We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Olimpia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
Ranked #33 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very nice hotel right on a canal with tables out front and a garden area in the rear. Air conditioning is questionable. Ours worked only on fan as was true of two other rooms we had knowledge of. Perhaps because we were all Americans and Canadians we just did not know how to operate the AC.(?)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 2,255 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were in Venice for a river cruise and stayed in the hotel for only one night prior to boarding our ship. We arrived in Piazzale Roma at about 8:30 p.m. and could see the hotel from where the driver brought us. (On a side note - if you need a land taxi to bring you to the Piazzale, I highly recommend Andrea, who can be reached at ekiprent@tiscali.it. He was just fantastic and went out of his way to help us. Prior to our trip, I had asked him if he would help us get set up with the Trasbagagli porters at Piazzale Roma since my mom has some mobility problems and I was worried it would be too difficult to cross the bridge with luggage and find the hotel after dark. When we arrived at the Piazzale, the porters unfortunately were not there. But Andrea told us not to worry, parked his van and took my mom's suitcase and my aunt's suitcase not just across the bridge, but all the way into the hotel for us.)

The hotel is in a very convenient location if you are staying prior to or after a cruise. There is only one bridge to cross from the Piazzale (I think about 15-20 small steps up and down). We were greeted at the front desk by Robert - this man is a gem! He made us laugh, feel very welcome and helped arrange transport to the San Basilio dock for the next day. We spent about 20 minutes checking in, but only because we wanted to keep talking to Robert!

We were in two rooms with canal views - 405 and 406. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. My mom and I shared room 405, and it was a bit tight - a lot of bumping into each other getting ready in the morning. It was also VERY hot in the room (we stayed there on November 9). The air conditioning had been shut off for the season, so we had to open windows. However, since it was a Saturday night and the location is close to the university, there was quite a bit of noise from students having fun until about 3:00 in the morning - so we got very little sleep. Also, the shower was quite tiny - don't drop the soap!

Breakfast was very good. We arrived toward the end and so the quantity and selection of food was a bit low. But everything we had was good. The garden area was lovely. The hotel stored our luggage after check-out the next morning and Gloria at the front desk kindly called our ship (as Uniworld recommended we do) to verify the docking location.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in Venice for a cruise - but, from my perspective, it would be too far away from city center to stay there otherwise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dep0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were absolutely delighted with this hotel. The rooms we had were lovely, traditional Venetian decor which I wouldn't normally like, but it was lovely. The beds were huge, the bathrooms were,modern with a traditional twist . The rooms overlooked the garden which was lovely and quiet. The breakfast was lovely buffet style and the breakfast room was lovely, looking out to the garden and canal at the front too.
Robert the receptionist was a character who was able to speak fluent italian as well as being welsh (Wales) and trying to confuse us scottish folk with his differing accents, very funny Robert!
Would return if ever in venice as very handy for taxi drop off and only 1 bridge to cross with suitcases is enough.

Room Tip: Near to cruise terminal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

hotel is in an exelent position for getting to and from cruise ships,.only a short walk from the people mover,and the bus to the airport from piazzle roma,which takes 20 mins and costs 6 euros.the hotel is located on one of the smaller canals,where you can sit at the tables outside with a coffee wacing the boats go by. it may not be a big hotel,but decorated in grand fashion the breakfast they serve is as good as any 3 star hotel in Europe.the staff are friendly and helpful,now . now the downside.i booked 6 months in advance and was given a very small room in the attic the size of a broom cupboard with a small window that looked out over next doors roof,the room was dark and very warm,air con did not work.,there was no room to put suitcases we had to pile them in the bathroom.i think when I return to venice I would choose a different hotel purly on the basis of room size. BEWARE when using waterbuses there are thievs riding them,i nad my wallet lifted,and a couple we met lost the contents of her bag the buses get packed

Room Tip: choose a hotel near piazzle roma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eric186259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOlimpia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Sirs,
We are very sorry to receive your negate feedback and honestly surprised.
The room you have had is normally very appreciated for the spectacular typical venetian view: top floor, roofs, garden and canal view. Standard size ( we are in Venice, it is not a detail ), main building.
I was told, you were unhappy with the room, but the day after the check in, you did not give us the chance to invite you to consider a different option. No way to talk to you since you never stop at the front desk.
It would be easier to solve this issue on the spot. Reception desk was at your disposal any time.
Concerning the air conditioning, we subscribed an agreement with a No Profit Association, environmental protection project, to save power with the goal of protecting planet from pollution. This is the reason why, during the winter season the air conditioning is turned off.
It is our deep regret not having satisfied your expectations and we kindly ask you to accept our apologies.
Kindest regards,
The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel. What can be said that hasn't already been written? We had a room in the annexe overlooking a residential street. It was very quiet. The room was decorated in Venetian style and was a good size and very clean. We were very pleased with the room. There was a very good buffet breakfast and the staff ran around making sure that the buffet was kept fully stocked. The location was brilliant. We bought a 72 hour ticket for the vaparettos, and being so near to Pizzale Roma these tickets were put to good use. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhatAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I and our traveling companions booked 2 rooms at the hotel. As we arrived in Venice by cruise ship, we checked in mid-morning, knowing our two room would not be available until later in the afternoon. When we returned in late afternoon, we discovered that our rooms had been given to other guests. Thankfully the hotel was able to accommodate us in different rooms (they said better rooms), but close to an hour was spent unraveling it all. A disappointing start to our stay. Another disappointment was that the air conditioning had been turned off for the season. We did not leave the windows open overnight as there were no screens. That made the room stuffy.

The location was great….close to the cruise terminal and the main bus station for transport to the airport. We did not eat the included breakfast, as we had to leave very early to catch a flight. I would probably stay there again because of location and hope for better treatment in the check-in process.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOlimpia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Sirs,
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience occurred at your arrival, due to the fact, that it was an overly busy morning.
It has been our fault, no doubt, about the time you spent to get the right rooms, but rooms were the one you expected to have. Superior rooms, main building, served by elevator.
Concerning the air conditioning, we subscribed an agreement with a No Profit Association, environmental protection project, to save power with the goal of protecting planet from pollution. That’s is the reason why, during the winter season the air conditioning is turned off.
Rooms 109 and 203 are normally not considered stuffy, but usually highly appreciated from our guests. They have 2 windows in the bed room and 1 in the bathroom ( fairly rare to find in any hotel all over the world ).
Heartily sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations, please accept our apologies.
Best regards,
The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We arrived at the hotel after leaving our cruise ship. The lobby was a bit crowded...people checking in; people checking out but Gloria was very friendly & efficient. We were in room 306; overlooked the canal. It was very spacious & clean. Our cruise ship cabin had fabulous bedding and the hotel bedding did not have the same level of comfort but was okay. When we arrived it was sunny so we found the courtyard in the back which was a bit of paradise...lovely green grass, pretty flowers...just idealic. We were there for one night and had very early flight. Again, Gloria booked our taxi & arranged with 2 other guests leaving at same time to share taxi; saved money! The other staff members were also very friendly and helpful.

Forgot about the location! Great for us! Near people mover & vapretto stops.

Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Book on hotel's website. Also, we kept window open as was gorgeous weather...noise from outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLSLovestoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,109 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,867 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,911 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#32 of 385 in Venice
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice

Address: Santa Croce 395 | Piazzale Roma, 30135 Venice, Italy (Formerly Best Western Hotel Olimpia)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Venice
#28 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Business Hotel in Venice
#40 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £80 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OLIMPIA HOTEL The hotel is located in the most convenient area of the historical centre of Venice.Facing a typical canal, close to the Basilica dei Frari, the School of San Rocco, a few minutes walking from the Grand Canal and the famous Rialto Bridge.The location of the Best Western Hotel Olimpia allows you to easily reach the Bus Terminal of Piazzale Roma ( 100 meters ), from where you can get public or private transportations to the Airport ( shuttle bus or taxi ), Cruise Terminal ( the monorail fast train People Mover ), train station ( 10 minutes walking or just 1 stop by waterbus )The Hotel has been recently and totally renewed, making our services more inviting: Reading Room, Bar, free WI-FI, internet point and a charming garden. A real bonus for the venetian standard. The breakfast room windows face a small romantic typical venetian canal.The bedrooms are decorated in a typical venetian style, dating back to the early 18th century, equipped with private bath/shower room, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, satellite tv and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olimpia
Best Western Venice
Venice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing