived up to its five stars, we had a wonderful welcome, even took us into the room and explained the lay out. They were always on hand to help, I would like to commend then in their wonderful English!
The hotel was plush and elegant and filed with beautiful ventitian artifacts, the hotel has its own private launch for the water taxi. Was in an excellent position, overlooking the grand canal and lagoon, so handy for St Marks square, the Bridge of sighs was a two minute walk away. The breakfasts catered for every taste, with such friendly and accommodating staff. Cannot wait to visit again, wonderful!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandymaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
1,147 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#19 of 385 in Venice
1,508 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#54 of 385 in Venice
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Property: Metropole Hotel
Address: Riva Degli Schiavoni 4149, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#54 Family Hotel in Venice
#58 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Metropole Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing